Author Topic: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays  (Read 22359 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #90 on: June 13, 2011, 03:40:36 pm »
I don't think you would want to write a hook in Axe. Hooks are really assembly based, and Axe would not be able to even deal with the inputs and outputs for the hooks. Not only that, but I'm not really even sure what you could do from a hook with Axe that would even be useful.

Axe hooks would not cause issues for crabcake user though. Unless of course the hook uses crabcake, but that would just be bad programming.
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline Aichi

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 290
  • Rating: +76/-3
    • View Profile
    • Devrays
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #91 on: June 13, 2011, 04:08:41 pm »
Also, Aichi, you might want add a limit to the speed at which you can get collision damage. The problem is that if you accidentally ram a wall or a boss, you instantly die. This is especially true if the level 4 boss teleports inside of you ;)

...And this is why that boss actually can't teleport inside of you. ;D
You just have to take a close look at its teleporting rhythm and don't move before its teleporting. :P
Anyway, good idea, I will change the damage to 50%. Or 25%, or 20%, let's see.
Furthermore I'm glad about your bug report for Hot Dog. It would be a shame if it won't get fixed.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #92 on: June 13, 2011, 04:11:11 pm »
Ah ok thanks for the info Thepenguin D:

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #93 on: June 13, 2011, 04:12:00 pm »
Quote
...And this is why that boss actually can't teleport inside of you. ;D

Well, maybe not inside you. But it could teleport right in front of where you are moving. (It happened ;))
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #94 on: June 13, 2011, 06:35:23 pm »
Another few requests...regarding the special weapons.

Can a check be implemented to determine which weapon/upgrade you get from a pickup?  More than once I got the ground-shooting thing four times in a row, and that was all I had against the fourth boss :P

Also, can it be made so only flying enemies (not tanks) can spawn the pickup thing?  I've been, for lack of a better term, screwed over multiple times by a tank spawning one after it got hit by the ground shooter when it's <5 pixels away from the left of the screen, and/or when you reach that part in level 4 (link to spot in youtube vid) where the bottom tank spawns a power-up and it goes right into the part sticking up directly to the left of it, instantly destroying it :/

One last thing--why do you have to shoot a power-up to get the weapon?  Shouldn't merely picking it up be enough?

That's about it, with changes/fixes...
Is a level editor planned?
« Last Edit: June 13, 2011, 08:57:16 pm by Darl181 »
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Aichi

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 290
  • Rating: +76/-3
    • View Profile
    • Devrays
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #95 on: June 14, 2011, 02:41:09 pm »
v1.02 Update!

  • Upgrading the mate ship won't affect the linking state anymore
  • The wall collision damage has been decreased
  • The enemy collision damage has been decreased
  • The teleporting animation of the boss of level 4 has been changed
  • A bug that kills enemies multiple times has been fixed

Can a check be implemented to determine which weapon/upgrade you get from a pickup?  More than once I got the ground-shooting thing four times in a row, and that was all I had against the fourth boss :P

Do you mean getting only things that are still not gotten? That would provide having every Level 2-weapon already in level 5. It's the best to keep it random imho. :)

Also, can it be made so only flying enemies (not tanks) can spawn the pickup thing?  I've been, for lack of a better term, screwed over multiple times by a tank spawning one after it got hit by the ground shooter when it's <5 pixels away from the left of the screen, and/or when you reach that part in level 4 (link to spot in youtube vid) where the bottom tank spawns a power-up and it goes right into the part sticking up directly to the left of it, instantly destroying it :/

I wanted to make it not too easy to reach the weapons. You should make sure that you could reach the weapon before you try to defeat an enemy. Every 16th enemy that you kill spawns a weapon btw.

One last thing--why do you have to shoot a power-up to get the weapon?  Shouldn't merely picking it up be enough?

Yeah, that could be quite confusing, but those weapons are actually enemies. It's more size/speed-friendly than coding an own engine for them.

Is a level editor planned?

Hm, that would be fun, indeed, but the engine isn't flexible enough to handle levels by people who don't know about this engine. there are some limitations, such as freezing when there are more than 11 enemies at the same time, despawing some an enemy type under particular conditions and a constant map size of 60x7.
Also, If I had planned to create a level editor, the levels wouldn't be a part of the program data.

Thanks for the suggestions, I'll think about those. :)

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #96 on: June 14, 2011, 11:37:57 pm »
This is awesome. :)
Congrats on the feature, by the way. ;D

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #97 on: June 14, 2011, 11:50:34 pm »
Congrats! I wish ticalc put a screenshot (at least a still) in that news post. The graphics would be enough to convince everyone.




Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3915
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #98 on: June 15, 2011, 04:45:45 am »
Wow. I'll play this asap. great job, Aichi!
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline Stefan Bauwens

  • Creator of Myst 89 - סטיבן
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1799
  • Rating: +162/-24
  • 68k programmer
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #99 on: June 15, 2011, 06:48:50 am »
Congrats! I wish ticalc put a screenshot (at least a still) in that news post. The graphics would be enough to convince everyone.
They posted the youtube vid. :)
Also it's a pity it won't work on the TI-83+, but I can understand that. :)


Very proud Ticalc.org POTY winner (2011 68k) with Myst 89!
Very proud TI-Planet.org DBZ winner(2013)

Interview with me

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3915
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #100 on: June 16, 2011, 03:38:19 am »
Crap, I cant send it. Calc is not recognised by windows >:(
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline Aichi

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 290
  • Rating: +76/-3
    • View Profile
    • Devrays
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #101 on: June 16, 2011, 07:56:21 am »
Crap, I cant send it. Calc is not recognised by windows >:(

On both TILP and TI Connect? :|

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3915
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #102 on: June 16, 2011, 08:00:21 am »
nah, I get an 'error balloon' "USB device is not recognized" (Or so, just translated on-the-fly, not looked up). Maybe I shuold check batteries or so.
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline JosJuice

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1344
  • Rating: +66/-14
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #103 on: June 16, 2011, 08:57:15 am »
nah, I get an 'error balloon' "USB device is not recognized" (Or so, just translated on-the-fly, not looked up). Maybe I shuold check batteries or so.
Try a different USB port, possibly a different cable, and a RAM clear.

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe Parser Shoot'em up] Devrays
« Reply #104 on: June 16, 2011, 08:59:14 am »
Or maybe reinstall TI-Connect ?
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s