Author Topic: Metronome  (Read 4086 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline turiqwalrus

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 840
  • Rating: +51/-2
  • Wheeeeeee~!
    • View Profile
Metronome
« on: March 28, 2011, 10:30:03 pm »
meh... I was bored, so I made a metronome with axe. First input the speed(60=1 beat per second), then it will invert the screen on every beat.
AXEMETRO is the source, and MTRONOME is the compiled version

if someone could make screenshots or something?
« Last Edit: March 28, 2011, 10:30:37 pm by turiqwalrus »

Offline leafy

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1554
  • Rating: +475/-97
  • Seizon senryakuuuu!
    • View Profile
    • keff.me
Re: Metronome
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2011, 10:48:50 pm »
Just wondering, how accurate is it? Is it based on the watch battery?
This would be interesting, since I would never forget to bring it around >.<
In-progress: Graviter (...)

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Metronome
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2011, 10:50:04 pm »
I have a whole sheet music viewing/editing program in progress on my calculator, it's just very, very slow going.  I should look into adding this.

Offline turiqwalrus

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 840
  • Rating: +51/-2
  • Wheeeeeee~!
    • View Profile
Re: Metronome
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2011, 10:56:48 pm »
could be optimized a lot, though. I can think of an optimization already, anyway, it uses the pause command, combined with a formula, to figure out how long the pause will be. It seems to be pretty much accurate when checked with a metronome. Also, for the sake of accuracy, how many milliseconds does
RectI(0,0,96,64)
DispGraph
take?

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: Metronome
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2011, 10:58:19 pm »
Just wondering, how accurate is it? Is it based on the watch battery?
This would be interesting, since I would never forget to bring it around >.<

I would assume he counted the cycles in his code.
* Happybobjr requests verification.
* Happybobjr loves the "/me" command. (.emag eht srehto gnikam dna)

edit: ninja'd
« Last Edit: March 28, 2011, 10:59:29 pm by Happybobjr »
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

Offline leafy

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1554
  • Rating: +475/-97
  • Seizon senryakuuuu!
    • View Profile
    • keff.me
Re: Metronome
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2011, 11:06:04 pm »
But not all calcs are created equal in terms of speed, so cycles would be not that reliable?
In-progress: Graviter (...)

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: Metronome
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2011, 11:07:37 pm »
It would be the most reliable method though, because that amount is constant.
methinks I am right.
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Metronome
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2011, 11:08:35 pm »
Well, it isn't too big of a deal if you're playing alone, and if you're playing in a group, you really should be following the conductor anyway.  I think it's a good tool.

Offline leafy

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1554
  • Rating: +475/-97
  • Seizon senryakuuuu!
    • View Profile
    • keff.me
Re: Metronome
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2011, 11:09:10 pm »
Sir what orchestra are you in?
In-progress: Graviter (...)

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Metronome
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2011, 11:09:41 pm »
Sir what orchestra are you in?
Not orchestra, Advanced Wind Ensemble and Advanced Jazz Ensemble.  There are about four string players at my school.

Offline leafy

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1554
  • Rating: +475/-97
  • Seizon senryakuuuu!
    • View Profile
    • keff.me
Re: Metronome
« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2011, 11:10:51 pm »
Oh lol not bad.
could be optimized a lot, though. I can think of an optimization already, anyway, it uses the pause command, combined with a formula, to figure out how long the pause will be. It seems to be pretty much accurate when checked with a metronome. Also, for the sake of accuracy, how many milliseconds does
RectI(0,0,96,64)
DispGraph
take?

Not enough to matter, I'm guessing. A couple hundredths of a second.
In-progress: Graviter (...)

Offline turiqwalrus

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 840
  • Rating: +51/-2
  • Wheeeeeee~!
    • View Profile
Re: Metronome
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2011, 07:36:43 am »
so about the equivalent of pause 10 or 20

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Metronome
« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2011, 09:17:57 pm »
Yeah the issue is that not every calc run at the same speed. I think 83+SEs even run ASM programs about 10% slower than TI-83+s. THe only real accurate way to do it would be to use the 84+ clock, but then your program wouldn't run on older calc models. It can be useful, though, if the inaccuracy isn't too big.

Offline JosJuice

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1344
  • Rating: +66/-14
    • View Profile
Re: Metronome
« Reply #13 on: April 24, 2011, 02:50:12 pm »
Yeah the issue is that not every calc run at the same speed. I think 83+SEs even run ASM programs about 10% slower than TI-83+s. THe only real accurate way to do it would be to use the 84+ clock, but then your program wouldn't run on older calc models. It can be useful, though, if the inaccuracy isn't too big.
The 84+ RTC clock is terrible for timing, because it only reports seconds. The crystal timers of the 83+SE/84+(SE), however, are great for timing, but I don't think Axe supports those...

Offline ZippyDee

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 729
  • Rating: +83/-8
  • Why not zoidberg?
    • View Profile
Re: Metronome
« Reply #14 on: April 24, 2011, 02:52:31 pm »
I haven't actually checked out the program yet (I don't have a link cable with me), but if it doesn't already support a tap-tempo feature, that could be a useful addition. That feature also means you don't have to worry about speed differences between calculators.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2011, 02:53:47 pm by ZippyDee »
There's something about Tuesday...


Pushpins 'n' stuff...