Author Topic: TI Basic Editor  (Read 19859 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2010, 01:28:14 am »
Wewt, I have gotten a program to kinda read from Basic programs.  Right now it supports most of the 1 Byte tokens (except the tricky ones like -> and ") but none of the 2 byte ones.  It also has a shiny line indent feature :].  It runs a mono spaced font right now, so some of the text looks weird, and some of it is squished or stretched, so i need to work on that as well.  But getting the token system working was a real hurdle so i am pleased ^^

The screenshot shows it displaying a simple text sprite editing program of mine, although i had to remove all two byte characters, so it looks kinda weird.  There are ? marks where there are other unsuported tokens.

EDIT: Right now i need to put a stop at the end of the program so it knows when to stop, how do i find the size of a program?
« Last Edit: May 19, 2010, 01:31:56 am by Builderboy »

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2010, 01:38:22 am »
Wow nice! Is it all in Axe or does it use inline ASM? I love how it is. I assume you read from calc RAM and display the token depending of the byte content?

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2010, 01:42:26 am »
Yeah, its all still pure Axe :) I have two huge tables in the program, one with all the token text data and one with all the token byte value data.  They were a pain to create x.x So far though im really liking the look and feel of the editing, and it will be sooo nice to have a 21x10 screen space instead of a 16x7 ^^ Plus some cool features like faster scrolling, line indenting, and custom menus to give access to extra tokens and such.  I hope to create most of the Ti Os environment exactly though, so it will still feel like programing in the regular basic editor.  That way people who use the key codes to navigate menu's wont get tripped up :P

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #18 on: May 19, 2010, 01:44:37 am »
Awesome, it looks really promising!

You know there is a bcall for displaying tokens right?  You can display them with Asm(EBEF6049).  If the high byte is zero, it displays it as a 1 byte token, and if the high byte is non-zero, it displays the full 2 bytes as a 2 byte token.  You can get the size of the program with the program pointer by doing this: {P-2}r that returns the size for the program (it comes directly before the start of the data).
« Last Edit: May 19, 2010, 01:45:18 am by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #19 on: May 19, 2010, 01:44:57 am »
Yeah I assume this must have taken so long x.x

One thing I wonder, tho: For people wanting to make extremly large games, how will they be handled?

Also you should rename this to TI-BASIC & Axe Editor :P since both are programmable in the PRGM editor :P

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #20 on: May 19, 2010, 01:48:56 am »
No wayyy really?  Does it work in the small font?  And thanks a bunch for the size info :) I was worried i was going to have to start messing with the VAT ;D

And yeah DJ, this is going to have a special Axe option in the options menu, since the syntax is a bit different (like how If's dont use Then's). And i could also rename some of the tokens to be whatever i wanted ;) like i could make it display conj( as copy( since in the current version i have complete control of the display.  It could make some things a lot easier ^^

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #21 on: May 19, 2010, 01:53:49 am »
Yup, works in any Fix mode you're in I think.  It will be supported natively soon too :)

I was thinking of in the far future actually overwriting the operating system tokens with axe tokens as an option in the parser, but I don't know how hard that would be.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #22 on: May 19, 2010, 01:56:44 am »
Alright so how do i use the hex code you gave me?  What variables does it take and how do i tell it what they are?

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #23 on: May 19, 2010, 02:03:15 am »
Try this:

:For(H,1,255)
:HAsm(EBEF6049)
:End

Will display single byte tokens.

For 2 byte tokens, you need 2 bytes, so if you were reading from a program pointer, you would check if the token is 2 bytes first, and then if it is, read it 2 bytes at a time and then display it so it has the whole 2 bytes.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #24 on: May 19, 2010, 02:11:42 am »
Alright that seems to display them fine, but Fix doesn't seem to do anything, they are all in the large font on the homescreen

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #25 on: May 19, 2010, 02:48:36 am »
That looks really sweet. Good luck with future improvements ;D
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #26 on: May 19, 2010, 03:34:10 am »
One thing I wonder, tho: For people wanting to make extremly large games, how will they be handled?

what exactly did you mean by that?  Like memory wise or what?

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #27 on: May 19, 2010, 07:21:14 am »
Probably he means not enough memory to write them, if your program is large.
@Quigibo: That would probably be possible, given that all TI's language localization apps do it. I don't know what hooks (if it's hooks) you would use, though.
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #28 on: May 19, 2010, 08:06:07 am »
I didn't expect this to progress quite so quickly. O_o This is looking really neat Builderboy!

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: TI Basic Editor
« Reply #29 on: May 19, 2010, 11:53:51 am »
One thing I wonder, tho: For people wanting to make extremly large games, how will they be handled?

what exactly did you mean by that?  Like memory wise or what?
Example, some Illusiat 13 programs are nearly 15 KB large each. I know there are other BASIC programs that can be even larger too. I wondered if the BASIC editor could open those or if it was out of the question?