Author Topic: [83p] Hero Core  (Read 20387 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
[83p] Hero Core
« on: August 22, 2011, 07:24:02 am »
Hero Core

By keoni29 (PC original by Daniel Remar)

Compatibility:
  • Ti 83+
  • Ti 83+BE
  • Ti 83+ silver
  • Ti 84+
  • Ti 84+ silver
Requirements:
16k of ram (estimated)
16k of archive (estimated)
Run from a shell such as mirageOS or DCS (compiled for ion)

About:
Daniel Remar, the creator of the PC original, said it was all right to port his game and
he'd like to see it on a calculator.
That was back in 2011 and my Hero Core port is still not finished.

In this topic I will be posting updates and development builds.







To do:
- TestWorld (100%)
- Enemy AI (60%)
- Bosses (0%)
- Player controls (80%)
- Health, injure & overheat (100%)
- Soundeffects from the I/O port (40%)
- Animated tiles (30%)
- Blade (cut away dirt and pipes that are in the way)(100%)
- Pause screen w/ map and settings (30%)
- Tile graphics (70%)
- New tile system (10%)
- World map (10%)
- Music  (music only for soundchip users)
- Events, doors etc. (0%)
- Map screen (50%)
- Save progress (0%)

This game will be

If your game is too: include this in your topic.
Code: [Select]
[url=http://8times8.host56.com/?p=98][img]http://tinyurl.com/orcpbkp[/img][/url]
Downloads:


If you encounter any bugs: that's normal. They're supposed to be there ;D
« Last Edit: December 03, 2014, 04:40:51 pm by Keoni29 »
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2011, 09:41:56 am »
That looks pretty cool. :)  I hope all goes well with the rest of it.

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2011, 12:23:39 pm »
Never played the original, but it looks nice. =)

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2011, 12:55:04 pm »
Working on the doors. I have connected 2 rooms with so called door-tiles. There is a weird bug that allows players to walk trough walls next to the doorway. I hope I can fix this as fast as possible.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2011, 04:03:50 pm »
monochrome graphics =DDD
i love it. it looks like you are recreating it successfully so far as well.

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2011, 02:14:05 am »
The doorways work now. Now I have to make 6 testrooms and fill em up with enemies.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline annoyingcalc

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1950
  • Rating: +140/-72
  • Found in Eclipse.exe
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2011, 09:03:19 pm »
Nice this looks great
This used to contain a signature.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55845
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2011, 09:15:07 pm »
Interesting, I don't know the original but hopefully things goes well during development. Good luck!
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline annoyingcalc

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1950
  • Rating: +140/-72
  • Found in Eclipse.exe
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2011, 03:54:46 am »
Yes it looks great moar screenshots?
This used to contain a signature.

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2011, 03:06:48 pm »
I scaled down the herocore logo. It looks nice on calc
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55845
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2011, 11:51:51 pm »
Link to logo? (on-calc and original)
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2011, 03:06:07 am »
I'm back :D
I lost the source a while ago, but I found it and I'm happy. Nvm lets get to work!
@DJ_O It's animated :D I will record some with the emulator
Edit:Record take 2
« Last Edit: October 22, 2011, 08:30:12 am by Keoni29 »
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline Netham45

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2103
  • Rating: +213/-4
  • *explodes*
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #12 on: October 20, 2011, 03:13:21 am »
That vaguely reminds me of VVVVVV
Omnimaga Admin

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #13 on: October 21, 2011, 07:11:13 pm »
Ye I've played that too, but this game has monochrome gfx and no gravity.


Le midnight programming. I attached 2 bright Leds to my calc powered by a 9v block. Added cewl soundeffects. I'd love to add music, but it slows the game down as hell. Tomorrow I will analyze the source and clean the mess up. Then I will be working on the world mapping.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2013, 03:58:29 pm by Keoni29 »
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #14 on: October 22, 2011, 05:32:35 am »
Found one bug in the source while analyzing the variable purposes.
Spoiler For Spoiler:
HEROCORE
Variables:
A=Used in loops(can be replaced by r)
B=Used in loops(can be replaced by r)
C=Used for temporary action (can be replaced by r)
D=Direction l/r(0-1)
E=
F=Frame skip y/n (0-1)
G=
H=Health and used in loops (Conflict!! Replace one by r)
I=
J=
K=Is 0 onkeypress and resets to 1 when the key is not pressed
L=Is 0 onkeypress and resets to 1 when the key is not pressed
M=
N=
O=Used in the titlescreen(replace by r or B)
P=The room
Q=
R=Used as return value (can be replaced by r)
S=
T=
U=
V=Used in loops for tile drawing
W=
X=Players position
Y=Players position
Z=
θ=Used for optimization (can be replaced by r)

As you can see I use quite a few letter variables. A lot of them can be replaced by r1-r6
« Last Edit: June 26, 2013, 03:58:49 pm by Keoni29 »
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?