Omnimaga

Calculator Community => Other Calc-Related Projects and Ideas => TI Z80 => Topic started by: JWinslow23 on March 14, 2014, 12:04:50 pm

Title: Factorials in TI-BASIC
Post by: JWinslow23 on March 14, 2014, 12:04:50 pm
This program calculates and displays the factorial of any given integer from 1 to 171 (can calculate higher, but can't display higher  :/ ). It also shows your progress, in case it takes a while (as it does for large numbers).

Download attached.

TheCoder, I know you've been waiting for this... ;)
Title: Re: Factorials in TI-BASIC
Post by: TheCoder1998 on March 14, 2014, 02:21:14 pm
this is an awesome program :D
keep up the great work!
Title: Re: Factorials in TI-BASIC
Post by: blue_bear_94 on March 14, 2014, 05:00:54 pm
Mine can calculate (but not display) up to 999! It does it a lot faster too.
Title: Re: Factorials in TI-BASIC
Post by: TheCoder1998 on March 15, 2014, 07:34:38 am
yeah but the main idea of JWinslow23 was to make a factorial program which could display all numbers
Title: Re: Factorials in TI-BASIC
Post by: JWinslow23 on March 15, 2014, 11:00:57 am
yeah but the main idea of JWinslow23 was to make a factorial program which could display all numbers
Actually, he does have a point. :P

Maybe your algorithm and my display routine can go together....
Title: Re: Factorials in TI-BASIC
Post by: blue_bear_94 on March 15, 2014, 11:24:55 am
One problem: How did you display 171! if it didn't fit on the screen?
Title: Re: Factorials in TI-BASIC
Post by: JWinslow23 on March 15, 2014, 11:28:41 am
One problem: How did you display 171! if it didn't fit on the screen?
I squished the numbers together, like this:
(http://i.imgur.com/cWDDowp.gif)
(that is 135!, BTW)
Title: Re: Factorials in TI-BASIC
Post by: blue_bear_94 on March 15, 2014, 11:52:34 am
One problem: How did you display 171! if it didn't fit on the screen?
I squished the numbers together, like this:
(http://i.imgur.com/cWDDowp.gif)
(that is 135!, BTW)
That's an original idea, but it makes the digits hard to read.
Title: Re: Factorials in TI-BASIC
Post by: JWinslow23 on March 15, 2014, 12:09:35 pm
One problem: How did you display 171! if it didn't fit on the screen?
I squished the numbers together, like this:
(http://i.imgur.com/cWDDowp.gif)
(that is 135!, BTW)
That's an original idea, but it makes the digits hard to read.
Yes, but YOU try to display 310 digits on one screen at one time any other way. :P
Maybe I'll make a custom font thing...
Title: Re: Factorials in TI-BASIC
Post by: blue_bear_94 on March 15, 2014, 12:13:08 pm
One problem: How did you display 171! if it didn't fit on the screen?
I squished the numbers together, like this:
(http://i.imgur.com/cWDDowp.gif)
(that is 135!, BTW)
That's an original idea, but it makes the digits hard to read.
Yes, but YOU try to display 310 digits on one screen at one time any other way. :P
Maybe I'll make a custom font thing...
The challenge asked to display only up to 135!
Title: Re: Factorials in TI-BASIC
Post by: JWinslow23 on March 15, 2014, 12:29:22 pm
One problem: How did you display 171! if it didn't fit on the screen?
I squished the numbers together, like this:
(http://i.imgur.com/cWDDowp.gif)
(that is 135!, BTW)
That's an original idea, but it makes the digits hard to read.
Yes, but YOU try to display 310 digits on one screen at one time any other way. :P
Maybe I'll make a custom font thing...
The challenge asked to display only up to 135!
And regularly, only up to 134! could be displayed. That was my workaround. :P
Title: Re: Factorials in TI-BASIC
Post by: blue_bear_94 on March 15, 2014, 01:05:48 pm
Maybe it was a mistake in the prompt.
Title: Re: Factorials in TI-BASIC
Post by: Xeda112358 on March 15, 2014, 01:06:42 pm
I once had it on the graphscreen. I ended up putting it on the homescreen letting the user scroll through it a few lines at a time.