• TI-Nspire emulator 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: TI-Nspire emulator  (Read 251325 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sammyMaX

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • Rating: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #105 on: January 20, 2012, 04:30:37 pm »
Please update the first page (which still gives version 0.53)

My advice for emulation is to download every single OS available, and keep it. (You never know when it might be useful.) I also have a shortcut to nspire_emu.exe for every single OS (each with different parameters), so I don't have to go into the console every single time I want to emulate the Nspire.

Are you wondering who Sammy is? My avatar is Sammy.
   

Offline Lionel Debroux

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2135
  • Rating: +290/-45
    • View Profile
    • TI-Chess Team
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #106 on: January 21, 2012, 02:48:15 am »
Yeah, those are very sound suggestions indeed: download every version you can find, and make batch files to ease your life :)
« Last Edit: January 21, 2012, 02:48:57 am by Lionel Debroux »
Member of the TI-Chess Team.
Co-maintainer of GCC4TI (GCC4TI online documentation), TILP and TIEmu.
Co-admin of TI-Planet.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55926
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #107 on: January 21, 2012, 04:48:08 am »
This project definitively could use a sub-forum (especially for help), plus it deserves one.


Offline Wayne

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
  • Rating: +3/-3
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #108 on: January 21, 2012, 01:00:52 pm »
Yes, it does :)
How did you do it?
Code: [Select]
nspire_emu.exe /MC /N /F=emu.bin /PO=c:\nspire.tnc
That's the command, isnt't it?

What model are you trying to emulate, and what commands are you using? Perhaps we could help. :D

Edit: What error are you getting as well?
I try to emulate the Touchpad CAS version with the command in your quote. I didn't get any error.

Offline annoyingcalc

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1953
  • Rating: +140/-72
  • Found in Eclipse.exe
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #109 on: January 22, 2012, 10:19:19 pm »
Wow this works perfectly on my cx
This used to contain a signature.

Offline Scipi

  • Omni Kitten Meow~ =^ω^=
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1547
  • Rating: +192/-3
  • Meow :3
    • View Profile
    • ScipiSoftware
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #110 on: January 23, 2012, 10:48:17 am »
Quote
I try to emulate the Touchpad CAS version with the command in your quote. I didn't get any error.

Does it say anything in cmd? Also, the CX or the Original?

Imma Cat! =^_^= :3 (It's an emoticon now!)
Spoiler For Things I find interesting:
Spoiler For AI Programming:
Spoiler For Shameless advertising:

Spoiler For OldSig:





Spoiler For IMPORTANT NEWS!:
Late last night, Quebec was invaded by a group calling themselves, "Omnimaga". Not much is known about these mysterious people except that they all carried calculators of some kind and they all seemed to converge on one house in particular. Experts estimate that the combined power of their fabled calculators is greater than all the worlds super computers put together. The group seems to be holding out in the home of a certain DJ_O, who the Omnimagians claim to be their founder. Such power has put the world at a standstill with everyone waiting to see what the Omnimagians will do...

Wait... This just in, the Omnimagians have sent the UN a list of demands that must be met or else the world will be "submitted to the wrath of Netham45's Lobster Army". Such demands include >9001 crates of peanuts, sacrificial blue lobsters, and a wide assortment of cherry flavored items. With such computing power stored in the hands of such people, we can only hope these demands are met.

In the wake of these events, we can only ask, Why? Why do these people make these demands, what caused them to gather, and what are their future plans...

Offline Wayne

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
  • Rating: +3/-3
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #111 on: January 23, 2012, 04:50:34 pm »
Thanks, but I solved it by myself ;)
I only need to know how to open a document or ndless in the emulator?

regards Wayne

Offline annoyingcalc

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1953
  • Rating: +140/-72
  • Found in Eclipse.exe
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #112 on: January 23, 2012, 08:26:27 pm »
hit the option link and select your file
This used to contain a signature.

Offline Wayne

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
  • Rating: +3/-3
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #113 on: January 24, 2012, 11:19:23 am »
It doesn't work.

Offline Cuervo

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #114 on: January 24, 2012, 11:58:37 am »
Very nice..
It does not run extremely well in Wine..^^

Any plans to make this not Windows-only?
I know Xspire made that for GTK+, but it's outdated..

Offline Lionel Debroux

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2135
  • Rating: +290/-45
    • View Profile
    • TI-Chess Team
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #115 on: January 24, 2012, 01:06:56 pm »
In my experience, nspire_emu works well in Wine, like many Windows programs anyway. Certainly well enough for nobody to bother maintaining non-Windows versions.
What doesn't work for you ? :)
Member of the TI-Chess Team.
Co-maintainer of GCC4TI (GCC4TI online documentation), TILP and TIEmu.
Co-admin of TI-Planet.

Offline ExtendeD

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 825
  • Rating: +167/-2
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #116 on: January 24, 2012, 01:24:36 pm »
Thanks, but I solved it by myself ;)
I only need to know how to open a document or ndless in the emulator?

regards Wayne

Set the target directory, use the Connect option, then use the Send file option.
Ndless.me with the finest TI-Nspire programs

Offline Cuervo

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #117 on: January 24, 2012, 01:59:21 pm »
In my experience, nspire_emu works well in Wine, like many Windows programs anyway. Certainly well enough for nobody to bother maintaining non-Windows versions.
What doesn't work for you ? :)

Well..
In most cases I can start the OS, but sometimes it crashes, like here:


In most cases I can't reload Flash Memory I saved.

When emulating classic-OS (grayscale) it is required to enter the debugger, enter n 6 times and then continue execution to make it load, otherwise I get the same error as in the image.

Can you tell me why I can't compile the .S-File?
Code: [Select]
gcc -m32 -c asmcode.S -o asmcode.o
asmcode.S:204:Rest of line ignored. 1st junk character valued 64 (@).
asmcode.S:205:Alignment too large: 15. assumed.
asmcode.S:206:Junk character 64 (@).
asmcode.S:206:Rest of line ignored. 1st junk character valued 114 (r).
asmcode.S:229:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:232:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:235:Rest of line ignored. 1st junk character valued 64 (@).
asmcode.S:236:Alignment too large: 15. assumed.
asmcode.S:237:Junk character 64 (@).
asmcode.S:237:Rest of line ignored. 1st junk character valued 114 (r).
asmcode.S:259:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:263:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:266:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:269:Rest of line ignored. 1st junk character valued 64 (@).
asmcode.S:270:Alignment too large: 15. assumed.
asmcode.S:271:Junk character 64 (@).
asmcode.S:271:Rest of line ignored. 1st junk character valued 114 (r).
asmcode.S:291:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:295:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:298:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:318:Rest of line ignored. 1st junk character valued 64 (@).
asmcode.S:319:Alignment too large: 15. assumed.
asmcode.S:320:Junk character 64 (@).
asmcode.S:320:Rest of line ignored. 1st junk character valued 119 (w).
asmcode.S:343:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:346:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:349:Rest of line ignored. 1st junk character valued 64 (@).
asmcode.S:350:Alignment too large: 15. assumed.
asmcode.S:351:Junk character 64 (@).
asmcode.S:351:Rest of line ignored. 1st junk character valued 119 (w).
asmcode.S:373:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:377:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:380:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:383:Rest of line ignored. 1st junk character valued 64 (@).
asmcode.S:384:Alignment too large: 15. assumed.
asmcode.S:385:Junk character 64 (@).
asmcode.S:385:Rest of line ignored. 1st junk character valued 119 (w).
asmcode.S:405:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:409:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
asmcode.S:412:invalid char '@' beginning operand 1 `@[email protected]'
make: *** [asmcode.o] Error 1


TIA,
Cuervo
« Last Edit: January 24, 2012, 02:17:59 pm by Cuervo »

Offline Lionel Debroux

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2135
  • Rating: +290/-45
    • View Profile
    • TI-Chess Team
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #118 on: January 24, 2012, 02:32:05 pm »
Your screenshots show that you're using MacOS X, where "gcc" is a quite old, and heavily patched, version of GCC, which will produce executables targetting MacOS X.
But what you want to do is to cross-compile, producing executables targetting Windows ;)
On Debian, installing a Win32/64 SDK takes only several clicks... but on MacOS X, unless someone provides ready-made DMG, it's probably going to be a major pain for you to install.

BTW, Goplat: when running "make" after replacing "gcc" with "$(CC)", where "CC = i686-w64-mingw32-gcc", and "windres" with "$(WINDRES)" where "WINDRES = i686-w64-mingw32-windres", i686-w64-mingw32-windres spits out:
Code: [Select]
i686-w64-mingw32-windres -v resource.rc -o resource.o
i686-w64-mingw32-windres: resource.rc:52: syntax error

Running it with -v provides the following additional clues:
Code: [Select]
Using `i686-w64-mingw32-gcc -E -xc -DRC_INVOKED  resource.rc'
Using popen to read preprocessor output

Running that command shows that DS_MODALFRAME and DS_CENTER are left unchanged by the preprocessor, so the SDK doesn't know about them. Ditto for IDOK and IDCANCEL at lines 57 and 58.

Those errors can be fixed by #include <windows.h> instead of just #include <winuser.h> :)
Member of the TI-Chess Team.
Co-maintainer of GCC4TI (GCC4TI online documentation), TILP and TIEmu.
Co-admin of TI-Planet.

Offline Cuervo

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire emulator
« Reply #119 on: January 24, 2012, 02:58:08 pm »
Your screenshots show that you're using MacOS X, where "gcc" is a quite old, and heavily patched, version of GCC, which will produce executables targetting MacOS X.
But what you want to do is to cross-compile, producing executables targetting Windows ;)
On Debian, installing a Win32/64 SDK takes only several clicks... but on MacOS X, unless someone provides ready-made DMG, it's probably going to be a major pain for you to install.

I do have a mingw32-crosscompiler installed, but I do not want to do cross-compiling. As only very few files in nspire_emu contain Windows-specific code I was thinking about trying to replace them. But I am not able to write Assember-code. I never learned it.
I can also use gcc 4.6.2 for compiling, but it makes no difference. No wonder, because gcc just calles "as". I'll try to update it as it is not installed with binutils but cctools on Mac OS X..-.- Ok, that's really stupid. I already updated my binutils to 2.21..-.-