Author Topic: [Pure BASIC] Source Seekers (TI-83 & up)  (Read 56521 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #15 on: May 13, 2014, 10:13:21 pm »
Home screen games could work between all calc models actually. Mana Force somewhat does, although on the CSE there is a big part of the screen that is unused through the game.


The project seems interesting by the way. :)


Thanks!  I was trying to avoid the emptiness, and I got a great suggestion!

Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #16 on: May 14, 2014, 05:16:34 pm »
I'm back from the doctor. She said my knee was either broken, sprained or a combination, and she thinks it's the combination.
Anyway, no baseball for a while and I get to leave class 10 minutes early. Still kinda sad that I don't get to play baseball for 3 weeks at a minimum, but, I'm going to survive.
I still will be able to make updates, but this might affect my schedule. In fact, I'm actually working on the second map screen and I already completed the HUD bar at the top of the screen.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2014, 10:11:58 am by 123outerme »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #17 on: May 14, 2014, 07:59:59 pm »
Looks nice. So I guess that you will use different files for each calc after all?

Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #18 on: May 14, 2014, 08:42:20 pm »
Looks nice. So I guess that you will use different files for each calc after all?
Thanks! I have a few variables set to the boundaries of each calculator screen, determined by the test Josiah suggested. I subtract numbers off of those when I need to display something relative to the edge of the map, so it really feels like you're actually using the entire screen. In short, I won't give up on the dream of calculator equality yet!
Spoiler For Dr Martin Luther King Jr Image:

Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #19 on: May 16, 2014, 05:08:21 pm »
I have an update waiting and a question that requires answering before this update can be released.
Can TI-83 calculators and up have Xmax=96 and Ymax=64? If so, would (delta)X and (delta)Y be 1 in those situations?

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #20 on: May 16, 2014, 05:10:40 pm »
you start from 0,0

If you want that to be in the upper left corner like with other progs, you will have to make all y-values negative when drawing

Now, basic can't use the right-most column and the bottom-most row, so what you'll want to do is

0->Xmin
94->Xmax
-62->Ymin
0->Ymax

and then you can do stuff like
Line(0,0,10-10) which will draw a line from 0,0 to 10,10

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #21 on: May 16, 2014, 05:14:32 pm »
you start from 0,0

If you want that to be in the upper left corner like with other progs, you will have to make all y-values negative when drawing

Now, basic can't use the right-most column and the bottom-most row, so what you'll want to do is

0->Xmin
94->Xmax
-62->Ymin
0->Ymax

and then you can do stuff like
Line(0,0,10-10) which will draw a line from 0,0 to 10,10
Thanks! Could the dimensions be theoretically 96 x 64, though? My logo gets kind of messed up if the Xmax value is 94.

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #22 on: May 16, 2014, 05:15:55 pm »
I just saw that it is for the CSE and I have no idea what the screen dimensions are there, sorry >.<

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #23 on: May 16, 2014, 05:17:18 pm »
I just saw that it is for the CSE and I have no idea what the screen dimensions are there, sorry >.<
It's fine, the dimensions are 320 x 240 pixels (I have that written down on a .txt file XD).

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #24 on: May 16, 2014, 05:18:52 pm »
so then the xmax should be something like 318 and ymin something like -238 i believe, but I don't have a CSE to test anything >.<

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #25 on: May 16, 2014, 05:19:53 pm »
so then the xmax should be something like 318 and ymin something like -238 i believe, but I don't have a CSE to test anything >.<
Thanks! What I'm trying to do is make it so that whatever appears on the +CSE appears the same way on the 83 (and up).
Edit: I just remembered I tested it on a school calculator and it looked and worked fine, so I'm releasing 0.6!

Offline Runer112

  • Moderator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #26 on: May 16, 2014, 05:25:42 pm »
The size of the (usable) graph screen on non-color calculators is 95*63 pixels, which is 1*1 smaller than the total screen size of 96*64 pixels. A typical window range for a 1:1 ratio of pixels to points is [0..94]*[0..62].

The size of the (usable) graph screen on the 84+CSE is 265*165 pixels, which is a fair amount smaller than the total screen size of 320*240 pixels. A typical window range for a 1:1 ratio of pixels to points is [0..264]*[0..164].

Not sure if this information is even helpful, but I'll just dump it here anyways.

Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #27 on: May 16, 2014, 05:35:02 pm »
The size of the (usable) graph screen on non-color calculators is 95*63 pixels, which is 1*1 smaller than the total screen size of 96*64 pixels. A typical window range for a 1:1 ratio of pixels to points is [0..94]*[0..62].

The size of the (usable) graph screen on the 84+CSE is 265*165 pixels, which is a fair amount smaller than the total screen size of 320*240 pixels. A typical window range for a 1:1 ratio of pixels to points is [0..264]*[0..164].

Not sure if this information is even helpful, but I'll just dump it here anyways.
It's helpful to +CSE users, I guess. I appreciate the information, and I know who to quote when someone's asking about the +CSE's graph screen.
Just to throw this out here, the +CSE's homescreen is 10 characters tall by 26 characters wide.
Update 0.6 is out! Check the first post and celebrate!


Edit: Attaching a  .txt document. Also, I just uploaded a new version of 0.6 with a few fixes, including adding the HUD bar to level 1, since I had to restore from a previous version when the Archive almost destroyed my work.
There's still an issue with opening the chest (letter "B") on level 2, and I will fix that in a moment.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2014, 08:57:21 pm by 123outerme »

Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #28 on: May 16, 2014, 07:57:49 pm »
Well, now you kill the standing enemy to get the second artifact. I thought that would be a great way to introduce the player to the enemies and to attacking. I uploaded a new version of 0.6 with a few more fixes, but there's still a minor problem, and that is with hit detection (not collision detection, detecting if you're standing on the same square as the enemy).

Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: (Pure TI-Basic) Source Seekers [TI-83 & up]
« Reply #29 on: May 17, 2014, 08:54:39 pm »
Version 0.7 is out with Level 3, a storyline, flavor text to go along with the artifacts when you get them, and many fixes, but two bugs, including the one mentioned above this post.
See the first post for more information about this revolutionary update.
Edit: Fixed the bug that isn't the one that's mentioned the post above this one.
Edit 2: Fixed the bug mentioned in the post above this one (and in this post, for that matter).
« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 10:32:45 pm by 123outerme »