Omnimaga
Calculator Community => Other Calc-Related Projects and Ideas => TI Z80 => Topic started by: holmes221b on June 16, 2010, 11:35:35 am
-
I only joined yesterday, but I've already got two programs in the works, both of which are (probably) going to be completely written in TI-Basic.
The first is Multitab 83+. It is a math program that will allow the user to (quickly) look up the multiplication table on their TI-83+. Currently, all I've got is the name and a (very) rough idea of how the program will work. I've not seen anything like this before, at least for the TI-83+.
DONE!
The second is Chemitab 83+. It is a science program that will allow the user to look up most any element on the periodic table of the elements on their TI-83+. Currently, all I've got is the name and an extremely rough idea of how the program will work. I've seen similar programs to this idea, but the only one that was completely written in Basic that I was able to find used a pic for the table, which prevented me from being able to successfully install the program by hand into my calculator (I don't own a link cable), which in turn has motivated me to create my own periodic table look-up program for the TI-83+.
Version 2.0 coming January 2011
Updates
December 9, 2010 -- Both projects have been temporarily abandoned due to accidentally reseting my calculator's memory and losing all of the coding I had thus far done on these programs.
December 14, 2010 -- Chemitab officially on hold until June 2011; First release of Multitab code for peer review
December 15, 2010 -- Second release of Multitab for peer review
December 17, 2010 -- Multitab 83+ version 1.0 completed.
December 19, 2010 -- Chemitab 83+ version 1.0 completed.
December 28, 2010 -- Chemitab 83+ version 2.0 completed.
-
These sound cool. Good luck with both! ;D
-
Interesting.
I don't really see the point of Multitab, though. If you're holding a calculator....then why need a multiplication table?
Also, how will Chemitab take input? If it's just a periodic table...then there are apps (specifically Elements 3.0) that do it as well
i suppose it would make a great programming excercise, but overall, not too useful...:P
-
Her goal w/Chemitab was to make a periodic table in pure basic w/o any pics. She doesn't have a link cable... so, yeah.
Maybe she could explain Multitab more?
-
I think Multitab is to quiclky view all possible results of basic multiplications at once, to not have to calculate them manually one by one. Maybe I am wrong, though.
Also the Chemitab idea is awesome. Just as an head up: there was an official one in Flash APP format by Texas Instruments back in 1999-2001 too. However, it was a paid app that couldn't be sent from one calc to another. I don't know if it's still available anywhere anymore (it used to come with 83+SE calcs). It's nice to see a new one that is both pic-free and freeware.
-
(I don't own a link cable)
Ah. Missed the implications of this. Also forgot that the 83+ series don't come with the Periodic app preloaded. Also forgot that the 83+ doesn't have the USB connection (lost my link cable a few months back, now I just use my digital camera cable lol) Looking back on my post, i see I was a little brusque. Apologies, and good luck!
-
I think Multitab is to quickly view all possible results of basic multiplications at once, to not have to calculate them manually one by one. Maybe I am wrong, though.
No, you've got it exactly right, DJ.
*points to gender symbol to the left of the post* I'm a girl, by the way, calcdude.
I've got the basic framework of the program worked out for Multitab, currently the biggest challenge with the code itself that I am facing is the table output.
-
Sorry about that. Edited.
-
I think Multitab is to quickly view all possible results of basic multiplications at once, to not have to calculate them manually one by one. Maybe I am wrong, though.
No, you've got it exactly right, DJ.
*points to gender symbol to the left of the post* I'm a girl, by the way, calcdude.
I've got the basic framework of the program worked out for Multitab, currently the biggest challenge with the code itself that I am facing is the table output.
I think it was your name that made him think you're a guy (Holmes and McCoy both being guys).
As for your programs I think they sound neat. I can only think of a couple issues with Multitab 83+ (at least with the idea of how I would do it): Once you get into bigger numbers (really anything more than a couple tokens wide) you will have to figure out a way to increase the width of the boxes.
With Chemitab 83+ I honestly think the hardest part will be getting a good system for calling the elements and such. Drawing the table and and selection shouldn't be that hard to accomplish.
-
@holmes: WHAATTT? A girl has appeared with an interest in calculators whose boyfriend is not on the same forum? :D
-
Raylin, no being sexist :P (btw, that should be "whose", not "who's")
Personally, the more people the better is my opinion on the matter.
-
lol @ calcdude's first line. (The who's/whose part) :P
As for the token's are too wide problem, I recommend storing the table to [A] and then using Pause [A] to display the table. :)
-
@calc: Fixed.
-
lol @ calcdude's first line. (The who's/whose part) :P
As for the token's are too wide problem, I recommend storing the table to [A] and then using Pause [A] to display the table. :)
Well I more meant like if she is planning on putting lines between everything.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█1█2█3█4█5░█
████████████
█6█7█8█9█10█
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10
Obviously these aren't multiplication tables but hopefully you get what I mean by it can get tricky.
-
@holmes: WHAATTT? A girl has appeared with an interest in calculators whose boyfriend is not on the same forum? :D
This is pretty common in the TI community, except more on TI-BANK forum. :P
Anyway good luck on those projects ^^
-
Whoa a Girl!???, anyways yessss Hopefully you can problem solve your way through the projects xD, the Forums are always here to help.
-
Btw Holmes221b don't worry too much about people being a bit surprised on the forums. It's because so far only 5 girls signed up on the forums in 2 years and none of them are doing calculator programming (unless I am wrong about Eeems' gf) and out of 400 members, that is not a lot. It's nice to see some girls interested into calculator programming. I feel hobbies shouldn't always be reserved to specific people in particular :)
-
So, did we scare the girl away by making her feel like she's a curiosity rather than a real programmer? Holmes, are you coming back? :)
-
I hope not -.-
I hope she stays on the forums (and code)
Maybe just busy, though
-
We didn't scare her away, right? (I feel bad if we did...)
Yeah, nobody should be scared off of the forums. Come back! :)
Well, we'll see sooner or later, I guess..
-
More like I was completely mortified that I had managed to reset my calculator's memory the way I did.
Lesson learned--Never deliberately code your calculator to crash when you haven't properly backed up the programs you're working on at the time.
-
welcome back!
-
More like I was completely mortified that I had managed to reset my calculator's memory the way I did.
Lesson learned--Never deliberately code your calculator to crash when you haven't properly backed up the programs you're working on at the time.
Welcome back! :)
And what did you do, exactly? Was it more than just a RAM clear?
-
Hey Welcome back Holmes! Did you try running some random assembly hex or accidentally the entire OS? It sucks that you lost progress, though...
Another thing: When backing up, it's a good idea to copy them on a computer and flash drive, too, in case your calc archive corrupted. Also it's possible to crash a calculator with no assembly.
-
I pressed the wrong combination of buttons (I don't remember now which ones, though).
Needless to say, I don't write the backup copies of my programs on loose leaf paper any more, though (I don't have a link cable, so I have to get creative with backing up stuff on my calc).
-
Oh, I see, now. That can make things a bit harder. :/
-
Also the Chemitab idea is awesome. Just as an head up: there was an official one in Flash APP format by Texas Instruments back in 1999-2001 too. However, it was a paid app that couldn't be sent from one calc to another. I don't know if it's still available anywhere anymore (it used to come with 83+SE calcs). It's nice to see a new one that is both pic-free and freeware.
Wait it can't be sent from calc to calc? But I got it and sent it around just fine last year.
-
(I don't own a link cable)
Hate it when I'm in that situation :(
Anyway, good luck on these. Is Chemitab a periodic table with a look-up function (to jump to an element)?
I pressed the wrong combination of buttons (I don't remember now which ones, though).
How? Do you program ASM too, or did you just try one of the ON+ reset combos?
-
@holmes: WHAATTT? A girl has appeared with an interest in calculators whose boyfriend is not on the same forum? :D
hoo-ah, just in time too for the romantic period of the omnimaga's year end party of add word. and .the_game files threads!
and, good luck with your projects too of course ;)
sounds great! how exactly does the multitab one work though? I don't think I understood completely, does it come up with a picture of a multiplication table starting at a given point defined by the user?
-
(I don't own a link cable)
Hate it when I'm in that situation :(
Anyway, good luck on these. Is Chemitab a periodic table with a look-up function (to jump to an element)?
I pressed the wrong combination of buttons (I don't remember now which ones, though).
How? Do you program ASM too, or did you just try one of the ON+ reset combos?
Maybe she triggered one of those TI-OS glitches or she tried a key combination by guess that happened to be 2nd, +, 7, <, ENTER then 2. (Full mem reset). Maybe she changed batteries and pressed ON+DEL, though.@holmes: WHAATTT? A girl has appeared with an interest in calculators whose boyfriend is not on the same forum? :D
hoo-ah, just in time too for the romantic period of the omnimaga's year end party of add word. and .the_game files threads!
Not really, as that post was several months old. :P
-
Is Chemitab a periodic table with a look-up function (to jump to an element)?
That's the plan.
How? Do you program ASM too, or did you just try one of the ON+ reset combos?
One of the ON+ reset combos, I think.
Maybe she triggered one of those TI-OS glitches or she tried a key combination by guess that happened to be 2nd, +, 7, <, ENTER then 2. (Full mem reset). Maybe she changed batteries and pressed ON+DEL, though.
That combination sounds awfully familar...I don't even remember the last time I changed my batteries (though I can estimate when, since they're of the store-brand kind).
sounds great! how exactly does the multitab one work though? I don't think I understood completely, does it come up with a picture of a multiplication table starting at a given point defined by the user?
Not a picture, but a list (n = user defined variable):
0 x n = 0
1 x n = n
2 x n = 2n
3 x n = 3n
4 x n = 4n
5 x n = 5n
6 x n = 6n
7 x n = 7n
8 x n = 8n
9 x n = 9n
10 x n = 10n
11 x n = 11n
12 x n = 12n
Make sense now?
-
Yep, the key combination will clear your entire memory (archive and RAM). The other one opens the "Please install calc OS now!" screen, then when exiting it clears your RAM.
-
I am also busy with a program like Chemitab, called Elements Search, but its written in Axe. But, there wont be any competition for now, because i dont have an English version now (and its still not finished :P)
-
I am also busy with a program like Chemitab, called Elements Search, but its written in Axe. But, there wont be any concurrention for now, because i dont have an English version now (and its still not finished :P)
Concurrention?
-
competition, sorry :P
Edit: changed
-
That makes much more sense now.
-
Hey, welcome back Holmes! It's good to see you back on here. :)
-
Chemitab has officially been put on hold until June 2011. And I would like to hear your thoughts on what I've got thus far for Multitab (see first post for file, which will be upload there momentarily).
-
Sorry to hear. Is it due to being very busy or just because you're working on different stuff now?
-
Sorry to hear. Is it due to being very busy or just because you're working on different stuff now?
Being very busy, and also because I've decided that I want to be able to place my full attention on Chemitab when I work on it.
Also, I will be uploading the latest version of Multitab (to replace the file I attached to the first post yesterday) momentarily. This version will likely be the final version of this program to be uploaded prior to optimization.
-
Is Chemitab a periodic table with a look-up function (to jump to an element)?
That's the plan
That would be very big, though, i tried it in basic too, but it was very slow with all the labels
-
Is Chemitab a periodic table with a look-up function (to jump to an element)?
That's the plan
That would be very big, though, i tried it in basic too, but it was very slow with all the labels
I'm thinking of just modifying what I did with Multitab instead of using an actual table now.
-
ah okay, i suppose that you have a link cable, though, because you uploaded multitab? or did you make it with wabbitemu/ ti-graphlink?
-
I still don't have a link cable. What I did was program it intially on my calc, then I copied it [the code] by hand to the Source Coder on Cemetech, where I exported it into a .8xp file.
-
aha. hope you get a link cable soon so you can send axe to your calc
-
Agreed. I would love to be able to work with Axe while I'm away from my computer.
-
Axe is quite great. The only thing is that it doesn't do floating points so doing math programs in it could be hard. You can use a mix of Axe and BASIC, though. Also with Axe you must backup often due to RAM clears (If a program got errors, it doesn't give an ERR message, it crashes like ASM)
-
If you want to be technical, you can use Floating point in Axe, but it's really difficult with the Axioms disabled.
-
Hmm you mean an Axiom to do floating point? I wonder if it could be done using hex code instead for now?
-
Yeah, you can do anything you want with hex. Anything... >:D
There's a float{ command in Axe too, but it can get confusing.
-
There's a float{ command in Axe too, but it can get confusing.
It's already confusing. What's a floating point?
-
Let's see, quick explanation: In ASM, numbers are generally either one-byte or two-byte. This means that you have a range of 0 to 255 (or -127 to 128 signed) or between 0 and 65535 (or -32767 to 32768 signed). More importantly, they're all integers. You can pretend that a two-byte number has one byte of decimal values (it's called fixed-point notation; you can find more info in the topic about the ** command), but really, you're still dealing with integers. But since a graphing calculator would be pretty useless with just integers, TI uses a notation called floating-point. It involves one byte telling you the exponent, one byte telling you the real/complex stuff, and seven bytes for the actual number for a total of nine bytes per floating-point number. (Each byte can hold two digits in binary-coded decimal, so that's why your calc gives you 14 digits of accuracy, if you've ever wondered.)
You really don't need to know this for Axe, so don't worry if you don't understand it. I suck at explaining stuff anyway.
-
At least it gives me a starting point to look it up.
-
In ASM, never use floating points to store data. It's slow and huge. It's mostly suitable for high-precision math.
-
I will keep that in mind.
Also, would those who have tried out Multitab please post with their thoughts on the program? I'd like to hear what you think of it.
edit: 2/7 of Chemitab has been saved to my laptop thus far. Just so y'all know.
-
Cool to hear you did backups. :D It's essential for any project IMHO.
Sadly I didn't test, though, since I've been out of school for several years and do not use math programs anymore. I might check later for the interface and stuff, though.
-
When the code gets onto my computer, that's when the code is in a format I can upload to share with y'all. The real backups are the stuff I write by hand on paper.
Just so people don't start thinking I've finally made to the 21st century or anything...
-
Ah ok, well, paper-based "backups" also do the job pretty well.
I don't think I would like to recopy 120 KB of code by hand from a game like Reuben Quest 2 if I lost everything, though. O.O
-
I would have to agree with you on that.
I've almost finished writing the code for Chemitab, just have to finish one last subprogram.
edit: finished!
-
I would have to agree with you on that.
I've almost finished writing the code for Chemitab, just have to finish one last subprogram.
edit: finished!
congratulations!! any idea of a release date?
-
Cool! You're gonna release it on Ticalc.org, right?
-
Cool! You're gonna release it on Ticalc.org, right?
I hope so, it's the best way to achieve success :9
-
I wasn't planning on doing so, but perhaps I will with a later version of the program, as version 1.0 is still pretty buggy.
-
Ah ok, because ticalc.org is like the central hub of the TI community downloads and the main site to download programs. :P
-
Ah ok, because ticalc.org is like the central hub of the TI community downloads and the main site to download programs. :P
I have yet to get an account on ticalc.org, that's why I'm somewhat loathe to upload it. xD
-
Ah ok, because ticalc.org is like the central hub of the TI community downloads and the main site to download programs. :P
I have yet to get an account on ticalc.org, that's why I'm somewhat loathe to upload it. xD
A ticalc.org account is a must for every calc. programmer, I'm serious!
-
A ticalc.org account is a must for every calc. programmer, I'm serious!
Don't they say the same thing 'bout link cables?
-
A ticalc.org account is a must for every calc. programmer, I'm serious!
Don't they say the same thing 'bout link cables?
xD, I think a calculator is also important, but you can always do emulator programming :)
-
I probably have the beginnings of carpal tunnel syndrome just from coding Chemitab 83+ alone, an issue that emulator coding would still be unable to avoid, as I prefer to code on my calculator so I can test it with confidence.
If I had been able to use a link cable, I would not have had to write the code multiple times like I did.
Additionally, Chemitab 83+ 2.0 will hopefully be comprised of a single program, in the hopes of getting around the bug Chemitab 83+ 1.0 has.
-
Yeah I myself prefer to code on-calc for some reasons. I guess it's because I got no computer access for the first 2.5 years I had a calc.
Good luck fixing the bug in Chemitab!
-
Good luck fixing the bug in Chemitab!
Thanks, I'll definitely need it.
-
Within the next couple of days, a new version of Chemitab 83+ should be up and available for downloading.
-
Cool to hear it's coming along nicely. :D
-
I plan on typing the entire code this evening (PST), so I should have it up and ready for downloading here on Omnimaga by midnight EST today.
edit: Did it with just under two hours to spare.
-
Nice! :D
How large is it on-calc by the way?
-
How large is it on-calc by the way?
4177 of whatever unit of measurement the calc uses for memory--which is better than what I was expecting it to be.
-
Wow nice, pretty small. Granted, math programs are usually tiny (my largest ever made was 1 KB) compared to games, but it's still pretty small nonetheless.
-
I ran Chemitab, it has a few little things that mess up, Pause is typed, its not the token for some reason, it might just be me though. And when quitting, typing in any number other than 2, will exit the program (this one doesn't really count as "messing up" but it bugs me a little bit).
-
Did you type it by hand on the computer? Remember Pause has a space at the end,
-
I ran Chemitab, it has a few little things that mess up, Pause is typed, its not the token for some reason, it might just be me though.
I typed it by hand on the computer using the Source Coder on Cemetech, if that's of any import...
Did you type it by hand on the computer? Remember Pause has a space at the end,
I'm pretty sure I typed it with a space, but I could be wrong...
And when quitting, typing in any number other than 2, will exit the program (this one doesn't really count as "messing up" but it bugs me a little bit).
Well, as long as it doesn't quit when you input a two....
-
I guess you might have typed a command wrong. If for example you write And instead of and, then Source Coder will most likely interpret And as A, n and d.
-
I guess you might have typed a command wrong. If for example you write And instead of and, then Source Coder will most likely interpret And as A, n and d.
I'll check on that, 'cause that could have happened--I did catch several mistypes as I was writing up the code originally, maybe I missed one.
-
O.O
How big is this program. I spent like five minutes scrolling through it looking for that Pause.
-
How big is this program. I spent like five minutes scrolling through it looking for that Pause.
I know the feeling. I went through the same thing when I was writing the program originally. Anyways, to answer your question:
How large is it on-calc by the way?
4177 of whatever unit of measurement the calc uses for memory--which is better than what I was expecting it to be.
-
/me wonders if Holmes still has visible buttons on her calculator after all of the coding that must have taken
-
How big is this program. I spent like five minutes scrolling through it looking for that Pause.
I know the feeling. I went through the same thing when I was writing the program originally. Anyways, to answer your question:
How large is it on-calc by the way?
4177 of whatever unit of measurement the calc uses for memory--which is better than what I was expecting it to be.
Yeah, 4177 bytes is a pretty good size, but still it's pretty insane to scroll through it.
At least it isn't as bad as my old code for Nostalgia's in-game menu. *shudders*
-
The paint on the buttons are pretty resilient.
'Sides, on my first calc, I colored all the buttons with a black permament marker.
-
Yeah, 4177 bytes is a pretty good size, but still it's pretty insane to scroll through it.
At least it isn't as bad as my old code for Nostalgia's in-game menu. *shudders*
If I remember correctly, C.A.D was 5000 bytes or so. Of course, much of that was dealing with the 9 on-screen buttons and the dozen keyboard buttons. The projection equations and the inefficient coding didn't help either.
For reference on the number of interacting elements:
(http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1379/4733757679_2b3192d4fd.jpg)
-
Or Illusiat 13 events code. Such long code is why I got the bad habit of merging my lines of code into one, saving lots of time while scrolling down to errors.
The paint on the buttons are pretty resilient.
'Sides, on my first calc, I colored all the buttons with a black permament marker.
Lol on my first 83+ I did that on the F keys and even stuck a paper label hiding the entire TI-83 Plus logo+plastic where it's on. The paper label shows an handdrawn Omnimaga logo looking similar to the one in the banner and another one like the 2002 one. Sadly, the link port is busted :(
(http://www.omnimaga.org/images/screenshots/calc83omni.jpg)
-
Holmes, I noticed you were using a lot of conditionals, so I made this mock-up demo to try a more efficient method of storing the data. It's currently only 698 bytes, but it includes the first 37 elements on the table. I'm still working on the greyscale though ;)
-
Yeah, I tend to (over)use a lot of conditionals in my programs...
As for the greyscale, I eagerly await to see what you come up with.
-
Grayscale? Wut? O.O
That said... http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/385/38543.html
Quite ironically, the only Omnimaga news that ever featured a math program was about that quadratic solver (although it was a fake news)
-
I am thinking of re-vamping this two programs in the near future....perhaps I can make them more efficient using matrices....
-
Might be a bit late in saying this, but hey, welcome back.
Better using matrices sounds good. TI lets you use so many math operations on matrices, so you might as well use them :)
-
I've also gotten a better grip on using matrices in programs since I wrote these two programs.
-
Oh my god, it's holmes221b!!!!
Hey, sounds like a good idea. Go for it
-
Good idea with the matrices. Just keep in mind that if before you didn't use lists, matrices can be extremely huge. :P (a 50x55 matrix takes the entire RAM if I remember) I doubt you need extremely large matrices, though. Just make sure the user knows he needs lots of RAM. When storing an entire matrice, it copies all of it in Ans, so you need double the amount of RAM to store it.