Omnimaga

Calculator Community => Other Calc-Related Projects and Ideas => TI Z80 => Topic started by: tifreak on June 21, 2009, 09:09:58 am

Title: AOD83pl
Post by: tifreak on June 21, 2009, 09:09:58 am
So, after having gone through and remade AOD for the 73, 82, 83, and 86, I had decided at one point to update the coding itself on the 83+. And after DJ took a quick shot at trying to play, we determined that the game is really broke, since it gives an error that NO ONE has reported. >[

Anyways, this should now be fixed, and fully updated to using my newest coding style. I have shaved off 358 bytes off of the game. You might say 'Oh, but this is so little, you should not be happy with this'

This is actually the second update this game has seen to its coding, and I had managed to shave off around 600 that last time I think. That data was lost tho.. or it might be written down on paper, I might have to rummage through notes and see.

Anyways, I think it is ready to be re-released again, got to button up a few things in the readme and such before resubmitting to ticalc and calcg, where it will definitely show up almost immediately on calcg. =]


Just thought I would post this for anyone that would be interested.
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: Galandros on June 21, 2009, 09:16:08 am
Cool. Actually in the "old" days AOD was one of the cool projects I found in tifreakware...

Good to see progress. Continue tifreak ;)
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: tifreak on June 21, 2009, 09:39:21 am
heh, thanks. ^^

http://calcg.org/cgi-bin/files.cgi?id=277

The file has been updated on calcg.org, and ticalc.org, tho it is still pending there.

So yeah, if anyone would be willing to go through and check it out, see what they think, would be grateful.
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 21, 2009, 01:50:19 pm
Nice to see an update :)

I think I will try after eating Netham... er... eating dinner. I hate when nobody report bugs when they actually tried to play the game. Everyone who e-mailed me about my games simply reported they were unable to install the game or run it, because they didn't read the readme. Generally when people encounter a bug they give up and delete the game right away. Lack of patience from their part since sometimes bugs aren't discovered right away through first testing x.x

The Reign Of Legends 3 still has this mysterious ERR:DOMAIN/DATA TYPE error when riding the airship on the world map which rarely happens and I am unable to recreate it. I discovered it about 1.5 year ago, even if the game was finished over 5 years ago. In Reuben Quest, I discovered a sprite displaying glitch near the small pond where a cloud sprite displays at the shovel digging area before you get the bottle. I discovered it about 1.5 years ago too. Same for the english version of Illusiat 12, where the Chapter 6 first shop doesn't work at all.
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: tifreak on June 21, 2009, 01:57:27 pm
*shrugs* I dunno, this is something I guess I should have seen, but didn't >< Mainly because I didn't clear out my calc and resend to it to make sure everything was peachy, I guess.

Anyways, it is up on ticalc.org now. I am working on AOD2, cleaning up some of the code there, adding some sprites for the world map, etc.
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 21, 2009, 02:13:05 pm
Mhmm I noticed you switched to small text on the title screen instead of Text(-1, did a glitch or something occured in your game with large text? Not that it looks bad with small text either, though :P


Lol died on first battle. Missed about 5 attacks out of 8 x.x things seems to work fine, though. I'll try to enter a shop or something to see if that works, if I can even reach it before dying

EDIT: I give up, enemies are way too hard x.x

You should make first enemies killable in under 5 hits or maybe increase the hit accuracy percentage for your character to something like 80-90% instead of like 20% but again this game is quite old and sequels are alerady out so maybe it would be a bit too late to change everything x.x
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: tifreak on June 21, 2009, 02:26:41 pm
actually, it is based off of random numbers o.O 1-5 I think, and yeah, I died alot too, but you also have to keep checking your stats and using cure on yourself so that you can level up. Is the secret to getting anywhere in that game. That's why in AOD2, I changed the UI for battles to show your HP all the time, but the same rule still applies to it, keep an eye on the HP and use Cure when you get low.

And no, I just removed the double arrow and made it one single line of options, made the program a bunch smaller. =]
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 21, 2009, 02:58:12 pm
Aaah ok I guess I could try this.
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: Galandros on June 21, 2009, 05:41:07 pm
The Reign Of Legends 3 still has this mysterious ERR:DOMAIN/DATA TYPE error when riding the airship on the world map which rarely happens and I am unable to recreate it. I discovered it about 1.5 year ago, even if the game was finished over 5 years ago. In Reuben Quest, I discovered a sprite displaying glitch near the small pond where a cloud sprite displays at the shovel digging area before you get the bottle. I discovered it about 1.5 years ago too. Same for the english version of Illusiat 12, where the Chapter 6 first shop doesn't work at all.
Domain arises from what variables contain when a certain command is executed... Maybe variable conflict or your code seems to get them in strange values (negative or too high, for example)
DATA TYPE to me comes when I abuse of Ans use (like in blocks of If's and not even I know how program flow goes, the program editor only has 7 lines...) It can happen in other ways but that is just terrible error of the programmer.

Errors from large programs can be very hard to detect... *flees*
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: Galandros on June 22, 2009, 06:24:44 am
Double post but I feel it is needed.

I got a Domain error on program D3GA in line Text(G,H,"/theta/
It happens when I get to the "exit" of map in the far left side... It is quite hard. And in some program I saw closing parentheses not eliminated. So more optimization is possible.

And to improve gameplay I suggest to not use that much Pause. It has a trade off with memory...But doing a :Repeat getkey :End is the smallest I can imagine to replace. or a subprogram and call it with prgmP... Only one more byte each use more a subprogram in RAM. Nevermind. Getting habit of having a finger in numbers and other in Enter makes it ok.

I suggest you to use this number pad reader routine. I am not the author... I found in UTI in a Brain Teaser. I think this will optimize a bit...
:Repeat Ans≤9
:Repeat Ans
:getKey
:End
:Ans(102≠Ans)-13int(Ans/13(2>abs(5-abs(5-abs(Ans-83
:End

Notes: you can erase (102≠Ans) in case you don't need 0 number detected. It is the case. If no number key was pressed Ans contains the normal key code. This routine is one of my favourites in UTI brainteasers.

EDIT:
Some display errors: (small)
ITEMPOTION instead of ITEM:POTION in VICTORY result...  sometimes during battle there is a Pause in a blank screen?

These days is nice to have a StoreGDB 0 to save the user graph menu settings. And then restore RecallGDB 0 and delete it.
Also save game lists should have a more specific name (AODS) because SAVE1 is relatively probable to be used. (it is not the first time I see it by the way) Archiving it is nice too.

But archive you can leave until a final release.
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: tifreak on June 22, 2009, 02:17:45 pm
I will look at the display error, thanks for noticing.

As to changing the routine.. I probably won't do it. I have optimized massive chunks off of it already, and I would like the overall game to remain the same. Besides, I don't like Repeat loops that much. I utilize while loops for almost everything.

As to the pause and a blank screen.. hmm.. I will look into it.
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: bfr on June 22, 2009, 09:50:31 pm
That's cool.  I don't have my TI-84+ SE with me right now, but I guess I'll just try the Ti-86 version. :P

edit: Got my TI-84+ SE, *downloads* 8)
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: Galandros on June 23, 2009, 04:09:46 am
I utilize while loops for almost everything.
I only use to optimize things (inverse logic), for comments (While 0 :End will skip code with less bytes than If Then End) or when I really need a loop that may not be executed one time (works as a If and Repeat, sort of)
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: tifreak on June 23, 2009, 11:48:26 am
Well, I didn't do it back then, but now I use While loops in the place of Lbl and Goto, to move through out the program in a smoother manner. Repeat does not allow me to do that, tho I use it for 'wait for keypress' type of stuff.

You also have to remember, this was the second game I fully built. The first was http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/307/30790.html

So I went from a text only game to walking around maps graphically and text battles. I don't think I did too bad for a couple months work =p
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 23, 2009, 12:24:48 pm
Very true, and altough I haven't played the entire game, I think you did a much better job than I did with my second game ever (which turned out to be the first released one), at least, aside from the graphics. Keep in mind that this game I am talking about was also completly rewritten and the rewriten version is what's avaliable in the archives. The original version of Illusiat 1 used to be much more worse

Isn't AOD1 (non-text) from around the same time as Illusiat 1? (2001-2002)
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: tifreak on June 23, 2009, 01:08:41 pm
AOD1 with the graphical map is from.. 99 or 2000 I think. hmm.. I think 2000 is when I made this. I am 90% certain that the text version of AOD was made in 98-99, and this one was made at the end of 99 to the beginning of 2000. it is an ooooold game. And I am trying to keep true to most of the original, I just clean up bits of code and fix small errors and such to make things look nicer or run a little smoother. The core of the game itself is still the same. =]
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 23, 2009, 01:59:40 pm
Yeah I understand :), else it would pretty much be a remake anyway, like for example Illusiat 2004, which completly switched Illusiat 1 through 4 to the engine used in the last game released in the series
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: Galandros on June 23, 2009, 03:51:08 pm
It would be interesting to see what I could do back then without all the resources now...

Anyway for the time, was a truly good game. Now it could be perfected much more (better GUI and terrains) but for its style (oldschool) is nice.
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: tifreak on June 23, 2009, 04:36:20 pm
Oh, trust me, I could make this tons better. But you know what? That engine is a really good one. There is no more perfecting what it can do, other than making it so you can save your maps in Archive, giving you hundreds of rooms and such. I based it off of FFx4, it was my inspiration into making AOD as it is in this version. Then with AOD2 I improved the graphics slightly on where you entered towns, dungeons and the like.

Speaking of which.. hmm..
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 24, 2009, 12:22:35 am
AOD remake? :D
maybe with different looking rooms between dungeons :D
Title: Re: AOD83pl
Post by: tifreak on June 24, 2009, 06:45:11 am
lol, probably not, I have given myself too many projects to work on as it is. XD

Was just thinking of maybe releasing the engine and a few test maps, explaining how it works. Maybe.. *shrugs*