Omnimaga

Calculator Community => Other Calc-Related Projects and Ideas => TI Z80 => Topic started by: stevon8ter on May 24, 2012, 05:58:51 pm

Title: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: stevon8ter on May 24, 2012, 05:58:51 pm
Ok, i'm working on a project were you can turn LEDs (pixels) on and off, also set a time day for that "turn"
When you press 2nd it saves your leds and delays in lists, when you press enter it will "animate" your leds turn by turn after the chosen delays, so then you can see the "LEDs" moving, for now there are 5 leds but i'll try to make around 150 LEDs so you can also display ascii, if you "program the LEDs" correct you can make it look like the text is moving of the screen

Eventually there will be extra functions such as infinite loops or number-chosen-loops. And also reverse

Comments?
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: shmibs on May 25, 2012, 01:45:32 am
wat?

an LED is a Light-Emitting Diode. it is a semiconductor that glows when a current runs through it.
an LCD is a Liquid Crystal Display. the way these work is a bit more complicated, but you should look it up if you have the time.
on an LCD, a pixel comprises a single cell in a dot matrix that makes up the screen.

Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: Darl181 on May 25, 2012, 02:02:37 am
Do you mean using pixels to imitate a seven-segment display (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/97/7-segments_Indicator.gif) (link is an image)?  Or a bunch of them?
What exactly do you mean by moving?
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: Keoni29 on May 25, 2012, 04:17:53 am
Pictures pictures pictures!
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: Jim Bauwens on May 25, 2012, 04:19:37 am
It sounds like he is trying to make a led matrix that he will control.
Each led will act like a pixel eventually, and he will try to show text on the matrix.
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: aeTIos on May 25, 2012, 04:34:31 am
sounds pretty hard to accomplish <_<
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: Keoni29 on May 25, 2012, 04:55:56 am
Or he wants to draw LEDS on the screen :/
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: stevon8ter on May 25, 2012, 06:11:44 am
Ok guys, it's like this, sorry if it was confusing:
Instead of leds who emit light, it would "emit pixels" 1 led= 3*3 pixels. Now i allready have 5 "leds" and and you can do: set which leds you want to "light up" and time they have to stay, then you select for the other turns you want, and if you choose "go" then it will "light up" the first turn and after the selected time it will clear screen and "light up" the other turn, so you can make a sequence of "leds

If one of you is interested, tell me, then i'll try to place a beta on here, so you can see what it actually is, it's not a cool game or so but if i develop it any further it can be used as a screensaver or maybe something else
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: shmibs on May 25, 2012, 12:27:50 pm
are you talking about making a matrix of LED's, like this, and controlling it with your calculator?
(http://www.plasmaled.com/images/sign6.jpg)

or are you talking about setting and resetting pixels on the calculator's built-in LCD?


and is english not your native language? if not, there are people here to speak french, spanish, german, and even a few who speak korean, chinese, and portuguese, i think. just go ahead and write in whatever you're most comfortable with and see if someone else recognises it.
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: stevon8ter on May 25, 2012, 12:36:45 pm
Ok, i'm dutch, but i'll try to make a pic or a gif
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: Nick on May 25, 2012, 12:52:48 pm
als je beter je plan kunt trekken in het nederlands, jimbauwens, stefanbauwens en ik spreken nederlands, dus als je er niet aan uit raakt in het engels mag je het altijd vragen :)

and yeah, a pic would be useful, but schmibs he already explained: a "led" is just a block of pixels on the screen of 3*3 px, so not an actual led :)
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: stevon8ter on May 25, 2012, 01:01:06 pm
Yeah

Kan je ze ook uitleggen dat er nu 5 pixelsblokken zijn? En f1 zet de eerste aan, f2 de 2de,...
Dan met + en - stel je in hoelang deze op het scherm moeten, met 2nd ga je naar het volgende scherm en stel je weer een serie leds in, en als je dan uiteindelijk genoe ebt druk je op enter en gaat hij de door jouw gekozen volgorde van "leds" weergeven op et scherm voor de tijd dat je hebt gekozen (opgelet, tijd is niet in seconden ofzo)

I'll try to finish a good first beta and set it on here

It's like a row of 5 blocks, you could also make this with binary, 00001 makes right block display, 11111 makes them all displayed...
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: Nick on May 25, 2012, 02:54:17 pm
Kan je ze ook uitleggen dat er nu 5 pixelsblokken zijn? En f1 zet de eerste aan, f2 de 2de,...
Dan met + en - stel je in hoelang deze op het scherm moeten, met 2nd ga je naar het volgende scherm en stel je weer een serie leds in, en als je dan uiteindelijk genoe ebt druk je op enter en gaat hij de door jouw gekozen volgorde van "leds" weergeven op et scherm voor de tijd dat je hebt gekozen (opgelet, tijd is niet in seconden ofzo)

1 led is now 5*5 px instead of 3*3 px
you can toggle each 'led' by pressing the appropriate F-button ([F1] for led 1, [F2] for led 2 etc)
With [ +] and [-] you can set how long the selected led has to light up (not in seconds, but in loops i think)
when pressing [2nd],  a new screen appears (with 5 new leds) which they can be adjusted in the same way
if you finally have enough 'leds' you can press [enter], which confirms the used settings and runs the program from the beginning.



Now my questions:
F1, F2 etc are the [Y=], [window] etc buttons i suppose?
how many different sets of leds will be able to be set?
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: stevon8ter on May 25, 2012, 04:10:45 pm
Yes, if i preset list 1 to 999 0's, then it will be 999/5 = 199 "turns" + there will be an infinite loop chose and an number-loop chose
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: stevon8ter on May 26, 2012, 01:35:54 pm
Ok, i have my beta version completed, only problem is that i'm not going to be able to post it for some time

The only things i'm possible of doing right now are: sending photo's raken with my ipod to one of your emails, sending movies from my ipod to your mails, or inputting the whole code here so you can all read/make the program yorself and maybe post it here

But i'll only do that when requested
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: Nick on May 26, 2012, 02:21:35 pm
you can just transfer it to the pc, op it with the TIProgramEditor and copy/paste it..
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: stevon8ter on May 26, 2012, 02:26:02 pm
I know, but i don't have acces to my pc for a long time, during the exams i can't go on it, and those are soon, right now i have to help my dad a lot in the house, and we're on holiday the first 3 weeks of july, so several possibilities: 1) i can post it tommorow/monday. 2) i can post it next week. 3) i can post it within 3weeks. 4) i can post it in august :(

1 has only 20 % change
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: stevon8ter on May 27, 2012, 01:26:28 pm
first beta
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: Nick on May 27, 2012, 01:37:34 pm
hmm, seems like it's not working as it should.. i don't see any led on the screen, and nothing happens when i press F1/F2 etc

also the looping gives an error because of

Code: [Select]
rand(L2(D

(http://img.removedfromgame.com/imgs/leds.gif)
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: stevon8ter on May 27, 2012, 02:02:19 pm
Hmm, stange, i'll look another time and maybe oter people could test it and see what it says?

Ps: can you post a screenie from begin till error so i can see what happens?
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: Sorunome on May 28, 2012, 05:51:24 am
It probably gives error domain because L2 isn't long enough or D is to large.
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: stevon8ter on May 28, 2012, 07:07:34 am
But here it works, i've set every variable on the right possition so i wouldn't have the error
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: Sorunome on May 28, 2012, 07:13:05 am
But it does give an error...
Maybe you forgot to set a variable but it works on your calc as you set it manually?
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: stevon8ter on May 28, 2012, 07:29:33 am
Ok, i know the error, i didn't set my graph vars, that's why you can't see the "LEDS" and for the error: you first have to sellect your leds for the frst turn and you have to press [2nd] to set the next turn, you have to press [2nd] at least once before pressing enter

So extra code you should add in the first lines of the prog
Code: [Select]
ClrDraw
AxesOff
0->Xmin
0->Ymin
94->Xmax
62->Ymax
Rest of code...

And when you get to the loop screen: 1 = infinite loop. 2 = input loopnumber. 3 = nothing

It was still in dutch :P
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: Sorunome on May 28, 2012, 07:34:51 am
hm....
still gives the error :/
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: stevon8ter on May 28, 2012, 08:28:46 am
Hm, that's stange, i'll take a look at it and i'll try to solve it asap
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: stevon8ter on May 28, 2012, 04:19:21 pm
Can you copy-paste the prog code here? Then i can look if i posted the wrong version? And tell me, if you start the prog, how much pixels are the LED"boxes"?
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: Sorunome on May 28, 2012, 04:20:43 pm
Spoiler For Spoiler:
Code: [Select]
:SetUpEditor L1,L2
:DelVar L1DelVar L2
:Lbl 1
:ClrHome
:ClrDraw
:Line(9,34,9,28
:Line(15,34,15,28
:Line(9,34,15,34
:Line(9,28,15,28
:Line(26,34,26,28
:Line(32,34,32,28
:Line(26,34,32,34
:Line(26,28,32,28
:Line(43,34,43,28
:Line(49,34,49,28
:Line(43,34,49,34
:Line(43,28,49,28
:Line(60,34,60,28
:Line(66,34,66,28
:Line(60,34,66,34
:Line(60,28,66,28
:Line(77,34,77,28
:Line(83,34,83,28
:Line(77,34,83,34
:Line(77,28,83,28
:999→dim(L1
:{0→L2
:15→T
:1→X
:0→D
:StorePic 1
:Pause
:Lbl 2
:getKey→K
:If K=11
:Then
:X→Y
:12→A
:If L1(X)=0
:Then
:1→L1(X
:Else
:0→L1(X
:End
:End
:If K=12
:Then
:X+1→Y
:29→A
:If L1(X+1)=0
:Then
:1→L1(X+1
:Else
:0→L1(X+1
:End
:End
:If K=13
:Then
:X+2→Y
:46→A
:If L1(X+2)=0
:Then
:1→L1(X+2
:Else
:0→L1(X+2
:End
:End
:If K=14
:Then
:X+3→Y
:63→A
:If L1(X+3)=0
:Then
:1→L1(X+3
:Else
:0→L1(X+3
:End
:End
:If K=15
:Then
:X+4→Y
:80→A
:If L1(X+4)=0
:Then
:1→L1(X+4
:Else
:0→L1(X+4
:End
:End
:If K=21
:Goto 3
:If K=105
:Goto 4
:If K=85 and T>15
:T-15→T
:If K=95 and T<135
:T+15→T
:If K=11 or K=12 or K=13 or K=14 or K=15
:Then
:If L1(Y)=0
:Then
:Pt-Off(A,31
:Pt-Off(A,31,2
:Else
:Pt-On(A,31
:Pt-On(A,31,2
:End
:End
:Text(1,1,T/15
:Text(1,10,"<- DELAY
:If K=45
:Stop
:Goto 2
:Lbl 3
:D+1→D
:T→L2(D
:X+5→X
:ClrDraw
:RecallPic 1
:Goto 2
:Lbl 4
:ClrDraw
:0→A
:‾4→Z
:0→D
:Text(10,27,"ETRA OPTIES:
:Text(25,18,"1) ONEINDIGE LOOP
:Text(32,18,"2) AANTAL-LOOP
:Text(39,18,"3) NIETS
:Lbl 7
:getKey→K
:If K=92
:1→C
:If K=93
:2→C
:If K=94
:3→C
:If K=92 or K=93 or K=94
:Goto 6
:Goto 7
:Lbl 6
:If C=2
:Input "AANTAL: ",B
:Lbl 5
:If C=1
:A+5→B
:A+1→A
:D+1→D
:ClrDraw
:RecallPic 1
:Z+5→Z
:If L1(Z)=1
:Then
:Pt-On(12,31,2
:Pt-On(12,31
:End
:If L1(Z+1)=1
:Then
:Pt-On(29,31,2
:Pt-On(29,31
:End
:If L1(Z+2)=1
:Then
:Pt-On(46,31,2
:Pt-On(46,31
:End
:If L1(Z+3)=1
:Then
:Pt-On(63,31
:Pt-On(63,31,2
:End
:If L1(Z+4)=1
:Then
:Pt-On(80,31,2
:Pt-On(80,31
:End
:rand(L2(D
:If D=dim(L2
:Then
:‾4→Z
:0→D
:End
:If A/dim(L2)=B
:Stop
:Goto 5
Generated by [url=http://sc.cemetech.net]SourceCoder[/url], © 2005-2012 [url=http://www.cemetech.net]Cemetech[/url]
Title: Re: LEDs on the ti 83+ and ti 84+
Post by: stevon8ter on May 28, 2012, 04:29:48 pm
Hm, normally it should work fine, if i reset my ram and run the program it is fine

Hm, very strange