Author Topic: Seeker  (Read 27832 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LincolnB

  • Check It Out Now
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1115
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • By Hackers For Hackers
    • View Profile
Re: Seeker
« Reply #75 on: December 12, 2011, 07:21:45 pm »
100 for Y acceleration? O.O
I'm using 12 for gravity...…
Yeah, butts I think you probably meant 10 or something. 100 is way too fast.

Yeah, you're prolly right.
Completed Projects:
   >> Spacky Emprise   >> Spacky 2 - Beta   >> Fantastic Sam
   >> An Exercise In Futility   >> GeoCore

My Current Projects:

Projects in Development:
In Medias Res - Contest Entry

Talk to me if you need help with Axe coding.


Spoiler For Bragging Rights:
Not much yet, hopefully this section will grow soon with time (and more contests)



Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Seeker
« Reply #76 on: December 12, 2011, 07:23:17 pm »
Unless your acceleration was inflated as well O.O

Offline parserp

  • Hero Extraordinaire
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1455
  • Rating: +88/-7
  • The King Has Returned
    • View Profile
Re: Seeker
« Reply #77 on: December 12, 2011, 07:45:35 pm »
lol acceleration of acceleration XD

Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: Seeker
« Reply #78 on: December 12, 2011, 09:21:59 pm »
I'm using acceleration of acceleration :P
Isn't that called jerk?
Then... If accel/time = jerk, then what is jerk/time...
And whats jerk/time/time
And whats jerk/time/time/time O.O
« Last Edit: December 12, 2011, 09:22:14 pm by epic7 »

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: Seeker
« Reply #79 on: December 12, 2011, 09:26:17 pm »
acceleration of acceleration is the derivative of jerk.
Sig wipe!

Offline hellninjas

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 625
  • Rating: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Seeker
« Reply #80 on: December 12, 2011, 09:27:04 pm »
Ok very confusing... ill end this with THE GAME

Offline thydowulays

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
  • Rating: +12/-1
  • Don't gimme dat lip
    • View Profile
    • Thy Gaming Forum
Re: Seeker
« Reply #81 on: December 12, 2011, 09:48:29 pm »
Sorry to be a super n00b, but what does >> mean? For example: X>>12. Also, I've never understood for loops, what are the 3 arguments?
> works on only positive numbers.
>> works on positive and negative numbers. ;)

in a for( loop, the 3 arguments are: first, the variable. second, the starting value of the variable, and third, the ending value of the variable.
for example:
Code: [Select]
:For(A,0,3) //loops through 4 times
:Disp A>Dec //displays the value of A (see how it changes?)
:End


Thank you SO much. I see now. Just one more question: How do people put huge graphics like 25x40 in their main screens? Like the logo and such. I only know how to do 8x8
Current Projects:
-Sparta GUI Library: 25% - Alpha Stage
-Grapher - 75% - Beta Stage *on hiatus




Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: Seeker
« Reply #82 on: December 12, 2011, 09:58:30 pm »
Also with 1.1 you can do for( loops with only 1 argument ;)

You can put together 8x8 to make 16x16 and such

For full screens, you can import a pic var and use it by doing
[Pic5]->Pic5 ; if you store a background, absorb it like this
Copy(Pic5,L6,768) ; copies pic to buffer
« Last Edit: December 12, 2011, 10:00:20 pm by epic7 »

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Seeker
« Reply #83 on: December 12, 2011, 09:59:37 pm »
They could use a whole bunch of 8x8 sprites, which is useful when you have a relatively small area that needs to be displayed

They could also be using the bigmap() command, which is like the sprite command but is a bit slower and can display 'sprites' of any size

Or They could be importing a picture directly [Pic1]->GDB0 and copying it to the buffer.

EDIT:  Njnja'd  :ninja:
« Last Edit: December 12, 2011, 10:00:02 pm by Builderboy »

Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: Seeker
« Reply #84 on: December 12, 2011, 10:05:49 pm »
Bigmap? :P

For my menus, I draw them on Paint, save as 96x64 monochrome bitmap, then upload to calc via Ti connect's screen capture thingy.

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Seeker
« Reply #85 on: December 12, 2011, 10:09:08 pm »
He means Bitmaps. :P  Typo fail.

Check out the commands list that is in the folder you downloaded Axe in, and look for the "Bitmap" command.  It's pretty useful for 25*40 sized graphics.

Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: Seeker
« Reply #86 on: December 12, 2011, 10:10:49 pm »
I need to check out bitmaps. I've never used them but I'll need that size for my floating... Creature... Demon... Thing :P

Edit: Wait... So what do I put for the third argument?
« Last Edit: December 12, 2011, 10:16:02 pm by epic7 »

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Seeker
« Reply #87 on: December 12, 2011, 10:21:00 pm »
Edit: Wait... So what do I put for the third argument?
The pointer to the bitmap.  It's like the third argument for regular sprites, only it's formatted a little differently.

Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: Seeker
« Reply #88 on: December 12, 2011, 10:49:22 pm »
What do I put for that pointer?

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Seeker
« Reply #89 on: December 12, 2011, 11:01:50 pm »
What do I put for that pointer?
Try this (or something like it):
Code: [Select]
: [0203 FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF 0000000000000000 FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF FF818181818181FF FF818181818181FF FF818181818181FF]->Pic1
: ClrDraw
: Bitmap(10,20,Pic1)
: DispGraph
: Pause 1000