Author Topic: My first game  (Read 39922 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Runer112

  • Moderator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #135 on: November 21, 2014, 12:27:59 am »
Right now when I try to compile the program into the app I get a not enough rom error and after I garbage collect, it does nothing at all ???  (by nothing at all I mean it still says not enough rom space). Anyone have suggestions?

Perhaps you don't have enough ROM space? :P If you're using an 83+, it's quite easy to run out of space in ROM. This generally means that you already have 2 or 6 app pages used up.

Offline Omegaxis213

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
  • Rating: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #136 on: December 11, 2014, 08:04:14 pm »
For some reason, changing map data, 1->{random variable+V}, doesn't work on an application. Can anyone help me solve this problem?

Offline parserp

  • Hero Extraordinaire
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1455
  • Rating: +88/-7
  • The King Has Returned
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #137 on: December 11, 2014, 09:56:45 pm »
For some reason, changing map data, 1->{random variable+V}, doesn't work on an application. Can anyone help me solve this problem?
If you're trying to change the data in something like a GDB, which is stored within the program rather than in RAM, it won't work because you can't change the data of an application. Try using L1 or some other free RAM area for whatever data it is you have and it should work.

Offline Omegaxis213

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
  • Rating: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #138 on: December 11, 2014, 11:05:41 pm »
I'm using the variable V as the map. At the beginning of the program, I use GDB1->V. For some reason, I saw that it worked perfectly fine when the program was compiled with no shell, but with app, it won't work for some reason.

Offline parserp

  • Hero Extraordinaire
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1455
  • Rating: +88/-7
  • The King Has Returned
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #139 on: December 11, 2014, 11:15:23 pm »
Ah yes, this is exactly the problem. GDB1 is stored within the program like I said. So you can't alter any values after compiling. When you do GDB1->V, you're merely assigning V as a pointer to GDB1, and so any changes made to V is really just changing GDB1. Try using something like:
Code: [Select]
:Fill(L1,[amount of data,0)
:Copy(GDB1,L1,[amount of data])
replacing "[amount of data]" with the amount of data, of course. Then just reference L1 instead of V and your app should run smoothly.

Offline Omegaxis213

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
  • Rating: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #140 on: December 11, 2014, 11:28:15 pm »
For the fill, is there three arguments or just two?

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #141 on: December 12, 2014, 01:13:10 am »
Ah yes, this is exactly the problem. GDB1 is stored within the program like I said. So you can't alter any values after compiling. When you do GDB1->V, you're merely assigning V as a pointer to GDB1, and so any changes made to V is really just changing GDB1. Try using something like:
Code: [Select]
:Fill(L1,[amount of data,0)
:Copy(GDB1,L1,[amount of data])
replacing "[amount of data]" with the amount of data, of course. Then just reference L1 instead of V and your app should run smoothly.
I don't see why you are Filling right before Copying. That's just putting a bunch of zeroes for no reason to replace them immediately, so the Copy alone produces the same result.

For the fill, is there three arguments or just two?
Three. There's also a two-argument version but I don't advise using it. It's just a shortcut and if you're using it, you'll just hide some code to yourself and forget to change things whenever you change your implementation.
You can check the Commands.html for more information.
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline calvinhtml

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Rating: +0/-0
  • I constantly need ideas for what to program
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #142 on: December 18, 2014, 08:45:59 pm »
Sounds great! It seems like it will be a good game.
As for critique, I have this problem too, do you think that this is beyond your level? My first axe game I made the Tunnel game, with the ability to turn on and off opsticals. If you want to still do this, then by all means, please do! But at least listen to my advise. I have a tendency to get quite frustrated when my programs don't work out. Shouldn't you do something a lot more basic? This seems like quite a project. If however you want to continue this project, please do!  :thumbsup:

Offline Omegaxis213

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
  • Rating: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #143 on: December 26, 2014, 01:27:33 am »
Yes, I still want to work on this project it's just that I have been very lazy over the winter break, but I have been working on the enemies a bit more and working on adding a new attack for the character.

Offline calvinhtml

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Rating: +0/-0
  • I constantly need ideas for what to program
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #144 on: January 02, 2015, 01:51:27 pm »
Yes, I still want to work on this project it's just that I have been very lazy over the winter break, but I have been working on the enemies a bit more and working on adding a new attack for the character.

Sounds awesome. I'm also working on an RPG, it isn't much right now, but I plan to have the demo out by mid year.
Oh, and just in case you haven't fixed the flickering, the command, Fix 5, will change that for you. It draws the text directly to the buffer (Front, Back, or Both), so the text never flickers. If I am correct, the text will change with the buffer you are currently in. I hope this helps.  :D

Offline Omegaxis213

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
  • Rating: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #145 on: January 26, 2015, 07:45:59 pm »
Sorry for not posting an update for a really long time but now i have a list of updates.
Updates:
added stamina bar
added health bar
added exp bar
added sprinting if you click 2nd then it will constantly run until you either run out of stamina or run into a wall or let go of a movement key
added double jump if you let go off up and click up again
added extreme jump if you hold down alpha and jump
added animation for double jump
enemy leaves blood if they land on spikes
enemy tries to jump over gaps
Glitches:
enemy's animations are messing up

Offline chickendude

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +90/-1
  • Pro-Riot Squad
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #146 on: January 26, 2015, 11:12:07 pm »
Wow, that all sounds really cool. Do you have any screenshots?

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: My first game
« Reply #147 on: January 27, 2015, 05:47:19 am »
Wow, your still developing this!
And those updates do indeed sound awesome :)

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline Omegaxis213

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
  • Rating: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #148 on: January 27, 2015, 08:14:33 pm »
Here is a screenshot of the game. (the thing that pops up after i click new game isn't implemented yet so it isn't anything important)
Edit:
the little circle like objects are going to be removed and the numbers that are on the health bar are for testing.

Offline chickendude

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +90/-1
  • Pro-Riot Squad
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #149 on: January 28, 2015, 04:30:06 am »
It looks really cool, i especially like the little flip the guy does! I still think it's a little slow, though. Also, it seems like there's a small glitch in the routine to draw the enemies, when you jump they all move up one pixel. If you could find a way to speed up the tilemapper (i think that's what's slowing it down), it would be really cool. Anyway, i'm really impressed by everything you've added so far.