Omnimaga

Calculator Community => Other Calc-Related Projects and Ideas => TI-Nspire => Topic started by: pianoman on July 08, 2011, 01:35:13 pm

Title: Pacman Nspire
Post by: pianoman on July 08, 2011, 01:35:13 pm
Hi, everyone!
I figured it was time that this game came to the nspire in Lua, so I decided to start it.
I'm still working on the movement of Pacman and the ghosts, but I thought it through, and it seems like it would be possible.
If anyone would like to attach any maps (not too big), I might use them in the game.
That would be very helpful.
I'll keep you all posted (pun intended) on progress.
Thanks!
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Stefan Bauwens on July 08, 2011, 01:53:04 pm
Good Luck!
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on July 08, 2011, 02:33:19 pm
Good luck pianoman!

I know its kinda hard to make this game in Lua, because you will need to do lots of calculations and screen refreshes, so I hope that it will work out!
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: pianoman on July 08, 2011, 02:34:28 pm
Thanks! It will be a lot of screen refreshes, but I suppose that's one advantage of event-based languages :)
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: TIfanx1999 on July 09, 2011, 08:23:47 am
Sounds cool, and like it might work decently for Lua. Question: are you going to have stages full screen or are you going to allow them to be larger than the screen and scroll (this would be relevant for people making stages for you :))? Personally, I think it might be easier if you just do them full screen and avoid scrolling.
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: pianoman on July 09, 2011, 12:33:27 pm
Yeah, I was planning on full screen.
I might open up a thread on that later. :P
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Adriweb on July 09, 2011, 12:36:20 pm
About the screen refresh, don't forget the optional parameters of platform.window:invalidate()

( platform.window:invalidate([x, y, width, height]) )

That refreshed only the part of the screen you want ;)



PS : avoiding scrolling is always easier and faster to do :P
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: pianoman on July 09, 2011, 12:41:56 pm
Yeah, I'll be using oclua to test out some stuff like that before i hit the computer with it :P
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: apcalc on July 09, 2011, 01:25:44 pm
This sounds quite interesting, I wish you the best of luck with development on this project! :)
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Levak on July 09, 2011, 02:06:11 pm
About the screen refresh, don't forget the optional parameters of platform.window:invalidate()

( platform.window:invalidate([x, y, width, height]) )

That refreshed only the part of the screen you want ;)


This hasn't been tested as a bench, but I don't think that it's as faster as without argument.
There is two way of mind :

 - The on.paint(gc) is the user part of drawing the screen. Thus, the concerned shapes are drawn with a condition in all the gc:draw/fill routines. That will slow the entire process with a, most of the time, useless condition.

 - The on.paint(gc) fills the entire buffer without condition. When there is a specified condition, we apply a fusion mask to overlay the new buffer with the old screen. This is even faster when there is no condition, slower when there is one.

Thus, two ways of mind that have their avantages. I think a full bench will reveal which method is used, but I'm pretty sure it is the second one, so it is slower to draw a specified part of the screen.
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Adriweb on July 09, 2011, 02:22:39 pm
Well we'd have to test that :)

But then why would TI do such a thing ... ><
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on July 09, 2011, 03:38:35 pm
Well, I'm developing a game (not saying the name :p) and the extra parameters are really important for me. Now I don't need to redraw all the images on the screen using gc:drawImage (which is slow), and I notice a big speedup. The game will be unplayable without it.
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Levak on July 09, 2011, 04:35:08 pm
Well, I'm developing a game (not saying the name :p) and the extra parameters are really important for me. Now I don't need to redraw all the images on the screen using gc:drawImage (which is slow), and I notice a big speedup. The game will be unplayable without it.

Ok, but have you tested without arguments to make a real bench ?
Even if I trust in you, we have to be really sure of this.
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on July 09, 2011, 04:53:36 pm
Well, the thing is that I don't have to draw more images if I use this. Redrawing the screen alone might be faster, but for many games that need images, the combination will be faster. drawImage really can be a bottleneck in programs, and that is why I try to limit using it with redrawing only parts.
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Levak on July 09, 2011, 04:55:59 pm
Well, the thing is that I don't have to draw more images if I use this. Redrawing the screen alone might be faster, but for many games that need images, the combination will be faster. drawImage really can be a bottleneck in programs, and that is why I try to limit using it with redrawing only parts.

But, how can be sure of that ? The on.paint(gc) method is one unique function which cannot be defined for different part of the screen.

We have no proof, except a full bench, that the buffer is filled the same way and then superposed over the old screen, or, if the buffer is drawn locally.

Do you follow me ?
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on July 09, 2011, 05:01:44 pm
Yes, I follow you :)
My point is (in game applications, with many graphics), redrawing every time the screen when you change something, can be quit slow. That is why I only redraw a part and change only a couple of images. I'm absolutely sure this is faster, but I haven't done test to find the exact speed.
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Adriweb on July 09, 2011, 05:08:46 pm
In Bobby Carrot, everything is redrawn I think, and it's not slow :P

Maybe it's because on a CX...
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on July 09, 2011, 05:10:32 pm
That partially because he moves in big chunks. In my game, the player moves very smooth, which makes that I need many redraws.
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: p2 on July 10, 2011, 03:45:00 pm
With sounds?

with the pacman-melody?
or with the tetris-melody?

I think it would be better with the tetris-theme-melody.



Spoiler For Spoiler:

19 von 20 Stimmen in meinem Kopf sagen, ich bin verrückt.
die 20ste summt gerade die Tetris-melodie.

You can't understand this nice text  ;D
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on July 10, 2011, 03:49:45 pm
Currently sound isn't the most easy thing to do. It is possible, but requires lots of programming work and possibly some hardware work (like adding a resistor after the output).
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: pianoman on July 10, 2011, 05:00:53 pm
Yeah, sorry, p2, but no sound :(
As for the platform.window:invalidate(), it is quite concievable that using parameters makes the game faster. More tests would be needed to figure that out, and if there was a plan to figure that out, I would be happy to help in any way I could.
However, I will need to be refreshing many things at once, so for this, it's sort of a moot point. Thanks anyways! :)
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Loulou 54 on July 22, 2011, 07:09:28 pm
That's not really the topic, but we can play sounds with Lua ??  O.O
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on July 23, 2011, 02:54:54 am
Loulou, nice to see you here on Omnimaga :D

I have playing around with the serial port on the nspire, and by sending large chunks of data to it (using print), you can make some sound. The problem is that you can't do anything while it is busy :/
Or ... you can hook up an arduino, and let that do the sound processing :)
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Loulou 54 on July 23, 2011, 09:42:38 am
Nice :) But how do you choose which characters to send with "print" to get the note you want ?

And do you know how are sent the data on the two ports ?
Thank you ! :)
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on July 23, 2011, 02:57:23 pm
Well, you need to think how the character looks in binary, and try to make waveforms with it. Not so easy, but I'll try to make a simple library one of these days to make it simple :)

You can only send data with one port on the serial port, as the other one is input (you can't use it in Lua)
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Munchor on July 24, 2011, 09:22:44 am
Currently sound isn't the most easy thing to do. It is possible, but requires lots of programming work and possibly some hardware work (like adding a resistor after the output).

Which is useless for the contest, because not all the judges can do it :)
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Loulou 54 on July 24, 2011, 09:44:44 am
Thank you Jim. :) D'you know what's the speed of the transmission ?
Could you give me an example which plays a note ?  ;D(http://www.omnimaga.org/Themes/default/images/gpbp_arrow_up.gif)
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on July 24, 2011, 04:33:44 pm
The speed is 115200 baud.
I'll try to make a little example soon :)
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Munchor on July 24, 2011, 04:51:31 pm
The speed is 115200 baud.
I'll try to make a little example soon :)

Oh and if it requires a system (with hardware and stuff) please post the scheme :)
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on July 25, 2011, 09:10:50 am
Here is the example I promised : http://ourl.ca/12233.new#new
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: pianoman on August 09, 2011, 02:38:18 pm
Ok, I have some good news and some bad news.
The good news is that I am not killing this project just quite yet :D
The bad news is that I'm going to have to scrap the current code and start over D:
There's not much else to say as of right now. I'll keep you guys updated.
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: pianoman on August 10, 2011, 02:55:43 pm
I have some really great news: one of the biggest bugs that plagued my previous version of Pacman is now gone, so Pacman actually stops when he reaches a wall :)
I think I can begin adding the next features to the game at this point, which would be those little dots for Pacman to nom :)
It looks as if this game might actually work out :D
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on August 10, 2011, 03:31:38 pm
Very nice!
Hope it will all work out :)
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: pianoman on August 12, 2011, 11:45:35 am
Time for an update!
The game is coming along nicely, although I think that there may be a bug somewhere, as the game behaves weirdly on occasion. Regardless, the ghosts are moving around now, and so is Pacman.
And, of course, here is a screenie!
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: apcalc on August 12, 2011, 12:38:12 pm
Excellent!  I am excited to see this; Pac-Man is one of my favorite games!
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on August 12, 2011, 02:29:36 pm
That looks very nice, well done!
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: pianoman on August 12, 2011, 02:40:19 pm
Thank you, apcalc and jim!
I have another update for today: I managed to work out all of the bugs (that I could find, at any rate :P), and I've completed the first level, so I'm going to go ahead and attach that to this post.
If anyone would like to test for bugs (or just play level 1), go ahead and download this game, and let me know if you find anything.
Please keep in mind, however, that this game is not yet finished, or even close to ready for release- there are still more things that may come soon :)
Also, please let me know what you think of the game changing speeds. Given that it is noticably slower at the beginning, it seems as if I will have to release this game in level packs of 3-5 levels each.
Allright, I'll stop talking now :P
Thanks! :D
EDIT: Actually attached file :P
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: pianoman on August 15, 2011, 11:21:30 am
Update: I fixed a couple bugs and added another level.
I have an idea to increase the speed of it, and I will let you know how it goes once I try it out :)
The newest version is also 3.0.2 compatible, but still a bit unrefined.
There isn't an instructions or about section yet, so don't bother clicking that.
Also, development is going to slow down a bit (thanks to band camp), but hopefully, we should be seeing an official release in the next few weeks :D
Thanks!
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: annoyingcalc on August 15, 2011, 02:13:29 pm
Nice! 3.0.2 compatabability? great
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: pianoman on August 19, 2011, 12:07:35 pm
Once again, I have some good news.
Previously, I had a problem with Pacman moving too slowly, despite putting parameters on the platform.window:invalidate. The level would just end up being really slow in the beginning and speed up to almost 2.5x the speed near the end.
To fix this, I set up the timer so that everything is only refreshed every other timer click, so at any given time, the screen only has to refresh 2 or 3 things as opposed to 5 things.
It doesn't completely fix the problem, but it reduced the problem to a point where the increasing speed makes the game more fun as opposed to more annoying.
Right now, there's not much left to do besides add levels.
How many do you guys think I should have for the first level pack?
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on August 19, 2011, 12:13:49 pm
I'm glad you solved some problems :)
I don't think its the quantity of levels that counts, but the quality ;)
I'll already be happy if there are just a few :)
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: pianoman on August 19, 2011, 12:15:52 pm
I don't think its the quantity of levels that counts, but the quality ;)
I'll already be happy if there are just a few :)
Lol, ok :D
I've got 5 so far, and I'm planning on adding a few more, maybe an even 10 :)
And, yes, they are all fairly good/fun... except the last one, which is so small, it's evil  >:D
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: pianoman on August 23, 2011, 11:22:23 am
Allright, great news, everyone!
I just finished adding all 10 levels to Pacman, as well as adding Document Player support to the game. :)
All that's left is for me to test it on my actual Nspire (no problems anticipated) and to write the Readme.
After I do that, I'll release it :D
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on August 23, 2011, 11:25:18 am
Great news \o/
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Adriweb on August 23, 2011, 11:25:38 am
Yep, looking forward to that release :-D
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: pianoman on August 23, 2011, 12:38:49 pm
And now, the moment we've all been waiting for...
Marimba roll, please :P
I have just released Pacman :D
It's in the downloads section (pending approval), and I also have uploaded it ti ticalc.org (pending approval).
Oh, and it's also attached to this post :P
Enjoy, and let me know what you think :D
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Jim Bauwens on August 23, 2011, 01:02:33 pm
I'll try it as soon as I get time!

Thanks :)
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: Adriweb on August 23, 2011, 01:03:21 pm
It's awesome, congratulations ! :)
Title: Re: Pacman Lua
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on August 23, 2011, 02:58:08 pm
Woah awesome I gotta try this as soon asap!
Title: Pacman Nspire
Post by: pianoman on August 23, 2011, 03:00:48 pm
Pacman Nspire



http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=714

The classic arcade game comes to the Nspire!
Requires OS 3.0 or higher.

(http://img.removedfromgame.com/imgs/Screenshot1.png)                 (http://img.removedfromgame.com/imgs/Screenshot2.png)
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: Deep Toaster on August 23, 2011, 03:02:49 pm
awesome is awesome! Any thoughts on porting the original levels?
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on August 23, 2011, 03:20:02 pm
Yeah it would be nice

Btw for some reasons the game is very slow on my CX compared to the original. Like about 3x slower it seems. Is it normal?
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: Jim Bauwens on August 23, 2011, 03:27:50 pm
Pianoman, a tip to speed it up: change the white in the sprites with alpha (if you don't do this aready)
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: Loulou 54 on August 23, 2011, 03:39:12 pm
Waow ! I've just tried, that's great ! :)
How work the path of the monsters ?
Is it random ?
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: pianoman on August 24, 2011, 07:21:46 pm
Yeah it would be nice

Btw for some reasons the game is very slow on my CX compared to the original. Like about 3x slower it seems. Is it normal?
Errr I have no idea. Sorry :(

How work the path of the monsters ?
Is it random ?
Yeah, it is. :)
Pianoman, a tip to speed it up: change the white in the sprites with alpha (if you don't do this aready)
Wait, what? :P
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: AGVolnutt on August 24, 2011, 09:35:48 pm
He means make the white on the backgrounds transparent.

If possibru, can you add a blue glow? Like the retro? :3

Contrary to popular belief, the movements for three of the ghost are not random, except for the red one! I think it's on Google somewhere. Try googling "Pathways of the PacMan ghosts"

EDIT: It also appears that on the monochrome screens, the ghosts are almost transparent. :/
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: pianoman on August 24, 2011, 09:40:10 pm
He means make the white on the backgrounds transparent.

If possibru, can you add a blue glow? Like the retro? :3

Contrary to popular belief, the movements for three of the ghost are not random, except for the red one! I think it's on Google somewhere. Try googling "Pathways of the PacMan ghosts"
Yeah, I think I can do a blue glow... :)
I'll post my color questions in Lua Q&A.
And, yeah, I read about the ghosts on Wikipedia.
I mean that these ghosts are random. :P
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on August 24, 2011, 11:53:24 pm
By the way pianoman do you own a TI-Nspire or are you only testing this on the student software? I think using the student software isn't a very good indicator of speed because it runs several times faster than the real calc. Also some games won't display correctly in it if I remember, like the NyanCat game.
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: JosJuice on August 25, 2011, 02:04:23 am
Contrary to popular belief, the movements for three of the ghost are not random, except for the red one! I think it's on Google somewhere. Try googling "Pathways of the PacMan ghosts"
The red one is actually the one that's the most predictable. :)
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: Darl181 on August 25, 2011, 03:27:05 am
Just searched it, there's a pretty big page on it.
http://gameinternals.com/post/2072558330/understanding-pac-man-ghost-behavior/me didn't know it was this complex O_O
None of them are random, apparently, except in "frightened" mode..
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: Jim Bauwens on August 25, 2011, 03:59:44 am
Quote from: pianoman
Pianoman, a tip to speed it up: change the white in the sprites with alpha (if you don't do this aready)
Wait, what? :P

Well, with alpha I mean transparency. The image draw routine will just skip the pixels instead of decoding the color value and drawing it. I used this in my card game, and I got almost 500% speedup (there is allot of white in the cards).
You can change the white to alpha with my online sprite editor ;D
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: pianoman on August 25, 2011, 11:26:55 pm
Hmmm, interesting.
However, the ghosts aren't TI.Images :w00t:
Will that still work?
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on August 25, 2011, 11:57:58 pm
What are they? ???
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: fb39ca4 on August 26, 2011, 12:02:25 am
Do you draw them with geometric primitives?
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: Jim Bauwens on August 26, 2011, 04:09:27 am
This trick only works with TI.Images.
Drawing simple stuff with rect and circle is much faster, so in your case I guess you are fine.
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: Adriweb on August 26, 2011, 05:46:30 am
Do you draw them with geometric primitives?

Yes lol he did :

Code: [Select]
function drawghosts(gc)
gc:setColorRGB(255,0,0)
gc:fillArc(gonex,goney,blockwidth,blockwidth,0,180)
gc:fillPolygon({gonex,goney+blockwidth/2,gonex,goney+blockwidth,gonex+.2*blockwidth,goney+.8*blockwidth,gonex+.4*blockwidth,goney+blockwidth,gonex+.45*blockwidth,goney+blockwidth,gonex+.45*blockwidth,goney+.8*blockwidth,gonex+.55*blockwidth,goney+.8*blockwidth,gonex+.55*blockwidth,goney+blockwidth,gonex+.6*blockwidth,goney+blockwidth,gonex+.8*blockwidth,goney+.8*blockwidth,gonex+blockwidth,goney+blockwidth,gonex+blockwidth,goney+.5*blockwidth,gonex,goney+.5*blockwidth})
gc:setColorRGB(255,255,255)
gc:fillArc(gonex+.25*blockwidth,goney+.25*blockwidth,.25*blockwidth,.35*blockwidth,0,360)
gc:fillArc(gonex+.6*blockwidth,goney+.25*blockwidth,.25*blockwidth,.35*blockwidth,0,360)
gc:setColorRGB(0,0,255)
gc:fillArc(gonex+.38*blockwidth,goney+.35*blockwidth,.1*blockwidth,.15*blockwidth,0,360)
gc:fillArc(gonex+.75*blockwidth,goney+.35*blockwidth,.1*blockwidth,.15*blockwidth,0,360)
gc:setColorRGB(0,255,255)
gc:fillArc(gtwox,gtwoy,blockwidth,blockwidth,0,180)
gc:fillPolygon({gtwox,gtwoy+blockwidth/2,gtwox,gtwoy+blockwidth,gtwox+.2*blockwidth,gtwoy+.8*blockwidth,gtwox+.4*blockwidth,gtwoy+blockwidth,gtwox+.45*blockwidth,gtwoy+blockwidth,gtwox+.45*blockwidth,gtwoy+.8*blockwidth,gtwox+.55*blockwidth,gtwoy+.8*blockwidth,gtwox+.55*blockwidth,gtwoy+blockwidth,gtwox+.6*blockwidth,gtwoy+blockwidth,gtwox+.8*blockwidth,gtwoy+.8*blockwidth,gtwox+blockwidth,gtwoy+blockwidth,gtwox+blockwidth,gtwoy+.5*blockwidth,gtwox,gtwoy+.5*blockwidth})
gc:setColorRGB(255,255,255)
gc:fillArc(gtwox+.25*blockwidth,gtwoy+.25*blockwidth,.25*blockwidth,.35*blockwidth,0,360)
gc:fillArc(gtwox+.6*blockwidth,gtwoy+.25*blockwidth,.25*blockwidth,.35*blockwidth,0,360)
gc:setColorRGB(0,0,255)
gc:fillArc(gtwox+.38*blockwidth,gtwoy+.35*blockwidth,.1*blockwidth,.15*blockwidth,0,360)
gc:fillArc(gtwox+.75*blockwidth,gtwoy+.35*blockwidth,.1*blockwidth,.15*blockwidth,0,360)
gc:setColorRGB(255,128,255)
gc:fillArc(gthreex,gthreey,blockwidth,blockwidth,0,180)
gc:fillPolygon({gthreex,gthreey+blockwidth/2,gthreex,gthreey+blockwidth,gthreex+.2*blockwidth,gthreey+.8*blockwidth,gthreex+.4*blockwidth,gthreey+blockwidth,gthreex+.45*blockwidth,gthreey+blockwidth,gthreex+.45*blockwidth,gthreey+.8*blockwidth,gthreex+.55*blockwidth,gthreey+.8*blockwidth,gthreex+.55*blockwidth,gthreey+blockwidth,gthreex+.6*blockwidth,gthreey+blockwidth,gthreex+.8*blockwidth,gthreey+.8*blockwidth,gthreex+blockwidth,gthreey+blockwidth,gthreex+blockwidth,gthreey+.5*blockwidth,gthreex,gthreey+.5*blockwidth})
gc:setColorRGB(255,255,255)
gc:fillArc(gthreex+.25*blockwidth,gthreey+.25*blockwidth,.25*blockwidth,.35*blockwidth,0,360)
gc:fillArc(gthreex+.6*blockwidth,gthreey+.25*blockwidth,.25*blockwidth,.35*blockwidth,0,360)
gc:setColorRGB(0,0,255)
gc:fillArc(gthreex+.38*blockwidth,gthreey+.35*blockwidth,.1*blockwidth,.15*blockwidth,0,360)
gc:fillArc(gthreex+.75*blockwidth,gthreey+.35*blockwidth,.1*blockwidth,.15*blockwidth,0,360)
end

However, looking at what the final shape of the ghost looks like, I think I would have done the drawing differently :
 - draw the top semi-circle
 - draw a square under it, for the bottom part,
 - draw white triangles at the very bottom

 ^ that's all
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on August 26, 2011, 10:51:14 pm
Ah right that's what I guessed he did. Personally I would be tempted to use sprites, since I would be able to put more details in them, such as SNES-like graphics.
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: Adriweb on August 27, 2011, 05:24:17 am
Sprites are obviously better but TI's image format s*cks *ss. And for now, it's slow...
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: Levak on August 27, 2011, 12:44:46 pm
+1, look at my Nyan Cat game, sprites blink as it is slow...
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: pianoman on August 27, 2011, 02:27:01 pm

However, looking at what the final shape of the ghost looks like, I think I would have done the drawing differently :
 - draw the top semi-circle
 - draw a square under it, for the bottom part,
 - draw white triangles at the very bottom

 ^ that's all
Hmmm, that's interesting... I'll try that. :)
And yeah, I'd love to use sprites, but that would make it unbearably slow D:
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: Hayleia on August 27, 2011, 02:29:07 pm

However, looking at what the final shape of the ghost looks like, I think I would have done the drawing differently :
 - draw the top semi-circle
 - draw a square under it, for the bottom part,
 - draw white triangles at the very bottom

 ^ that's all
+the eyes :)
Title: Re: Pacman Nspire
Post by: Jonius7 on August 04, 2013, 10:37:44 am
Hmm this is an inactive topic, but thing is the Monopoly nspire userbar on pianoman's sig, led me to this very topic. Bit misleading.

I have seen a pacman lua, though some elements of that particular pacman game could have been improved.