• SDL ports for Nspire 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: SDL ports for Nspire  (Read 61767 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gameblabla

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
  • Rating: +17/-1
    • View Profile
    • Gameblabla's website
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #75 on: September 06, 2015, 02:26:36 pm »
As promised, i released my second video.
In this video, you can see me playing Megaman X3 one-handed on my overclocked TI Nspire CX.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v6aFU05YMd4

Congratulations for the PocketSNES port effort. Another bunch of games to the Nspire/ndless world. Good (and hard) work!
Question:  Any chance to change the default key bindings like in the gpSP emulator (via Menu)? I tried to play some games (Megaman X3 and VII) on the kArmTI/Nspiroid emulator and found it a bit hard to play with the default bindings. All the rest appears to work just fine, though. BTW, the last version is way faster but the key bindings are again different. So, yeah.
Thanks !
Configurable controls is on my TODO list, it's just not going to be easy though and could take some time.

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #76 on: September 06, 2015, 06:25:09 pm »
Still looks a bit slow, but very cool (and quite playable)nonetheless. Nice work!

Offline northern_snow

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 132
  • Rating: +17/-1
    • View Profile
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #77 on: September 06, 2015, 11:17:31 pm »
Hi gameblabla! It's fantastic! So many ports! Nice job!

And I'm asking for your permission to translate your posts and post them on a Chinese calculator forum (aka cncalc.org) I will add introduction to the games and game consoles which are emulated.

Offline gameblabla

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
  • Rating: +17/-1
    • View Profile
    • Gameblabla's website
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #78 on: September 07, 2015, 12:58:56 am »
Did a small update to PocketSNES :
- Added diagnonals on the buttons 7,9,1,3
- Reduced its size from 420kb to 235kb.
- Minor Speedup
- Minor changes to gui

Download it here, in the attachments.

Hi gameblabla! It's fantastic! So many ports! Nice job!
And I'm asking for your permission to translate your posts and post them on a Chinese calculator forum (aka cncalc.org) I will add introduction to the games and game consoles which are emulated.
You have my permission to translate my posts,  just to make sure to credit me please. (and rwill, for the ScummVM port)

Also, don't forget guys :
fri tibit

Offline gameblabla

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
  • Rating: +17/-1
    • View Profile
    • Gameblabla's website
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #79 on: September 08, 2015, 04:11:03 pm »
Yo, i ported PicoDrive, a Genesis emulator by notaz, to Ti Nspire CX.

PicoDrive

PicoDrive on TI Nspire runs most games fullspeed with a frameskip of 2 on a non-overclocked calculator.
It's based on version 1.35 and i disabled Sega CD emulation, mostly because it was not working and partly
because of the small NAND size.

Download link : https://tiplanet.org/forum/archives_voir.php?id=304358
Github repo: https://github.com/gameblabla/picodrive-nspire

*This release is sponsored by Winnie*

EDIT: Newer version that works on real hardware.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2018, 01:26:37 pm by gameblabla »

Offline SpiroH

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 715
  • Rating: +153/-23
    • View Profile
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #80 on: September 08, 2015, 05:53:19 pm »
Well done again.!
It works on kArmTI, but is just tooo fast, eheh. Can you slow it down a bit please?

Offline gameblabla

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
  • Rating: +17/-1
    • View Profile
    • Gameblabla's website
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #81 on: September 08, 2015, 06:04:32 pm »
Well done again.!
It works on kArmTI, but is just tooo fast, eheh. Can you slow it down a bit please?
Thanks,
is your emulator based on nspire_emu ?
It works just fine on my calc, not too slow or too fast even when overclocked to 264Mhz.
I'm sorry to say this but i'll not add a framelimiter (because it will slow down things, even if a bit)
and your emulator is just not cycle-accurate. (or even close)

Offline Ivoah

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • Codinghobbit
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #82 on: September 09, 2015, 07:41:01 am »
PicoDrive
(sorry, no screens. It still doesn't work on my emus)

What emulators have you tried it on?
http://codinghobbit.no-ip.org
My Calcs:
TI-86 (now broken) $2
TI SR-56 - $0
TI-Nspire CX CAS - $152
TI-84+ Silver Edition - $56
TI-84+ Silver Edition - $0
TI-85 - $0
TI-73 Explorer VS - $10
ViewScreen - $3

Offline gameblabla

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
  • Rating: +17/-1
    • View Profile
    • Gameblabla's website
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #83 on: September 09, 2015, 09:33:48 am »
I re-released another update for PicoDrive.
I'm so sorry, the first version was very broken.
But when something works on your calc and emulators but doesn't work on others calculators,
you can't do really anything...

I removed all the checks, it seems more stable too overall.
You should all upgrade !

PicoDrive
(sorry, no screens. It still doesn't work on my emus)

What emulators have you tried it on?
It seems the same problem as described before and it does this will all the emus.
When i try to load a ROM, it crashes.

Offline Ivoah

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • Codinghobbit
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #84 on: September 09, 2015, 09:34:57 am »
I re-released another update for PicoDrive.
I'm so sorry, the first version was very broken.
But when something works on your calc and emulators but doesn't work on others calculators,
you can't do really anything...

I removed all the checks, it seems more stable too overall.
You should all upgrade !

PicoDrive
(sorry, no screens. It still doesn't work on my emus)

What emulators have you tried it on?
It seems the same problem as described before and it does this will all the emus.
When i try to load a ROM, it crashes.

Have you tried it with Firebird?
http://codinghobbit.no-ip.org
My Calcs:
TI-86 (now broken) $2
TI SR-56 - $0
TI-Nspire CX CAS - $152
TI-84+ Silver Edition - $56
TI-84+ Silver Edition - $0
TI-85 - $0
TI-73 Explorer VS - $10
ViewScreen - $3

Offline gameblabla

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
  • Rating: +17/-1
    • View Profile
    • Gameblabla's website
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #85 on: September 09, 2015, 10:57:10 am »
Have you tried it with Firebird?
It does this with FireBird emu too.
I guess i should try with the more recent OS...

Offline Ivoah

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • Codinghobbit
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #86 on: September 09, 2015, 10:58:26 am »
Have you tried it with Firebird?
It does this with FireBird emu too.
I guess i should try with the more recent OS...

Yeah, try it with a recent OS and if it still doesn't work, make an issue on the firebird repo
http://codinghobbit.no-ip.org
My Calcs:
TI-86 (now broken) $2
TI SR-56 - $0
TI-Nspire CX CAS - $152
TI-84+ Silver Edition - $56
TI-84+ Silver Edition - $0
TI-85 - $0
TI-73 Explorer VS - $10
ViewScreen - $3

Offline SpiroH

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 715
  • Rating: +153/-23
    • View Profile
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #87 on: September 09, 2015, 04:28:11 pm »
I re-released another update for PicoDrive.
....
Well, the last version works in both emulators nspire_emu and kArmTI. I've just tested it.
This release looks more stable than the previous one but still the nspire_emu's speed must be slowed down (F9) to about 40% of its normal speed to make the game (Sonic) playable.
When using the Nspire gpSP emulator that doesn't seem to be necessary at all.  Anyway, those are little details that can always be addressed later. ;)

Offline gameblabla

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
  • Rating: +17/-1
    • View Profile
    • Gameblabla's website
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #88 on: September 09, 2015, 05:08:01 pm »
Did a video about picodrive, you can see it running here :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IrADSVXxJq4

I'm showing you Sonic 2 on my overclocked calc.
It actually does not run fullspeed on some intensive games like Sonic 2
with the current frameskip on a non-overclocked Ti Nspire...
It does however on some games like Flicky.

Well, the last version works in both emulators nspire_emu and kArmTI. I've just tested it.
This release looks more stable than the previous one but still the nspire_emu's speed must be slowed down (F9) to about 40% of its normal speed to make the game (Sonic) playable.
When using the Nspire gpSP emulator that doesn't seem to be necessary at all.  Anyway, those are little details that can always be addressed later. ;)
Thanks for report, SpiroH.
I may or may not add the option to set the frameskip in the future.
Nobody plays emulators inside of an emulator so i don't consider it a huge issue but it needs to be done anyways.

Offline gameblabla

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
  • Rating: +17/-1
    • View Profile
    • Gameblabla's website
Re: SDL ports for Nspire
« Reply #89 on: September 19, 2015, 02:18:05 pm »
I got Hugo working on my Ti Nspire CX.
Just a warning for you guys, i'll be unavailable starting from 20th September
and this could take days or even weeks.

Hugo

Hugo is a NEC PC-Engine emulator originally by Zeograd.
I ported it to TI Nspire but things are pretty slow...
Anyways, it is working so i'm still releasing it.

CDs are not emulated by the way, only hucards.