Author Topic: Chess  (Read 40537 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Chess
« Reply #90 on: March 26, 2011, 03:15:17 am »
Nice, thanks Deep :D

Offline ikemike

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 67
  • Rating: +4/-0
  • Hmm.
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #91 on: March 26, 2011, 04:41:34 pm »
Just sayin', this is nearly already the definitive chess program.

All of the following is IMO, so you know.
Sprites could be changed... If greyscale sprites are possible, they'd be great, but if you can't do that, at least change bishops and pawns. They're only two pixels apart, and it can get frustrating sometimes to tell the difference... =)
Also, I personally think the selection cursor should be third-tier greyscale, or flash faster. I've made some mistakes because I can't tell the difference between the selection cursor and the possible-moves boxes. Also, I think an option to not show possible moves should be available as well, since it's just a distraction to some...
The AI also tends to make really bad opening moves. I would recommend programming in a couple simple openings. If nothing else, have it start with king pawn or queen pawn most of the time... The game gets pretty bad when the AI starts by putting a knight on the rim. =D

Overall, absolutely great! My chess buddies'll love this.
Points made:
Greyscale sprites or Change bishops/pawns
Increase cursor flash-rate or make it third-tier greyscale
Make option to not show possible moves
Program in openings, or at least have it start with e4/e5/d4/d5.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2011, 12:52:01 pm by ikemike »
Anonymous Legend

Offline program4

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #92 on: March 27, 2011, 06:26:11 pm »
Amazing, except for some bugs and improvements:

•make an option for the cursor to not change position after the AI moves
•take care of threefold repetition/50-move rule (if it's not too hard)
•take care of stalemate
•provide the AI with an opening book and endgame database, and make it so that it tries to checkmate, since even when I try to lose, the AI checks me perpetually or stalemates me (even when there is an obvious mate in one)
•odds (show a chess board; the user can click a square to toggle whether he/she starts with that piece in the beginning or not) so that the AI can be a challenge to beat
« Last Edit: March 27, 2011, 08:23:22 pm by program4 »

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #93 on: March 27, 2011, 08:23:53 pm »
Sprites could be changed... If greyscale sprites are possible, they'd be great, but if you can't do that, at least change bishops and pawns. They're only two pixels apart, and it can get frustrating sometimes to tell the difference... =)

I agree that the bishop and pawn sprites are too close together, especially because when you highlight them, they look the same. However, I don't know what to use instead. The problem with grayscale sprites though is that it's hard to see them. The problem is that there aren't really any colors available to make the sprites with. You can't do much work with white and light gray because they are used in the board. Which only leaves dark gray and black, which depending on contrast, can look pretty similar.

Quote
Also, I personally think the selection cursor should be third-tier greyscale, or flash faster. I've made some mistakes because I can't tell the difference between the selection cursor and the possible-moves boxes. Also, I think an option to not show possible moves should be available as well, since it's just a distraction to some...

Changing the cursor isn't a bad idea, the question though would be which cursor to change, the current one or the new moves one. I'll make some changes and see which one looks better. I'll also add that option to disable the new move boxes, that's really easy.

Quote
The AI also tends to make really bad opening moves. I would recommend programming in a couple simple openings. If nothing else, have it start with king pawn or queen pawn most of the time... The game gets pretty bad when the AI starts by putting a knight on the rim. =D

For now, I'll probably leave the opening moves up to the AI. My goal is to get to the point where it figures out what to do by itself.

•make an option for the cursor to not change position after the AI moves

Ok, that's quite easy to do.

Quote
•take care of threefold repetition/50-move rule (if it's not too hard)

Those are the easy stalemates, I can do those with simple counters.

Quote
•take care of stalemate

Actually, after thinking about this. If I make a special stalemate routine, as opposed to using the AI routine to check for moves, stalemate detection shouldn't take more than .01 seconds.

Quote
•provide the AI with an opening book and endgame database, and make it so that it tries to checkmate, since even when I try to lose, the AI checks me perpetually or stalemates me (even when there is an obvious mate in one)

Again, I'm not going to do this for a while because it would be a heck of a lot easier if the AI can just figure it out.

Quote
•odds (show a chess board; the user can click a square to toggle whether he/she starts with that piece in the beginning or not)

So basically you can choose to handicap yourself? I'm not entirely sure what you mean.
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline program4

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #94 on: March 27, 2011, 08:28:02 pm »
Yeah. Basically, you play without a queen or knight (queen odds or knight odds), or without certain combinations of pieces (like 2 rooks). This could all be in the options menu.

Also, can there be an option to undo moves? Often I make a move by mistake and I can't go back and change it.

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #95 on: March 27, 2011, 08:30:36 pm »
That's one I've thought about for a long time. I'll probably add it, but it will definitely be disabled by default.
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #96 on: March 27, 2011, 11:54:19 pm »
Post Post (Double post)

I promised an update the other day, so here it is. I was going to add the whole big list up there ^^, but I figured I better get a version out considering the current one still has the dark gray background.

Changes: (I think)
-Black background
-Game stops at checkmate
-AI understands unprotected pieces
-Save As...

As with customs, a screenshot is also provided. (Screenshots make it look like progress was made :D)
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Chess
« Reply #97 on: March 28, 2011, 03:31:52 pm »
Awesome! By the way the grayscale looked perfect on my 84+. I'm amazed we now finally have grayscale that looks as great as on 68K calcs or extremly close. Back in 2004-05, most people said this would never be possible.

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #98 on: March 28, 2011, 03:37:11 pm »
Hurray, updates :D
Can't wait to see the AI improvements, no matter that I can still beat it :P
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Compynerd255

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +53/-4
  • Betafreak Games
    • View Profile
    • Betafreak Games
Re: Chess
« Reply #99 on: March 28, 2011, 07:12:38 pm »
I really wish I could test this. I only have an 83+ Black Edition.
* Compynerd255 feels poor

EDIT: Although I could probably get sweet dough by making and selling professional looking gCn hubs for people with no electronics skills.
Oh, and it would be sweet if this game was compatible with globalCALCnet. :D
« Last Edit: March 28, 2011, 07:14:49 pm by Compynerd255 »
The Slime: On Hold, preparing to add dynamic tiles

Axe Eitrix: DONE

Betafreak Games: Fun filled games for XBox and PC. Check it out at http://www.betafreak.com



Offline program4

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #100 on: March 28, 2011, 08:45:31 pm »
I played against the AI, and after 10 or so moves, after I leave the calculator for about 2 minutes without pushing a button, I try moving the cursor, but the arrow keys stop working (the cursor stops flashing also). I know the program didn't freeze, since the grayscale was still working (not black and white lines). I was forced to pull a battery. I have OS 2.43, but I don't know why this occurs.  ???

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #101 on: March 28, 2011, 09:30:02 pm »
I played against the AI, and after 10 or so moves, after I leave the calculator for about 2 minutes without pushing a button, I try moving the cursor, but the arrow keys stop working (the cursor stops flashing also). I know the program didn't freeze, since the grayscale was still working (not black and white lines). I was forced to pull a battery. I have OS 2.43, but I don't know why this occurs.  ???

Arrrrg. (Pirate) It got stuck in some endless loop inside the AI. That should not be easy to find so it might be a while before I fix it.

Edit:
   I should make a button to abort the AI.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2011, 09:30:34 pm by thepenguin77 »
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Chess
« Reply #102 on: March 28, 2011, 11:57:36 pm »
I was beaten by it for the first time today, but mostly out of stupidity <_<

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: Chess
« Reply #103 on: March 29, 2011, 12:43:08 am »
I was beaten by it for the first time today, but mostly out of stupidity <_<

Sir, you have completed a milestone. This is the first time anyone has actually been checkmated by it, which is a good thing for me ;)


Also, as for updates.
- new move squares are white and dark gray
- option to not move cursor to last AI move
- option to not show possible moves

Currently I'm working on really quick stalemate and checkmate detection. You might notice that the current version takes quite a bit of time to see if you are in checkmate.
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline c.sprinkle

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 221
  • Rating: +23/-1
  • There ain't no rest for the wicked? True indeed.
    • View Profile
    • The Corread on NationStates.
Re: Chess
« Reply #104 on: March 29, 2011, 10:44:19 am »
This is excellent! :D
I love the whole thing. This is the first AI chess game of its kind, for sure. Good luck on the updates; I can't wait for progress.