Omnimaga

Calculator Community => Other Calc-Related Projects and Ideas => TI Z80 => Topic started by: turiqwalrus on March 28, 2011, 10:30:03 pm

Title: Metronome
Post by: turiqwalrus on March 28, 2011, 10:30:03 pm
meh... I was bored, so I made a metronome with axe. First input the speed(60=1 beat per second), then it will invert the screen on every beat.
AXEMETRO is the source, and MTRONOME is the compiled version

if someone could make screenshots or something?
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: leafy on March 28, 2011, 10:48:50 pm
Just wondering, how accurate is it? Is it based on the watch battery?
This would be interesting, since I would never forget to bring it around >.<
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: SirCmpwn on March 28, 2011, 10:50:04 pm
I have a whole sheet music viewing/editing program in progress on my calculator, it's just very, very slow going.  I should look into adding this.
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: turiqwalrus on March 28, 2011, 10:56:48 pm
could be optimized a lot, though. I can think of an optimization already, anyway, it uses the pause command, combined with a formula, to figure out how long the pause will be. It seems to be pretty much accurate when checked with a metronome. Also, for the sake of accuracy, how many milliseconds does
RectI(0,0,96,64)
DispGraph
take?
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: Happybobjr on March 28, 2011, 10:58:19 pm
Just wondering, how accurate is it? Is it based on the watch battery?
This would be interesting, since I would never forget to bring it around >.<

I would assume he counted the cycles in his code./me requests verification.
/me loves the "/me" command. (.emag eht srehto gnikam dna)

edit: ninja'd
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: leafy on March 28, 2011, 11:06:04 pm
But not all calcs are created equal in terms of speed, so cycles would be not that reliable?
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: Happybobjr on March 28, 2011, 11:07:37 pm
It would be the most reliable method though, because that amount is constant.
methinks I am right.
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: SirCmpwn on March 28, 2011, 11:08:35 pm
Well, it isn't too big of a deal if you're playing alone, and if you're playing in a group, you really should be following the conductor anyway.  I think it's a good tool.
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: leafy on March 28, 2011, 11:09:10 pm
Sir what orchestra are you in?
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: SirCmpwn on March 28, 2011, 11:09:41 pm
Sir what orchestra are you in?
Not orchestra, Advanced Wind Ensemble and Advanced Jazz Ensemble.  There are about four string players at my school.
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: leafy on March 28, 2011, 11:10:51 pm
Oh lol not bad.
could be optimized a lot, though. I can think of an optimization already, anyway, it uses the pause command, combined with a formula, to figure out how long the pause will be. It seems to be pretty much accurate when checked with a metronome. Also, for the sake of accuracy, how many milliseconds does
RectI(0,0,96,64)
DispGraph
take?

Not enough to matter, I'm guessing. A couple hundredths of a second.
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: turiqwalrus on March 29, 2011, 07:36:43 am
so about the equivalent of pause 10 or 20
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 22, 2011, 09:17:57 pm
Yeah the issue is that not every calc run at the same speed. I think 83+SEs even run ASM programs about 10% slower than TI-83+s. THe only real accurate way to do it would be to use the 84+ clock, but then your program wouldn't run on older calc models. It can be useful, though, if the inaccuracy isn't too big.
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: JosJuice on April 24, 2011, 02:50:12 pm
Yeah the issue is that not every calc run at the same speed. I think 83+SEs even run ASM programs about 10% slower than TI-83+s. THe only real accurate way to do it would be to use the 84+ clock, but then your program wouldn't run on older calc models. It can be useful, though, if the inaccuracy isn't too big.
The 84+ RTC clock is terrible for timing, because it only reports seconds. The crystal timers of the 83+SE/84+(SE), however, are great for timing, but I don't think Axe supports those...
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: ZippyDee on April 24, 2011, 02:52:31 pm
I haven't actually checked out the program yet (I don't have a link cable with me), but if it doesn't already support a tap-tempo feature, that could be a useful addition. That feature also means you don't have to worry about speed differences between calculators.
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: Munchor on April 24, 2011, 02:53:22 pm
Hey! I made a screenshot of it, so everybody can see it :D

(http://img.removedfromgame.com/imgs/MTRONOME_SCREENSHOT.gif)
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: turiqwalrus on April 24, 2011, 03:21:20 pm
thanks :D
I won't be updating this much, but I will add a clrdraw at the beginning, maybe(if I can get some data with other calcs) ask for the version of calculator and configure it that way for more accuracy :)
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 24, 2011, 03:38:18 pm
Yeah the issue is that not every calc run at the same speed. I think 83+SEs even run ASM programs about 10% slower than TI-83+s. THe only real accurate way to do it would be to use the 84+ clock, but then your program wouldn't run on older calc models. It can be useful, though, if the inaccuracy isn't too big.
The 84+ RTC clock is terrible for timing, because it only reports seconds. The crystal timers of the 83+SE/84+(SE), however, are great for timing, but I don't think Axe supports those...
Weird I thought the clock was at least accurate?  ??? To me it seemed to be when I checked ???
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: Munchor on April 25, 2011, 06:46:22 am
Of we speed up to 15 mhz, Thereza speed changes too.
Title: Re: Metronome
Post by: ralphdspam on April 26, 2011, 08:52:33 pm
Nice program! :)

The inconsistency in speed among the calculators is the only problem you would have.  It shouldn't be much of problem because you are playing on your own anyways. ;)