Author Topic: Chess  (Read 32559 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #15 on: February 27, 2011, 06:10:39 am »
This is awesome, the speed, it gives you all possible directions, greyscale! Congratulations!

Offline program4

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #16 on: February 27, 2011, 01:28:53 pm »
This is just impressive! I love playing chess, and sometimes I like an opponent to play against.

One bug I noticed though (I think): if you choose a piece (say the rook on A1 in the beginning), but that piece cannot move anywhere, I cannot deselect the rook and choose another piece.

Offline Lionel Debroux

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2135
  • Rating: +290/-45
    • View Profile
    • TI-Chess Team
Re: Chess
« Reply #17 on: February 27, 2011, 01:33:49 pm »
Good job :)
It's even harder to fit a decent chess AI on a TI-Z80 than it is on a TI-68k calculator (TI-Chess, which I maintain without having participated to the AI itself at all)...
Member of the TI-Chess Team.
Co-maintainer of GCC4TI (GCC4TI online documentation), TILP and TIEmu.
Co-admin of TI-Planet.

Offline Goplat

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 289
  • Rating: +82/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #18 on: February 27, 2011, 01:37:53 pm »
This is just impressive! I love playing chess, and sometimes I like an opponent to play against.

One bug I noticed though (I think): if you choose a piece (say the rook on A1 in the beginning), but that piece cannot move anywhere, I cannot deselect the rook and choose another piece.
It works for me. (press Clear to de-select)
Numquam te deseram; numquam te deficiam; numquam circa curram et te desolabo
Numquam te plorare faciam; numquam valedicam; numquam mendacium dicam et te vulnerabo

Offline mrmprog

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 559
  • Rating: +35/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #19 on: February 27, 2011, 01:38:22 pm »
Looks good. This is one of the first chess games I have seen with an AI. Any idea on the release date?

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1591
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #20 on: February 27, 2011, 08:22:51 pm »
Also, where's the calc serial number stored?

I'm assuming you mean where in the calculator. It is in the certificate and is retrievable via bcall($807E).

You should still definetely put either link play or 2-player, though. It's more fun when you get to swear at your opponent and he has to listen.

It has 2-player mode. And soon it will spin the board around between turns. (So you are looking from the correct side.)

One bug I noticed: Queenside castling is broken... it moved the wrong rook (from the h-file to the f-file, instead of a- to d-), and overwrote my bishop :(

That used to work, but I must have screwed it up when I made castling stop disabling the AI.


Also, some things I have planned.
-Save games (multiple with a file name you pick)
-Look at board from correct side
-Undo button
-Options menu
-If the AI starts to take forever, I'll add in an option to disable grayscale during thinking
-The AI needs to understand piece protection, this will fix Goplat's problem and hopefully allow it to checkmate
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline some1specia1

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #21 on: February 27, 2011, 10:44:02 pm »
This looks like a lot of fun, you should see if you can at some point transfer it to the Nspire. Please

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #22 on: February 27, 2011, 11:22:20 pm »
This looks like a lot of fun, you should see if you can at some point transfer it to the Nspire. Please
I'm sure it will work on the 84+ emulator included with the regular Nspire. :)

Offline some1specia1

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #23 on: February 28, 2011, 12:04:50 am »
This looks like a lot of fun, you should see if you can at some point transfer it to the Nspire. Please
I'm sure it will work on the 84+ emulator included with the regular Nspire. :)
yes, but a link cable is necessary other than the one that comes with the tinspire itself. If I could get one of those that would then work great

Offline Goplat

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 289
  • Rating: +82/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #24 on: February 28, 2011, 12:06:28 am »
This looks like a lot of fun, you should see if you can at some point transfer it to the Nspire. Please
I'm sure it will work on the 84+ emulator included with the regular Nspire. :)
It runs (and you can exit it if you know the right keys to press) but you can't see anything but a white screen. I think TI's emulator doesn't support IM 2 interrupts.
Numquam te deseram; numquam te deficiam; numquam circa curram et te desolabo
Numquam te plorare faciam; numquam valedicam; numquam mendacium dicam et te vulnerabo

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55930
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Chess
« Reply #25 on: February 28, 2011, 12:07:09 am »
Wow this is nice already Thepenguin77! I like the graphics and I am amazed at how much done you have so far.

This looks like a lot of fun, you should see if you can at some point transfer it to the Nspire. Please
I'm sure it will work on the 84+ emulator included with the regular Nspire. :)
yes, but a link cable is necessary other than the one that comes with the tinspire itself. If I could get one of those that would then work great
Didn't the regular link cable come with the TI-Nspire too? I got one when I bought my calc.

I guess someone could maybe convert this game to the TI-Nspire later if he understands both z80 ASM and ARM C.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #26 on: February 28, 2011, 01:21:42 am »
I remember I downloaded a chess game for my calc a while back, and it has AI as well, but it was not nearly as cool or awesome as this!  Excellent job and I can't wait for even more to be added! :D

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #27 on: February 28, 2011, 08:24:48 am »
This looks pretty sweet thepenguin77. I'll give it a look when I have some time. I'm also seconding the two player via link suggestion. ;)

Offline JustCause

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +115/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #28 on: February 28, 2011, 10:27:59 am »
I suck at chess, so this should keep me entertained for a while. Nice work!
See you, space cowboy...

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1591
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #29 on: February 28, 2011, 06:59:04 pm »
This looks pretty sweet thepenguin77. I'll give it a look when I have some time. I'm also seconding the two player via link suggestion. ;)

I probably won't do link play because I don't see it being that necessary. It's very hard to do, especially because I would need to do USB linking. And in reality, it's not even that necessary, you could just hand your friend your calculator, especially if they are sitting close enough to use a link cable :D


I fixed the Queen side castling and I added in pawn promotion. The game also flips the board around when the black player is moving. This makes it slightly annoying to play against yourself, but it is disableable via an internal flag, which will be in the options menu.
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112