Author Topic: TinyCraft II (name subject to change)  (Read 45129 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: TinyCraft II (name subject to change)
« Reply #225 on: June 04, 2013, 05:05:41 pm »
@streetwalker fragmentation isn't necessary for that idea, but it would make it easier.

Think of it like this:

Archive: 20000 bytes of program source.

Current offset for reading: 0

The program reads in the first 1000 bytes or so, and allows you to edit them. You insert 24 bytes.

Archive frees 24 bytes at the end, and shifts the data down until it reaches your insertion.

Your insertion is placed.

Done.

Note that this would be one of maybe 25 steps in a buffer of changes that would need to be tracked, and would be written if you ever filled said buffer or left that area of the file.

This is how good PC hex editors work.

Offline Runer112

  • Moderator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: TinyCraft II (name subject to change)
« Reply #226 on: June 04, 2013, 05:15:23 pm »
You can't simply shift data in archive. Once you reset a bit of flash memory, you can't set it again except by erasing the entire 64KB sector to set every bit. Effectively, to make an arbitrary change to any byte of flash memory, you have to perform at least two sector erases and two sector copies. Doing this frequently is slow (think a garbage collect/defragment every time) and also probably not great for the health of the flash memory.

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: TinyCraft II (name subject to change)
« Reply #227 on: June 04, 2013, 05:44:01 pm »
I was under the incorrect assumption that the sectors were smaller than that. Pity.

Offline Joshuasm32

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Rating: +19/-7
    • View Profile
    • Network
Re: TinyCraft II (name subject to change)
« Reply #228 on: July 17, 2013, 01:34:22 pm »
It looks great!  :D
My name is Josh and I a developer at Moonzean. I enjoy Radiohead, web development, Java, and cryptograms.
Spoiler For No Surprises, by Radiohead:
A heart that's full up like a landfill
A job that slowly kills you
Bruises that won't heal

You look so tired unhappy
Bring down the government
They don't, they don't speak for us

I'll take a quiet life
A handshake of carbon monoxide

And no alarms and no surprises
No alarms and no surprises
No alarms and no surprises
Silent, silent

This is my final fit
My final bellyache

With no alarms and no surprises
No alarms and no surprises
No alarms and no surprises please

Such a pretty house
And such a pretty garden

No alarms and no surprises
No alarms and no surprises
No alarms and no surprises please

Offline harrylin

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TinyCraft II (name subject to change)
« Reply #229 on: October 10, 2013, 10:14:09 pm »
Uh, Unfortunately, After trying out TinyCraft II, it seems that every time I create a new game, it causes the player to be stuck in a black "area"/Unable to move. Hopefully this isnt just my calculator...
:)

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: TinyCraft II (name subject to change)
« Reply #230 on: October 11, 2013, 12:37:52 am »
Do you just create a new game or do you also generate the map ? Because if you don't generate any map, you don't spawn in a predictable area (so you can spawn in a black area).
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline harrylin

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TinyCraft II (name subject to change)
« Reply #231 on: October 17, 2013, 06:29:24 pm »
Well, I also generated the map. (i think. I'll try Again and Hopefully it works :) )
:)

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: TinyCraft II (name subject to change)
« Reply #232 on: October 18, 2013, 12:38:03 am »
Well, I also generated the map. (i think. I'll try Again and Hopefully it works :) )
Yeah, but which level did you generate ? Because you start at Surface, so if you only generated Sky, you still don't spawn in a predictable area. You don't need to generate al the maps but you need to generate the ones you are on.
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline harrylin

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TinyCraft II (name subject to change)
« Reply #233 on: October 19, 2013, 12:16:15 pm »
Well, I also generated the map. (i think. I'll try Again and Hopefully it works :) )
Yeah, but which level did you generate ? Because you start at Surface, so if you only generated Sky, you still don't spawn in a predictable area. You don't need to generate al the maps but you need to generate the ones you are on.

Oh! Thanks!   :banghead: I was too stupid to press the down arrow to select surface generation  :P

Wow, this is actually really nice!
:)

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: TinyCraft II (name subject to change)
« Reply #234 on: October 20, 2013, 03:01:53 am »
Well, I also generated the map. (i think. I'll try Again and Hopefully it works :) )
Yeah, but which level did you generate ? Because you start at Surface, so if you only generated Sky, you still don't spawn in a predictable area. You don't need to generate al the maps but you need to generate the ones you are on.

Oh! Thanks!   :banghead: I was too stupid to press the down arrow to select surface generation  :P

Wow, this is actually really nice!
No, It is my fault, the generator is not so clear.
Glad you like it anyway ^^
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s