Author Topic: Warning: When updating tiDE, use the previous build  (Read 2326 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Warning: When updating tiDE, use the previous build
« on: January 01, 2011, 06:24:09 pm »
A problem occured in tiDE and a build was uploaded that did not have all the features of the previous one, so this is just to remind all programmers and to-come programmers to:

If you want to program in tiDE, first thing is to download last build, then program and last thing is to upload new build.


I just thought it was good to have something here to remind about this situation for all developers and to-come developers.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2011, 06:45:43 pm by ScoutDavid »

Offline jnesselr

  • King Graphmastur
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2270
  • Rating: +81/-20
  • TAO == epic
    • View Profile
Re: Warning: When updating tiDE, use the previous build
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2011, 06:41:49 pm »
Okay, this post isn't necessary at all. PM lordConiupter and work it out. See which functions where removed.  Most source version controls allow this.  If anything, you can apply good bug fixes and such to the methods/files that need it, and fix the broken parts.

In this case, lorConiupter could have been working on this for days and just now decided to upload.  Either way though, talk it out with him, don't announce it like this.  If you have other developers that have the same problem, work it out with them.

Team work is one of the hardest things for programmers, I find, especially on multiple computers.  It's hard to find time to do stuff, hard to make sure everything is current, etc.

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Warning: When updating tiDE, use the previous build
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2011, 07:27:14 pm »
This problem comes up from bad source control.  Absolutely no one is to be sitting on changes for more than an hour.  I don't care if work is in progress or not, just upload the changes and finish it later.  Everyone should always be looking at the same code.  This isn't possible, but we can  come close if we download the latest version often and upload our version often.  By often, I mean every half hour or so of work.  And you need to provide a comment on your changes so it's easier to track down.  I don't know how much more I can stress this.  It's extremely important.  This is exactly the kind of situation I'm trying to avoid, and of course it happens while I'm unable to go fix it.  If anyone knows how to *properly* revert to the second to last changeset and publish it as the latest, please do so.  Otherwise, absolutely no one is to make changes to tiDE until I am able to fix it.