Author Topic: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War  (Read 6137 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline joao9856

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« on: January 25, 2013, 12:51:48 pm »
I'm currently developing a menu only rpg for TI-Nspire in TI-BASIC named Planet at War
My goal is to make a menu only rpg that as got:
-Save/load system
-Money/shop system
-Level system
-A bit of story(still blind here)
-Increasing dificulty(like swamps=very easy then you can move on the the forest=still quite easy, and so on)
-Some bosses along the way
-Three diferent hero classes(Mage, Archer and Warrior)
-6 armour types (Unharmored(yes that counts), Light Armor, Medium Armor, Heavy Armor, Colossal Armor and Divine armor)
-3 attack types (Magic attacks, Ranged attacks and Melee attacks)

At the moment its like this:

Attack versus armour:

           Unharmored       Light Armor     Medium Armor    Heavy Armor   Colossal Armor    Divine Armour
Magic       150%                100%              75%                125%              50%                 10%
Ranged     150%                125%              100%               75%               50%                 10%
Melee       150%                75%               125%               100%              50%                 10%

Game status:

-Save/load system  75% 80%
-Money/shop system 50% 100% reworking
-Level system 2% 10%
-Battle system 0% 40% 90%
-Character chosing system 100% reworking
-Game start system 80% 90% and reworked
-HPmax limit added 90%
-Potions 50%

I'm open to new ideas that might improve the game!
« Last Edit: January 28, 2013, 11:49:44 am by joao9856 »

Offline Rhombicuboctahedron

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 437
  • Rating: +41/-6
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2013, 04:35:30 pm »
Sounds cool!
Although, the best way to make a text based game would be to use ndless c programming with combo boxes. Also, with c you could show images after text, like you choose a city to go to from a combo box, some text says welcome to the city, and a picture shows the city.
Anyway, this sounds good.
I once made a skyrim one, but all it had were a few potions, a small shop, and the weapons only changed in damage dealt.

Offline ElementCoder

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 611
  • Rating: +42/-2
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2013, 04:39:45 pm »
Wow this sounds like something great :D I hope you'll finish this so there will be another great RPG out there. And if you want to go further you really should check out ndless and C indeed.

Some people need a high five in the face... with a chair.
~EC

Offline joao9856

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2013, 04:49:51 pm »
i guess ndless c should be what i'll learn when i finish this rpg.

My shop is pretty basic to, no potions(maybe another version), only the ability to buy armor speed attack and life.

Also after every fight life just regens, so yeah i'll release a version when i have a battle system with monsters.

Also sidenote is it possible to hide my variable so theplayers can't cheat?

Offline ElementCoder

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 611
  • Rating: +42/-2
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2013, 04:52:01 pm »
No, you can lock a variable though to prevent editing. You'd do 'lock variable'. If you need to edit it you'd do 'unlock variable'

Some people need a high five in the face... with a chair.
~EC

Offline Rhombicuboctahedron

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 437
  • Rating: +41/-6
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2013, 07:13:54 pm »
Use Local
It makes the variable only for that program or function
You wouldn’t be able to use the same variable between programs or functions, but you could just have one return variable per function
Define calchealth(health,damage,armor)
Func
Local finalhealth
blahblah
Return finalhealth
EndFunc

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2013, 10:55:43 pm »
I think TI-BASIC should be fine for a text RPG, although the Input boxes can't be changed so that for example you can't have the user input commands like in command consoles.

Glad to see this is already progressing. I tend to prefer graphical games but a new RPG with quite a bit of features would definitively be nice for the Nspire. :)

Offline joao9856

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2013, 05:28:30 am »
New feature added to battle system:
Hitchance system 100% :hyper:
Battle system NOW 90%  *.*
« Last Edit: January 26, 2013, 06:44:15 am by joao9856 »

Offline joao9856

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2013, 09:00:34 am »
Already got something, its very simple and as got only one monster but you can see how it will be like.

Offline Rhombicuboctahedron

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 437
  • Rating: +41/-6
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2013, 12:01:40 pm »
Nice!
Although. It seems buggy, and there were no direction on how to use it. Also, Mage archer or Warrior is too big of a line for request

Offline joao9856

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2013, 12:06:30 pm »
You're right about directions, its gamestart().
If you think that is big for a request then for the shop items you'll think the request is huge.
Yes its quite buggy, but thats something i'm fixing.

Offline Rhombicuboctahedron

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 437
  • Rating: +41/-6
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2013, 12:20:33 pm »
No, I mean that the whole line doesn’t show on request.
Have you played it yet? :)
One thing I did to get around it in my game was to have a text screen with all the options, and then a request screen.

Offline joao9856

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2013, 12:26:40 pm »
About the full line not appearing i use the trick you said, i'm using it to, but only implemented after making that part, i'll fix it in a sec.
And i played the game alot of times, and every time i play i find a new thing to repair so there is still a lot of work to do, but thanks

Offline Rhombicuboctahedron

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 437
  • Rating: +41/-6
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« Reply #13 on: January 26, 2013, 01:00:09 pm »
Oh, just for fun, if you have ndless, here is the little bit that I did with my ndless rpg several months ago.
Of course, nothing here is different than what you would do in BASIC program, except for long documents of displayed text, and the text has titles
Later on I could have used the combo boxes

Offline joao9856

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire TI-BASIC menu only rpg Planet at War
« Reply #14 on: January 28, 2013, 11:45:08 am »
For some reason your game crashes a bit after a put my name in  D:

Anyway new update!

New implementation:
Potions
Potion using in combat 100% *.*
Ability to buy potions in shop 0% but starting now
And hp no longer recovers after every fight hpmax limitation implemented

And main post updated