• [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes 5 2
Currently:  

Author Topic: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes  (Read 35240 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes
« Reply #120 on: June 21, 2014, 06:32:51 am »
Alright some news for you,

First, I found what was making everything bug. Guess what ? It's the TI-OS's _vputS, that is used by Axe's Text(. Believe it or not, it's so unsafe it's amazing.

/!\ Funny story /!\

So what happened is that I was testing the game to see what was causing that bug, and when I quitted, I launched it again. On one of the game's bitmaps was "-10" written. So what happened is that the program tried to display text at impossible coordinates, so instead it wrote the text ... in RAM. Right in one of my variables. The b*tch.

So yeah, I'll be replacing all of my Text( calls by a custom routine (I mean only the ones that display numbers, the others are fine), resulting in both the suppression of every bug (I hope) and a speed improvement. So yeah ;D

Second, I've put a title screen and a small menu. For now, every option does the same thing, bring you to the map selection menu.



Third, in the map selection menu I planned to add a small preview of the map, so that justifies the fact that only one map name appears on the screen at a time (actually it's because I'm too lazy to do a listing ;D ).

And last, I planned to add save/load, so you can take a game back where you left it.

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes
« Reply #121 on: June 21, 2014, 06:41:04 am »
That title screen is looking awesome! :D

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes
« Reply #122 on: June 21, 2014, 06:44:05 am »
Wow good to know. Now I have to rewrite my debug commands. :P
Also it does look epic. :D

Offline chickendude

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +90/-1
  • Pro-Riot Squad
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes
« Reply #123 on: June 21, 2014, 10:23:57 am »
Yeah i'm pretty sure _vPutS doesn't do boundary checking or clipping, at least not vertically. Anyway, it's not going to cause problems unless it goes off the screen vertically since horizontally it'll just wrap around to the other side of the gbuf. But i wouldn't call expecting you to draw everything on the screen "unsafe" ;) If you tried to draw a sprite off the screen without proper clipping the same thing would happen. However, if all you're doing is displaying numbers, making your own routine and drawing 10 sprites (0-9) will speed things up a ton. Whenever i want to display numbers while the game isn't just paused, i use my own sprite routine.

It's looking nice, though. This game is really impressive :D

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes
« Reply #124 on: June 21, 2014, 11:38:06 am »
I draw nothing on-screen, everything goes in plotSScreen - including text (or at least supposed to) - and yeah, text isn't clipped vertically. Also, I already have digit drawing since I do display how many weapons of each type you have (in the weapons popup). Anyway, it's nice that this bug is solved because it kept corrupting my programs.

Also thanks everyone :)

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes
« Reply #125 on: June 21, 2014, 01:49:18 pm »
Oh well I use direct screen text for debugging purposes so I guess it's OK. I have a custom text routine for the rest of the game.

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes
« Reply #126 on: June 21, 2014, 03:58:18 pm »
Glad you found the bug. ;D

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes
« Reply #127 on: June 22, 2014, 12:32:36 am »
Just saw the new screenshot and very good job so far! :thumbsup:

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes
« Reply #128 on: June 26, 2014, 04:43:17 am »
So I was wondering, would it be that bad if each team only had 2 worms ? I know that's pretty poor, but given the size of the map, 3 worms per team is too much if you want 4 teams. Now that I think of it, 12 worms just won't fit in a 192*128 map, but 8 would.

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes
« Reply #129 on: June 26, 2014, 06:00:03 am »
So here you go : bug-free version, with a nice title screen and menu, improved map selection and all ;D
Although the main menu proposes a "load game" option, this isn't implemented yet, and will just send you to the map selection screen.

Readme included :)

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes
« Reply #130 on: June 26, 2014, 12:37:34 pm »
Cool to hear ! :D

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes
« Reply #131 on: August 27, 2014, 11:47:27 am »
Heavy bump,

Since Cemetech Contest #12 is over I'm working on this again.

Offline ClrDraw

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 627
  • Rating: +61/-2
    • View Profile
    • GitHub
Re: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes
« Reply #132 on: August 27, 2014, 12:34:09 pm »
Woohoo!  :w00t:
Visit my GitHub for all my TI programs as well as other projects.
Also check out my website.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [Axe] Worms - name subject to changes
« Reply #133 on: September 22, 2014, 02:40:54 am »
Awesome to hear, but I really need to try the last version as soon as possible lol. I remember playing some similar game for the computer (with tanks) years ago with another Omni user, but I forgot the name. I also liked Obliterate but this Worm games has more complex map and stuff. :)