Author Topic: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]  (Read 23429 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #105 on: January 27, 2012, 07:59:00 pm »
Haha, you don't have to wait. I found the issue... I wrote my own var searching routine and I forgot to add about 4 bytes of code. Here is how to fix it:
Delete the realvar R
pretty much, when you search for Rol3Sav1, or Rol3Sav2, it just sees the R and finds the realvar named R. Delete that and see if it works :) I will make sure to have this fixed in the next update, though!

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #106 on: January 27, 2012, 08:00:49 pm »
If it's only 4 bytes difference, is there a way to fix it with calcsys? :D
And what do you mean by deleting realvar R? I don't think I used it.
Sig wipe!

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #107 on: January 27, 2012, 09:31:05 pm »
No, you cannot fix it with Calcsys (it is int he App and the data needs to be inserted). If you want to give this app a try, you can let me know if it works !

EDIT: I tested it and it worked for me, but there might be something else going on

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #108 on: January 27, 2012, 09:42:59 pm »
(Btw I think it would be a good idea to add Grammer 2 to the downloads section if Grammer is already there)
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #109 on: January 27, 2012, 09:44:21 pm »
Oh, good idea o.o

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #110 on: January 28, 2012, 03:05:33 pm »
Oh, also, I found the problem...kind of.
The problem wasn't in solve(0, (I think), but rather in Archive "UROL3Sav1
It archives, but it hangs and gives me ERR:MEMORY
Sig wipe!

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #111 on: January 28, 2012, 03:23:15 pm »
Double posting. :)

Here's the updated version of prgmAR01, prgmAR02, and prgmAT.
@Xeda: Here's the kinda fixed file. Now saving does work since I took out "Archive" stuff, but now somehow saving over saving file crashes calc and forest stuff doesn't work D:
can you look it up and see what's wrong?
Sig wipe!

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #112 on: January 28, 2012, 05:56:13 pm »
It looks like you are either overwriting a variable (pointing to map or tile data) and not restoring it, or you are creating new data and not restoring pointers. I would make sure to unarchive stuff at the very beginning of the code and then archive when the person is exiting if you want to archive. Also, creating any programs or appvars (other types are okay) should be done in the beginning. The reason is if you decide to search for a label and store it to P, then you create or delete a var or do something like that, P will be pointing to the wrong place (RAM gets shifted, depending). I don't know if that helps?

EDIT: Also keep in mind that though the flash chip will last for years, the more you archive, the shorter its life span will be before the flash chip won't work.

EDIT2: I haven't looked much at the code, but it definitely seems like you are modifying pointers that you need to either keep or restore.

EDIT3: Also, solve(0, returns a pointer to the newly created var, so you don't need to follow it with Get(
EDIT4: Jumping to labels in other programs is not supported yet at all o.o

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #113 on: January 28, 2012, 06:12:49 pm »
Ans for EDIT3: but solve(0,something,something→pointer never worked in my life D:
Ans for EDIT4: but I've been using it for whole time and it worked O.o
Sig wipe!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #114 on: January 29, 2012, 12:07:22 am »
What was added in AR01 and AR02 over the last version btw? I only tried the previous ones but I wondered if any change occured graphically before I download?

Also in the dungeon map there's a missing wall tile at the entrance.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #115 on: January 29, 2012, 08:13:42 am »
eh?
seriously?
Anyway, New AR02 contain some fixes, but really, there's not much difference. D:
Sig wipe!

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #116 on: January 29, 2012, 08:54:56 am »
As discussed on IRC, there was a brief period of time when I added the new optional arguments to solve(0 that it stopped working properly, but I fixed it a few hours later :/

As for calling labels in other programs, it may have worked through shear luck, but it will not work all the time under normal circumstances. I will try to add an optional argument to Lbl to specify the variable, though.

So what appears to be going wrong, still, to me is that you aren't updating variables properly or you are changing them and appears to only be a problem when saving.

I am going through and trying to figure out exactly what is wrong, but my guess is inconsistent saving :/

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #117 on: January 29, 2012, 08:57:02 am »
yeah, I guess...
The way I detect if the file is new or not is the theta', which is used to get the file size. If the size of program is not 100 bytes, it count as a new game.
But what I wonder is when I save, I just copy ROL3Data to ROL3Sav1, but I don't know what's wrong of doing it so.
Sig wipe!

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #118 on: January 29, 2012, 11:40:13 am »
Okay, I found the problem as I already said in chat  :]
Pretty much, all the creating of new vars and whatnot destroyed pointers to key data, specifically the Map and sprite info. So all you need to do to fix it is to add this at the very end of routine .M19:
Code: [Select]
Get("VM→M
Get("VS→S
Get("VT→T
:D

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: The Reign of Legends 3 Port [Grammer]
« Reply #119 on: January 29, 2012, 01:31:37 pm »
eh?
seriously?
Anyway, New AR02 contain some fixes, but really, there's not much difference. D:
Yeah if you look carefully at the entrance
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)