Author Topic: BASIC "Falldown" on graph screen  (Read 2117 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
BASIC "Falldown" on graph screen
« on: October 09, 2014, 03:03:34 pm »
I was bored and made this:



It's nothing special and could maybe use some optimizing, but it's pure-BASIC and is incomplete anyway (missing highscore and it's not exactly like Falldown since you can't roll on platforms and stuff). It should show that contrary to popular belief, this calculator can achieve decent scrolling speed (in this case, not even a single ASM lib was used).

Should I make the platforms always appear below you instead of randomly?
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7918
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: BASIC "Falldown" on graph screen
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2014, 03:04:37 pm »
you should make more than one obstacle be on the screen at once :P
And make them wider, right now it more looks like dodging to me.

Still nice, though ^.^

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: BASIC "Falldown" on graph screen
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2014, 03:06:08 pm »
I plan to either make two platforms appear at once or split the platform in half. They will be wider too since they're indeed small. They increase in size as the game progresses but I will make them start larger.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7918
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: BASIC "Falldown" on graph screen
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2014, 03:08:25 pm »
Oh, i see.
I hope speed won't be an issue, though, as then you'd have to re-draw more.

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline Ivoah

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • Codinghobbit
Re: BASIC "Falldown" on graph screen
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2014, 03:10:24 pm »
How many lines of BASIC is it?
http://codinghobbit.no-ip.org
My Calcs:
TI-86 (now broken) $2
TI SR-56 - $0
TI-Nspire CX CAS - $152
TI-84+ Silver Edition - $56
TI-84+ Silver Edition - $0
TI-85 - $0
TI-73 Explorer VS - $10
ViewScreen - $3

Offline Princetonlion.tibd

  • Members
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 790
  • Rating: +3/-4
    • View Profile
Re: BASIC "Falldown" on graph screen
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2014, 09:33:58 pm »
I think it seems like dodge inversed :P

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: BASIC "Falldown" on graph screen
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2014, 10:44:15 pm »
How many lines of BASIC is it?
49 right now.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline chickendude

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 816
  • Rating: +90/-1
  • Pro-Riot Squad
    • View Profile
Re: BASIC "Falldown" on graph screen
« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2014, 07:39:24 am »
That's actually really impressive, how fast is it with wider blocks? In the screenshot i only see up to what looks like 3 blocks wide. I also like the name, btw. I think the current random pattern is fine (especially with wider or split blocks), if it always appears under the player then you can just move the same way every time a new block appears.

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7918
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: BASIC "Falldown" on graph screen
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2014, 10:28:59 am »
wtf it says Fail Down o.O

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: BASIC "Falldown" on graph screen
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2014, 12:14:14 pm »


That's actually really impressive, how fast is it with wider blocks? In the screenshot i only see up to what looks like 3 blocks wide. I also like the name, btw. I think the current random pattern is fine (especially with wider or split blocks), if it always appears under the player then you can just move the same way every time a new block appears.

4 fps with a wide block but 3 with two. That's with the new collision detection added.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify