Author Topic: Blockage (demo released)  (Read 15055 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Blockage (demo released)
« on: May 19, 2009, 06:29:41 pm »
Blockage

(Watch first, then read the rest.)

Here's what I have so far. The engine is done, the menu got finished, and there are currently 8 test levels.
None of the levels you see here will be in the final version. (although some may be strikingly similar...)

Notes, Features, Etc.
  • Read the README. It refers you to the in-game guide under HELP. That's all you should need.
  • It's simple, just get to the flag. It's usually at the far right. (always in the test levels)
  • There will be 20 levels in the final version.
  • On the side is a minimal view of information. L is the level you're on, B is the number of blocks you have left to place, and * is the number of lives left.
  • It's not just running and jumping, it's also a puzzle. You only have a certain amount of blocks per level and the more you have left in the end, the higher your final score will be. (I have yet to implement the scoring system...)
  • Just hit 2nd to activate 'place block mode' and place it anywhere you can see on the screen. Your placed blocks will be black.
  • To cancel 'place block mode', just hit 2nd while the block is on your character.
  • The weird looking blocks... yeah... those kill you. I like to think of them as mines, or spiky enemies of some sort.

Memory Usage (so far)
  • RAM: About 9500 bytes. (calculated to be 9371)*
  • Archive: About 9500 bytes. (calculated to be 9471)

*This is mostly the matrices. One matrix is 3611.
 During the process of extracting the matrix the Ans
 variable is temporarily as big as the matrix it
 helps define. I can't think of a way around this
 unfortunately. So I'd have at least 9.5k-10k available.

_________________________________________

Did I mention to read the README? Do it.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2009, 10:51:00 pm by {AP} »

Offline noahbaby94

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 585
  • Rating: +29/-24
    • View Profile
    • My blog
Re: [Contest Project] Blockage
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2009, 06:33:29 pm »
That's awesome looking does it just instantly go up the stair like things?
That's what she said!!!

Offline skuller972

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 335
  • Rating: +11/-4
  • BEAST MODE
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest Project] Blockage
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2009, 06:47:21 pm »
asm or xlib? im guessing xlib cuz you wouldnt have RAM stuff in asm... or multiple programs... or syntax errors... ooh... forget i ever asked that.
Then again, maybe not...
<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_nt2.php">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/badge/nt2/bc7bf8e12353f09e.png" alt="NerdTests.com says I'm a Cool Non-Nerd.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get nerdy images and jokes, and talk to others on the nerd forum!">
</a>

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Re: [Contest Project] Blockage
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2009, 06:50:15 pm »
I wish, but it's simple enough.
Just hold up and right (or left) and you glide right up them.
It's strange only me and 2 other kids could grasp this game.
(I had some people test it to see how user-friendly it was. Which consisted of "Here. This is how you play. Can you beat the 4 levels?" and then watching their results.)

I'm not sure why though. As you can see, the game can run quite smoothly and I tried to make it as simple as possible. (though I think the difficulty will go up more slowly in the final version, I just wanted to test out all the features this game has)
Still, I'm proud of it so far. All I need to do now is design the levels (aka edit matrices), set up the in-game tutorial, and finish the scoring system and the game will be done.

EDIT: Also, technically, you're right, Skuller. I use Celtic III. (which does have all of xlib's functions)

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: [Contest Project] Blockage
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2009, 06:51:23 pm »
wow that looks sweet! completely blows my platformer out of the water....
/e

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Re: [Contest Project] Blockage
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2009, 06:55:03 pm »
Haha, don't give up yet, Eeems.
I've been programming on these things for quite some time and even then, I could never do this in full basic.
I had to use Celtic III (though I only use xlibs functions right now) for this. =P

Oh, and thank you guys. Glad you like what you see. =D

Offline skuller972

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 335
  • Rating: +11/-4
  • BEAST MODE
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest Project] Blockage
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2009, 06:55:37 pm »
EDIT: Also, technically, you're right, Skuller. I use Celtic III. (which does have all of xlib's functions)
lol
"A think before you post!"
Code: [Select]
ERR:STUPIDITY
1:QUIT
2:GOTO





Then again, maybe not...
<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_nt2.php">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/badge/nt2/bc7bf8e12353f09e.png" alt="NerdTests.com says I'm a Cool Non-Nerd.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get nerdy images and jokes, and talk to others on the nerd forum!">
</a>

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Re: [Contest Project] Blockage
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2009, 06:57:40 pm »
BTW, the 'error' is only because I have the code automatically try to go up in levels until you get to 20 and right now only 4 levels exist.
I didn't want to have to change it to 4 for the screenshot then go change it back to 20. WAY too lazy. =P

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: [Contest Project] Blockage
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2009, 06:57:46 pm »
nice Skuller
@{AP}: thanks I won't give up yet because mine is pure basic, yours isn't so, I still have a chance to do well ^^
« Last Edit: May 19, 2009, 06:58:35 pm by {AP} »
/e

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [Contest Project] Blockage
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2009, 07:13:31 pm »
I am unsure if I said it on Yahoo because I think you left for bed time but it is fucking awesome. I like the speed at which it runs, which, at 15 MHz speed reminds me a bit of Block Dude. I couldn't get a xLIB platformer to run that fast and it seems pretty small so far. I hope you finish it.

(wow... altough the contest might be helping, I think Omnimaga might break its record of the largest amount of releases from the staff in one year. The largest amount of releases were in 2002 and 2006)
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Re: [Contest Project] Blockage
« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2009, 07:29:22 pm »
Haha, thanks!
I had to do a LOT of optimizing/recoding for speed.
I ended up getting rid of a lot of graphics to make it as fast as possible.
Though, this is on a TI-84+ so I have NO idea how fast it runs on an 83+ but I know that there's enough room on one for this game.

This will definitely be finished soon.
I just wish I could release it... but contest rules are contest rules.
It'll be open to public for everyone at the end of it.

(Damn, this has been SO much easier to code than Nyaar too. Which is strange because I thought RPGs were the easiest to code at first.)

Offline trevmeister66

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1009
  • Rating: +14/-5
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest Project] Blockage
« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2009, 07:31:43 pm »
Wow that's pretty insane. It's kind of like my game, except mine is pure Basic, so yeah...graphics AND speed pwn mine, but oh well. Lol now that I think about it, it isn't really like mine at all :P

But that looks awesome.
Projects:    nameless RPG: 1.0%  |  Reverse Snake v1.5: 100%  |  Secret Project: 5%  |  DUNGEON: 70%

My MW2 Blog <-- Please visit :)

Offline skuller972

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 335
  • Rating: +11/-4
  • BEAST MODE
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest Project] Blockage
« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2009, 07:36:13 pm »
yeah at first i thought it was a blockdude clone, because i tried to make one of those before i ever heard of xlib or celtic... AGGGHHH!!! just IMAGINE how slow it was, rendering each sprite by using an:
Code: [Select]
:For(X,1,8
:For(Y,1,8
:If [A](X,Y
:Pxl-On(X+A,Y+B
:If not([A](X,Y
:Pxl-Off(X+A,Y+B
:End
:End
HOLY CRAP THAT WAS SLOW!! but now i know better than to even think about using that kinda thing, unless i was trying to do something that way, or if that was the only way to do it (like when i was trying to make a sprite2hex program for a DCS header, but i never learned and found a program on the internet to make one with)
« Last Edit: May 19, 2009, 07:51:13 pm by skuller972 »
Then again, maybe not...
<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_nt2.php">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/badge/nt2/bc7bf8e12353f09e.png" alt="NerdTests.com says I'm a Cool Non-Nerd.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get nerdy images and jokes, and talk to others on the nerd forum!">
</a>

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [Contest Project] Blockage
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2009, 07:39:56 pm »
Haha, thanks!
I had to do a LOT of optimizing/recoding for speed.
I ended up getting rid of a lot of graphics to make it as fast as possible.
Though, this is on a TI-84+ so I have NO idea how fast it runs on an 83+ but I know that there's enough room on one for this game.

This will definitely be finished soon.
I just wish I could release it... but contest rules are contest rules.
It'll be open to public for everyone at the end of it.

(Damn, this has been SO much easier to code than Nyaar too. Which is strange because I thought RPGs were the easiest to code at first.)
well, actually I always found RPGs to be easier to code cuz it's easier to get fast speed in them and most stuff is turn based. The only problem with RPGs is that it just takes so friggin long and there are lot of variables and list to remember what they are for.

I still hope you finish Nyaar, tho :P
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Re: [Contest Project] Blockage
« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2009, 07:43:25 pm »
I still hope you finish Nyaar, tho :P

Well, this contest has renewed my will to code on the calculator.
I've been coding in PHP a LOT recently, but now that I'm back into TI, I think I can finish Nyaar sometime this summer.

So... I don't really care if I win or lose it anymore, I'm just happy that I can code again.
(Though, winning that 16GB usb drive would be awesome.)