Author Topic: Idea for nleash on new boot2  (Read 3941 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Netham45

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2103
  • Rating: +213/-4
  • *explodes*
    • View Profile
Idea for nleash on new boot2
« on: April 26, 2011, 03:47:43 am »
*disclaimer, it's 2 AM on a tuesday.*


Basically, the nleash exploit for 2.x was a zip that extracted beyond the size of the calcs available ram, causing corruption that slid into some code that did stuff(What it did, I don't know.)

The .tno/.tnc's are zips(along with a large portion of the nspire.img inside.)

Would it be possible to basically make a custom OS upgrade and put ndless inside, or does the zip routine in the new boot2 actually check for an overflow?

Edit: changed all instances of 'ndless' in this post to 'nleash'
« Last Edit: April 26, 2011, 03:51:50 am by Netham45 »
Omnimaga Admin

Offline Silver Shadow

  • Beta Tester
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +27/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Idea for nleash on new boot2
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2011, 04:54:34 am »
The OS still needs to be signed...
Former Coder of Tomorrow


Offline Netham45

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2103
  • Rating: +213/-4
  • *explodes*
    • View Profile
Re: Idea for nleash on new boot2
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2011, 06:18:16 am »
The OS still needs to be signed...

Do all aspects of it, though?
Omnimaga Admin

Offline Silver Shadow

  • Beta Tester
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +27/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Idea for nleash on new boot2
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2011, 08:31:04 am »
The phoenix part, yes, I believe. Unless you use OSlauncher of course... In that case, we might even be able to Ndlessate the OS 3.0 by running it on a previous OS...

EDIT: it might be possible to put Ndless in the examples folder, so as to have a tnc/tno with the Ndless file already inside, ready to be installed.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2011, 08:33:13 am by Silver Shadow »
Former Coder of Tomorrow


Offline Netham45

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2103
  • Rating: +213/-4
  • *explodes*
    • View Profile
Re: Idea for nleash on new boot2
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2011, 07:58:22 am »
I tried putting it inside the samples zip, but all I could get was a 'corrupted OS' message. Same if I just put it inside the tno
Omnimaga Admin

Offline Silver Shadow

  • Beta Tester
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +27/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Idea for nleash on new boot2
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2011, 08:12:22 am »
It's not that simple, there is some zip editing to do (like what TNOC does when it removes the example files). You should ask Levak/whoever-made-TNOC for more info.
Former Coder of Tomorrow


Offline Netham45

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2103
  • Rating: +213/-4
  • *explodes*
    • View Profile
Re: Idea for nleash on new boot2
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2011, 08:26:01 am »
I was replacing the header, yea. When it gets to the end, though, it rejects it.
Omnimaga Admin