• [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid  (Read 17536 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #15 on: September 18, 2014, 05:27:04 pm »
Update!
I've been working on a few things including experience (meaning you can level up now), towns (which are a work in progress), making character movement virtually blinkless on-calc (can't say for emulators), and making the menu screen actually work. Screenie some of this stuff:
« Last Edit: September 18, 2014, 05:44:12 pm by 123outerme »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #16 on: September 18, 2014, 11:56:19 pm »
Looks pretty good so far :) I got a few ideas:

-For the dungeon walls, there seriously could be graphical enhancements if you are going to stick with certain colors. Just using a For loop and perhaps 1 list you could make the walls look more 3D. It would definitively make the game more attractive and increase its audience, without considerable gameplay slowdowns.






-You could add a battle background with those walls at the top?
« Last Edit: September 19, 2014, 12:32:34 am by DJ Omnimaga »


Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #17 on: September 19, 2014, 07:21:33 am »
Looks pretty good so far :) I got a few ideas:

-For the dungeon walls, there seriously could be graphical enhancements if you are going to stick with certain colors. Just using a For loop and perhaps 1 list you could make the walls look more 3D. It would definitively make the game more attractive and increase its audience, without considerable gameplay slowdowns.





-You could add a battle background with those walls at the top?
Woah, that looks amazing O.O
I will definitely look into doing that. I will also work on a battle backround or at least a border.

Offline chickendude

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 816
  • Rating: +90/-1
  • Pro-Riot Squad
    • View Profile
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #18 on: September 19, 2014, 11:23:14 am »
The borders look great, if you can put those in it'd look much better :)

Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #19 on: September 19, 2014, 10:00:35 pm »
I added them, but I can't access my computer now, so no screenie.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2014, 05:05:21 pm by 123outerme »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #20 on: September 22, 2014, 03:17:05 am »
Cool to hear. I wonder if they are fast enough for your needs? From what I saw in the Zelda Sacred Pearls menu I made a while ago (the game never got past that) it didn't seem too bad but that wasn't full screen, so maybe full screen is slower. But I think it's worth the addition :D


Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #21 on: September 22, 2014, 08:29:46 am »
Cool to hear. I wonder if they are fast enough for your needs? From what I saw in the Zelda Sacred Pearls menu I made a while ago (the game never got past that) it didn't seem too bad but that wasn't full screen, so maybe full screen is slower. But I think it's worth the addition :D
It's not too slow, in fact I kind of enjoy the drawing animation. When I get home, I'll upload the gif of it, so you know what I mean.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #22 on: September 22, 2014, 12:58:45 pm »
Ah ok good to hear. Now you can have water/ice, fire, standard, dark, forest and golden dungeons. :D (although golden has some green in it and there are like two choices for fire dungeons)


For battles, if you are concerned about the border being too small at the top of the screen you could always just display every instance/color twice except the bottom black line so it's twice larger from battle perspective. But with the yellow line it would look weird. x.x
« Last Edit: September 22, 2014, 01:01:09 pm by DJ Omnimaga »


Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #23 on: September 22, 2014, 05:06:29 pm »
I'll work on the battle border, which will probably be orange to go with the yellow line, or I could change the line.
This is what I came up with first for the dungeon border (obviously switching colors out for different dungeons), I'll see if I can do anything more, and if it'll look better.


Edit: Progress has been stopped due to a strange bug with the battle. I tried disabling Hybrid BASIC libraries, and it still persists, so I'm not even sure what's happening.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 01:08:48 pm by 123outerme »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #24 on: September 22, 2014, 11:50:25 pm »
Not bad so far, although they kinda look different for some reasons ???


Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #25 on: September 23, 2014, 08:14:15 am »
Not bad so far, although they kinda look different for some reasons ???
That's because I didn't use as many Line( commands and not as many colors.
I've got a lot of the dungeons planned out, which I doubt all of them will be implemented.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2014, 08:16:04 am by 123outerme »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #26 on: September 23, 2014, 09:33:25 am »
Aah ok, I thought it might look better with larger borders, but I guess this looks ok as well (and much better than without borders). :P


Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #27 on: September 25, 2014, 12:24:43 pm »
Spoiler For Old News:
I'm experiencing a strange bug in which this line of code does random things including jump to random places in the code:
Quote
If L=6:Then:"M->Str1:11->T:50->V:End
Even if the code inside the If:Then conditional isn't run, it still is screwing with something. I have DCSE installed, but I disabled Hybrid BASIC libraries, just in case that was screwing with the code. Once I removed that line of code (well, just changed the store arrows and the quote in front of the M, and put it in a string), the program worked like normal.

Edit: It was fixed by MateoConLechuga on Cemetech, who told me to put the code on seperate lines. Somehow, that worked, even though it's pretty much the same thing, but I can continue.

In other news, I got the fire dungeon started, with fire enemy #1 and the fire dungeon's walls colored, which I will get a screenie of soon.

Edit 2: Now, it doesn't work only when at the fire dungeon, which is a little strange. I'll see what I can do.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 02:33:19 pm by 123outerme »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #28 on: September 26, 2014, 12:45:13 am »
Yeah I never understood why "M->Str1:Disp A doesn't work but "M->Str1 then Disp A on a separate line does. It's generally a better idea to keep your code on separate lines, but on a CSE that slows down scrolling through the code considerably (although DCSE fixes that issue). As it was said in the Cemetech thread, the TI-BASIC interpreter is extremely buggy. Another weird bug with strings is if you concatenate hundreds of them together or about 3-4 massive strings together, which results into an instant and massive RAM leak and program slowdown.  When I programmed Zelda in 2004 I once had a 8 KB memory leak from string concatenation. The slowdown also happened to me when using an If:Then:Else block inside a For loop where I forgot to close the parenthese at the end of the For instruction, but it was not as bad.


Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: [CSE BASIC] Dragonsglid
« Reply #29 on: September 27, 2014, 11:41:08 am »
Well, I managed to fix it for the fire dungeon as well, but for some reason I have to do this if I want the test to work and not skip around:
Code: [Select]
If L=6:"M->Str1
If Ans:50->V
If Ans:11->T
That's all right, though. I also added an orange battle border and changed the yellow diagonal line to brown (trust me, it looks good). Screenies soon!