Author Topic: Illusiat 11 CSE Port  (Read 10581 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Illusiat 11 CSE Port
« Reply #45 on: June 05, 2014, 02:33:58 pm »
Even on older models (only tried on 15MHz calcs, I don't have a be and don't want one either) it is very slow to display the maps and thus annoying.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Illusiat 11 CSE Port
« Reply #46 on: June 05, 2014, 03:26:53 pm »
Oh I think he meant how the HUD is redrawn everytime the map is. Hence why we suggest only erasing parts of the screen that need to be modified.

Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: Illusiat 11 CSE Port
« Reply #47 on: June 05, 2014, 04:50:12 pm »
I'm not sure if it's helpful to say this, but that's what I did for Source Seekers. I used a For(X command next to an Output(X,2,"                        " (or store that into a string, like what I did) to erase everything onscreen except for the border.

Offline chickendude

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +90/-1
  • Pro-Riot Squad
    • View Profile
Re: Illusiat 11 CSE Port
« Reply #48 on: June 05, 2014, 06:44:12 pm »
You don't even need to erase it, though, since Output( should overwrite what was there. So you can just draw the new map over top the old one and avoid the ClrHome and outputting spaces.

Offline 123outerme

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 458
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Self-unpaid intern
    • View Profile
Re: Illusiat 11 CSE Port
« Reply #49 on: June 05, 2014, 07:59:37 pm »
You don't even need to erase it, though, since Output( should overwrite what was there. So you can just draw the new map over top the old one and avoid the ClrHome and outputting spaces.
Yeah, that's what I meant :P

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Illusiat 11 CSE Port
« Reply #50 on: June 05, 2014, 11:26:11 pm »
You don't even need to erase it, though, since Output( should overwrite what was there. So you can just draw the new map over top the old one and avoid the ClrHome and outputting spaces.
In Illusiat 11 case, though, I think it's best to erase the map before redrawing the next one, because back in the days I tried not doing that and it looked confusing during map transitions for the player, especially when two maps looked identical.

Offline chickendude

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +90/-1
  • Pro-Riot Squad
    • View Profile
Re: Illusiat 11 CSE Port
« Reply #51 on: June 06, 2014, 06:23:42 am »
That's true, though i think seeing that the player's changed position would indicate that you've changed to a different screen. Really the idea is just to reduce loading times between screens a little.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Illusiat 11 CSE Port
« Reply #52 on: June 06, 2014, 12:25:55 pm »
Yeah on the CSE with the slow display it matters, but on the monochrome calcs the impact on speed is zero to none. ;)

Offline Hexatron

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Illusiat 11 CSE Port
« Reply #53 on: June 06, 2014, 01:23:36 pm »
Right now, it doesn't overwrite the entire screen anymore like before, but it does replace the 8*16 area with whitespace before drawing the next map, it's just too confusing to do it any other way.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Illusiat 11 CSE Port
« Reply #54 on: June 06, 2014, 06:16:53 pm »
Yeah I agree. Trust me I tried in 2002 lol. It works better when maps display in one or two seconds.

Also btw don't be afraid of using the same color for the floor and objects whenever other options make maps look ugly.

EDIT: Btw the new version of xLIBC fixes the Output() glitch with drawing commands so you probably won't need your ASM program anymore.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2014, 11:31:42 am by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Illusiat 11 CSE Port
« Reply #55 on: June 19, 2014, 06:11:21 pm »
I know this is probably not gonna be implemented since the game uses pictures for map data, but I thought it would be cool to see how parts of the game could look like if the map engine was more complex, such as using two pictures at once for maps or Illusiat 13-style data:




Offline Hexatron

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Illusiat 11 CSE Port
« Reply #56 on: June 19, 2014, 06:13:15 pm »
I know this is probably not gonna be implemented since the game uses pictures for map data, but I thought it would be cool to see how parts of the game could look like if the map engine was more complex, such as using two pictures at once for maps or Illusiat 13-style data:




If I still have the full 6 pic vars, I could, in theory, add two clones of the map to each image for an effect like this. It would be pretty cool :P

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Illusiat 11 CSE Port
« Reply #57 on: June 19, 2014, 06:14:18 pm »
Yeah at first I suggested merging multiple map pics into one to save space because one pic is over 21 KB large, but I guess you could take advantage of pics for such effects too.