Author Topic: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -  (Read 75942 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wRieDen

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Rating: +14/-1
    • View Profile
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #30 on: March 01, 2011, 10:03:37 am »
yes, i updated it  ;)

Offline shrear

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 193
  • Rating: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #31 on: March 01, 2011, 04:44:06 pm »
uhm there seems to be a bug in the current version
after I exit ntris my calc responds extremely slow to keys etc. (he behaves quasi like underclockt)
if you take the time to renter ntris or any other ndless program this effect seems to be gone, until you go back to normal "OS-mode"
other than reset I fund no way to fix it.

If you need some more information just say what exactly you need to know please.
btw. I'm using a Touchpad CAS with OS 2.1

Offline ExtendeD

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 825
  • Rating: +167/-2
    • View Profile
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #32 on: March 02, 2011, 02:59:02 pm »
wRieDen, 0x900D0000 (timer) doesn't seem to be restored on exit. The OS value needs unfortunately to be hard coded (32).

Couldn't Ndless's sleep(ms) function have been used in your case by the way, to make things easier?
Ndless.me with the finest TI-Nspire programs

Offline wRieDen

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Rating: +14/-1
    • View Profile
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #33 on: March 02, 2011, 03:48:35 pm »
Whoops, yes i tested the current version just on the emulator  :-[ , now the timer is retored properly.
The sleep funktion would block the whole controls, at the moment the timer is used for the falling blocks.

Offline Lemmy

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 4
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • http://lemmy.tk/
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #34 on: March 03, 2011, 04:27:58 pm »
I'd like it if you added a hold feature.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55931
  • Rating: +3153/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #35 on: March 03, 2011, 11:12:24 pm »
Hi and welcome to the forums. Also what is a hold feature? Is it just making everything stop moving until you release a certain key so you think about where to put the block? That might be an interesting feature, although it would be nice to have an hard mode where it can't be used too.

Offline Lemmy

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 4
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • http://lemmy.tk/
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #36 on: March 04, 2011, 06:40:44 am »
Hi and welcome to the forums. Also what is a hold feature? Is it just making everything stop moving until you release a certain key so you think about where to put the block? That might be an interesting feature, although it would be nice to have an hard mode where it can't be used too.
It's actually when you can press a button to put the current falling block in a "hold chamber" where you can then substitute it out later to get combos more easily. Almost all tetris games have this so I'm surprised you've never heard of it.


See that box with the N piece? That's where the hold block goes.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 06:45:26 am by Lemmy »

Offline Stefan Bauwens

  • Creator of Myst 89 - סטיבן
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1799
  • Rating: +162/-24
  • 68k programmer
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #37 on: March 04, 2011, 07:27:29 am »
Hi and welcome to the forums. Also what is a hold feature? Is it just making everything stop moving until you release a certain key so you think about where to put the block? That might be an interesting feature, although it would be nice to have an hard mode where it can't be used too.
It's actually when you can press a button to put the current falling block in a "hold chamber" where you can then substitute it out later to get combos more easily. Almost all tetris games have this so I'm surprised you've never heard of it.


See that box with the N piece? That's where the hold block goes.
Hmm, I never heard of that 'hold chamber'. I think that box with the 'N' peace is the box that shows witch block's going to be next.


Very proud Ticalc.org POTY winner (2011 68k) with Myst 89!
Very proud TI-Planet.org DBZ winner(2013)

Interview with me

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #38 on: March 04, 2011, 08:44:02 am »
@Lemmy: I've never heard of a "hold" feature either, but to be fair, I've only played the gameboy versions(original and gamboy color) of Tetris. As Stefan pointed out in the above screenshot, that box in the lower right hand corner show the next piece that is going to fall. Oh, and welcome to the forums! ;)
« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 08:59:43 am by Art_of_camelot »

Offline wRieDen

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Rating: +14/-1
    • View Profile
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #39 on: March 04, 2011, 10:01:16 am »
I guess he means that feature: http://www.tetrisfriends.com/help/tips_intermediate.php
Well, i have to say that I didn't know about this hold queue before, but it seems to be quite useful.
Maybe i'll add it in further versions.

@DJ_O: I've already included this, but it's more a bug than a feature  8)
Just try to hold one of controls.

Offline Stefan Bauwens

  • Creator of Myst 89 - סטיבן
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1799
  • Rating: +162/-24
  • 68k programmer
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #40 on: March 04, 2011, 10:04:59 am »
Oh I see, but than its wrong to say: 'Almost all tetris games have this.'


Very proud Ticalc.org POTY winner (2011 68k) with Myst 89!
Very proud TI-Planet.org DBZ winner(2013)

Interview with me

Offline Lemmy

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 4
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • http://lemmy.tk/
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #41 on: March 04, 2011, 02:14:36 pm »
Oh I see, but than its wrong to say: 'Almost all tetris games have this.'

There hasn't been a single version of tetris that I've played that didn't have hold. Even the ti-84 versions (at least the ones I tried) have hold

Offline compu

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 275
  • Rating: +63/-3
    • View Profile
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #42 on: March 04, 2011, 02:32:31 pm »
Oh I see, but than its wrong to say: 'Almost all tetris games have this.'

There hasn't been a single version of tetris that I've played that didn't have hold. Even the ti-84 versions (at least the ones I tried) have hold
Then it looks like you haven't played the original gameboy one :P

Offline Lemmy

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 4
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • http://lemmy.tk/
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #43 on: March 04, 2011, 02:42:08 pm »
Then it looks like you haven't played the original gameboy one :P
I admit to this

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55931
  • Rating: +3153/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: nTris - Tetris for nSpire -
« Reply #44 on: March 04, 2011, 04:22:05 pm »
Hi and welcome to the forums. Also what is a hold feature? Is it just making everything stop moving until you release a certain key so you think about where to put the block? That might be an interesting feature, although it would be nice to have an hard mode where it can't be used too.
It's actually when you can press a button to put the current falling block in a "hold chamber" where you can then substitute it out later to get combos more easily. Almost all tetris games have this so I'm surprised you've never heard of it.


See that box with the N piece? That's where the hold block goes.
Well I didn't play the 84+ version very much and that was in 2001. The last time I played Tetris before was on a 40 MHz computer at school and it was a limited version with many removed features (eg: blocks felt instantly when hitting the down arrow and there was no way to make them go down one spot like in other Tetris games.). Besides that I only played the NES version around 1992.

Note, I'M not a big puzzle game fan, so I never got into Tetris as much as some other people.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 04:25:02 pm by DJ_O »