Author Topic: Time Portal  (Read 16803 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #15 on: April 21, 2009, 10:05:55 pm »
Very true, although using goto's inside of a for loop is one of the most useful thing i have encountered, as it allows for subroutines inside a basic program that automatically jump back to the place they were called.

Unfortunately I have met many people that won't download any game that has more than one program to it. :(
All we can do is compile them into One when we can and don't when we can't

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #16 on: April 21, 2009, 10:19:23 pm »
well my gripe with using goto inside a for( loop is that it causes the game to slow down everytime you do it and causes a memory leak, ending up with an ERR:MEMORY. However, I think using return removes the entire memory leak.

As for games with multiple programs, yeah it sucks because these people misses some good games and the programmers who spent an hard work on huge rpgs are discouraged even more. I downloaded a lot of small RPGs before and they were usually very short or menu-based

I doubt this would have fit into 24 KB of RAM in its current state
&fmt=18 (altough if in 2004 my coding skills were as good as right now and if I had something that mimics xLIB Real(10 function, I would have got at least 60% less sub-routines)
« Last Edit: April 21, 2009, 10:24:40 pm by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #17 on: April 21, 2009, 10:31:47 pm »
Well it doesn't if you use it this way

Goto ST

Lb SB
Disp "This is inside a subroutine
End

Lbl ST

For(F,1,0
If not(F
Goto SB
End


It collects the end after it executes the subroutine and then jumps back to the beginning of the for loop automatically, thinking it just reached the end of the for loop.  No memory leaks!  ;D

And about that game...  :o that is one of the most amazing and unbelivable things I have ever seen!
"Goes off to find game to download"

Offline noahbaby94

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 585
  • Rating: +29/-24
    • View Profile
    • My blog
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #18 on: April 21, 2009, 10:32:57 pm »
You could also use.
Code: [Select]
:While 0
:lbl 1
:End
That's what she said!!!

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #19 on: April 21, 2009, 10:40:16 pm »
True, but that doesn't really change what I was saying

While 0
Disp "This is inside a subroutine
End

For(F,1,0
If not(F
Goto SB
End


Whatever, same diff

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #20 on: April 21, 2009, 10:42:39 pm »
wait I didn't knew that o.o I need to try out at some point..., that's a good thing to know if I am ever stuck using lbl/gotos. Does it works on every calc OS?

Anyway i hope you finish portal 2 ^^

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #21 on: April 21, 2009, 10:52:41 pm »
I believe it does, but if it didn't, that might just mean that memory leaks would go away! :)

And yeah... we seem to have gotten off topic... whoops.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #22 on: April 23, 2009, 09:01:50 pm »
Alright, so I have finished the time travel engine.  It uses all 6 built in lists and is expandable to accommodate an unlimited amount of time traveling (Although it will be limited in the game for difficulty reasons).  I now need to work on the most difficult part, the buttons.

Buttons have the ability to change certain tiles and can be activated in several ways:
1: Only when you stand on them
2: Whenever after you stand on them
3: Change to something besides original when you get off of them

Buttons will also be able to reveal other buttons, so this will need to be taken account for.  This is actually more than I originally programed in the previous versions, but I have an idea that should make it all work.  I will post a screenshot as soon as I can get Flash Debugger to work.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #23 on: April 23, 2009, 10:49:41 pm »
interesting, I can't wait for the screenshot :)

Did you tried WabbitEmu by the way?

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #24 on: April 23, 2009, 11:24:53 pm »
It only works for some programs, but not all, and not Portal2.  It always says that the link has timed out, whatever that means.  Right now i am trying the Ti Flash Debugger coupled with CalcCapture

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #25 on: April 23, 2009, 11:41:28 pm »
It only works for some programs, but not all, and not Portal2.  It always says that the link has timed out, whatever that means.  Right now i am trying the Ti Flash Debugger coupled with CalcCapture
Sometimes when that happens, I try to Reset All Memory. Then files will send again. Then again, my ROM is sort of messed-up, anyway... :P
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #26 on: April 24, 2009, 03:34:56 am »
Mhmm, could it be that you use some tokens only present on OS 1.15 and later but use an older ROM on the emulator? This is the same error I get when I try to send Illusiat 13 to an older ROM (since Illusiat 13 uses such ASCII characters)

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #27 on: April 24, 2009, 10:19:27 am »
Hmmm, I didn't think so but maybe that is the case.  Either way, I like TI Flash Debugger better.

Offline trevmeister66

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1009
  • Rating: +14/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #28 on: April 24, 2009, 10:45:03 am »
Yeah older ROM's won't accept certain characters...I had that problem before, and had to update my ROM.
Projects:    nameless RPG: 1.0%  |  Reverse Snake v1.5: 100%  |  Secret Project: 5%  |  DUNGEON: 70%

My MW2 Blog <-- Please visit :)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Portal 2
« Reply #29 on: April 24, 2009, 08:37:19 pm »
I like Wabbitemu since I doN,t have any linking trouble and can send multiple files at once without any error, but I hate how it doesn,t support group files and consequently, hacked pic files. But PTI won't accept files with the Archive flag enabled and it has no keypad