Author Topic: Rogue OS  (Read 9299 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #15 on: June 25, 2011, 11:53:10 am »
/\i think that is what's supposed to happen, actually, as he doesn't have much else fully implemented yet./\

good luck on the file system, eeems!

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #16 on: June 26, 2011, 05:35:21 pm »
Ok this might just be me but I just rabbed the .rom file from the provided link and dragged 'n dropped it unto wabbitemu. It then says boot succesfull but if I press any key the screen goes blank. I suppose this is not what should be happening? 3 dedicated buffers made my day though :) lol
yes, that is all it is suppose to do right now, it's running boot/boot.bin which loads boot/boot.txt and displays it on the screen then waits for a keypress then shuts down.
I'd like to put up a request for 5 Graph buffers -- two main, two for copying to the main ones for quick static rendering, and an extra one :)
that is a lot of extra space. If a program wants extra graph buffers they can allocate the space themselves.
Hey, nice to see you post about this. I'm looking forward to seeing this develop. =)
Thanks :)
good luck on the file system, eeems!
I have already been able to implement multilevel directory support! :D

EDIT: I started adding sound support, but it is still extremely unstable so it's turned off by default in src/inc/Options.inc
« Last Edit: June 26, 2011, 07:37:26 pm by Eeems »
/e

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #17 on: June 28, 2011, 04:01:24 pm »
So I'm almost done getting my filesystem patcher working ( it takes an existing folder structure, compiles all the * . * .asm files into * . * ( so boot.bin.asm into boot.bin ) and then creates all the necessary files from that for the FAT as well as a file that includes all the correct files. ). I'm still having issues with putting the right info on the FAT, but it's almost done! This will make it really easy for me to mess around with what is on the FAT. To patch the folder structure ( currently src/filesystem/ ) into the normal build just run make filesystem. Or to test it make filesystem debug.
Sound is still not working correctly though.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2011, 05:35:09 am by Eeems »
/e

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #18 on: June 30, 2011, 10:39:53 pm »
I have finally gotten my filesystem patcher to work completely! It's not quite as good as defining your own filesystem ( an extra 0A00h is added at the end ) but it works!
If you get the most recent svn revision ( remember this only builds on linux until someone converts the makefile and my MakeFS script. ) the folder structure that it builds in is this:

/                  ; root directory
   boot/            ; where all the bootup files are stored
      boot.bin      ; binary to run on bootup
      boot.txt      ; welcome message to display at bootup
   etc/               ; All the settings will be stored here
      hostname.txt   ; Hostname of the system ("Rogue"). It's a placeholder for now.

src/filesystem/boot/boot.bin.asm is the file that is compiled into boot/boot.bin so feel free to play around with that if anybody wants to mess around.
A normal make all looks like this:
Spoiler For Spoiler:
eeems@Chloe ~/workspace/rogueos $ make all
Creating Include File
   Boot
   Sleep
   DispHexA
   Shift
   Newline
   DrawString
   MeasureString
   PutChar
   LCDRight
   LCDLeft
   LCDUp
   LCDDown
   ClearBuffer
   PutSpriteXOR
   PutSpriteOR
   LCDDelay
   LCDReady
   RequestLock
   GetKey
   FlushKeys
   WaitKey
   LoadReturnText
   FreeMem
   AllocateMem
   LoadExecutableToRAM
   LoadFileToRAM
   ExecFile
   NewThread
   KernelPanic
Compiling filesystem
   boot/
      boot.bin.asm
      -> Compiling boot.bin.asm
          Pass one...
          Pass two...
          Program Start: 0
          Size:
          Program End: 36
          Done
      <- Done Compiling boot.bin.asm
      boot.txt
   etc/
      hostname.txt
Compiling pages
     Pass one...
     Pass two...
     Compiling Page00
     Free Space: 13328 bytes
     Compiling Page 01
     Start of FAT: 16384
        Entry root/: 16386
           Entry boot/: 16396
              Entry boot.bin.asm: 16406
              Entry boot.txt: 16423
           Entry etc/: 16440
              Entry hostname.txt: 16449
     End of FAT 16470
     boot.bin.asm Start 16471 Length
     boot.txt Start 16509 Length
     hostname.txt Start 16549 Length
     Free Space: 16210 bytes
     Done
Creating 8xu
    Building OS data...
    Hashing OS data...
    Key file 0A.key specified, reading contents...
    Building 8XU...
    Writing validation data...
    Done.
Creating Rom
    Knight Kernel HexToRom Tool
Finished
/e

Offline jnesselr

  • King Graphmastur
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2270
  • Rating: +81/-20
  • TAO == epic
    • View Profile
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #19 on: July 02, 2011, 04:31:42 pm »
you're computer's name is "chloe"? lol

Glad to see it builds well with the filesystem.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #20 on: July 02, 2011, 06:26:07 pm »
you're computer's name is "chloe"? lol

Glad to see it builds well with the filesystem.
Yep :P
I'm currently trying to solve an issue with a hardware bug that I had thought I had fixed, but it's not longer working. The filesystem is working great though :D
/e

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #21 on: July 03, 2011, 04:02:47 am »
Alright since my last post was yesterday :P
I worked my way around the hardware bug thanks to Runer112  :)

And here is the overlay ( Without the system tray, I'm working on adding that ). Thanks again to Runer112 ( and to ZippyDee ) for helping me get my sprite routines working.

EDIT: sorry eeems, i accidentally hit modify and had to restore the post by going back and copy/pasting. i'm using a proxy, though, so i didn't have the link to the gif you used and had to save/upload it D=
« Last Edit: July 03, 2011, 05:20:40 am by shmibs »
/e

Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #22 on: July 03, 2011, 05:18:57 am »
what exactly was the hardware bug? i saw a lot of you talking with runer, but i never got exactly what the issue was.

Offline Runer112

  • Moderator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #23 on: July 03, 2011, 10:19:10 am »
Some of Eeems' routines require that interrupts be off. So he has to back up the on/off status of the interrupts before he can disable them and run his routine, and then he has to re-enable them at the end if they were on. The ld a,i instruction is the primary way to do this, as it affects flags by setting the p/v flag if they are on and resetting it if they are not on. However, due to a hardware bug, if an interrupt activates right as this instruction is reached, the flags will reflect interrupts being off. So unless you do some more robust testing than just relying on the flag output of ld a,i, your interrupts will be mysteriously disabled on rare occasions.

Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #24 on: July 03, 2011, 12:39:24 pm »
ah, ok thanks.
do you think there's any way this could have been what was causing the garbled text issue, eeems? it certainly seemed liked an interrupt issue. i can't svn checkout the new code to test, though, because my father has blocked google.code again.

Offline jnesselr

  • King Graphmastur
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2270
  • Rating: +81/-20
  • TAO == epic
    • View Profile
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #25 on: July 03, 2011, 12:52:23 pm »
ah, ok thanks.
do you think there's any way this could have been what was causing the garbled text issue, eeems? it certainly seemed liked an interrupt issue. i can't svn checkout the new code to test, though, because my father has blocked google.code again.
why did he block it?

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #26 on: July 03, 2011, 02:03:57 pm »
Looks pretty cool!

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #27 on: July 03, 2011, 03:05:08 pm »
ah, ok thanks.
do you think there's any way this could have been what was causing the garbled text issue, eeems? it certainly seemed liked an interrupt issue. i can't svn checkout the new code to test, though, because my father has blocked google.code again.
This is really strange, I'm not getting it and I've been testing a *ton* ( as to be expected )
Hmm, use withg.us.to to check it out and then download it from there :)
Looks pretty cool!
Thanks! Hopefully we can get together and talk about cross-compatibility with KOS sometime soon?
/e

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #28 on: July 06, 2011, 05:06:41 pm »
Ok, so I've stabilized my code a ton. It's ~95% more stable now.

( sorry about how slow that screenshot is, keypresses in wine wabbit suck )
/e

Offline jnesselr

  • King Graphmastur
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2270
  • Rating: +81/-20
  • TAO == epic
    • View Profile
Re: Rogue OS
« Reply #29 on: July 06, 2011, 05:09:03 pm »
It's not that slow, or at least I don't think it is.