Author Topic: Block Dude in Lua  (Read 39600 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #15 on: April 16, 2011, 04:43:07 am »
I didn't know the 83+ game was a port of a DOS game, though. I was sure it was the original. O.O

It was based on "Block-man 1" by Soleau Software. Levels 1-10 of Block Dude are pretty much identical to levels A-J of Block-man (levels 11+ are new).

I didn't know it wasn't an original too, so we can say apcalc's games aren't ports of Block Dude but of Block-Man 1 :P

Offline apcalc

  • The Game
  • Project Author
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1393
  • Rating: +120/-2
  • VGhlIEdhbWUh (Base 64 :))
    • View Profile
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #16 on: April 16, 2011, 07:31:22 pm »
I didn't know the 83+ game was a port of a DOS game, though. I was sure it was the original. O.O

It was based on "Block-man 1" by Soleau Software. Levels 1-10 of Block Dude are pretty much identical to levels A-J of Block-man (levels 11+ are new).

Very interesting, Goplat!

I was just thinking, in order to keep things original/different, maybe I will include all of the "Block Man" levels in the Lua version, and keep the "Block Dude" levels in the C version! :)


Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #17 on: April 16, 2011, 08:23:01 pm »
Support for custom levels, maybe?

Offline ruler501

  • Meep
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2475
  • Rating: +66/-9
  • Crazy Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #18 on: April 16, 2011, 10:00:08 pm »
Support for custom levels, maybe?

That would be good but then we'd need file parsing support in LUA. has anyone figured out how to do that on the Nspire yet?
I currently don't do much, but I am a developer for a game you should totally try out called AssaultCube Reloaded download here https://assaultcuber.codeplex.com/
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GCM/CS/M/S d- s++: a---- C++ UL++ P+ L++ E---- W++ N o? K- w-- o? !M V?
PS+ PE+ Y+ PGP++ t 5? X R tv-- b+++ DI+ D+ G++ e- h! !r y

Offline XVicarious

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 485
  • Rating: +45/-28
  • I F**king Love Twisty Puzzles
    • View Profile
    • XVicarious
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #19 on: April 16, 2011, 10:01:48 pm »
Hum... I wonder if its possible to save the level data to like 1.2 - 1.whatever

Offline apcalc

  • The Game
  • Project Author
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1393
  • Rating: +120/-2
  • VGhlIEdhbWUh (Base 64 :))
    • View Profile
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #20 on: April 16, 2011, 10:14:09 pm »
Hum... I wonder if its possible to save the level data to like 1.2 - 1.whatever

That would be possible, but I think I would then have to include the game code on each page also...

Space wise, it would probably be better to keep them on 1 page


Offline Goplat

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 289
  • Rating: +82/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #21 on: April 16, 2011, 10:20:37 pm »
Hum... I wonder if its possible to save the level data to like 1.2 - 1.whatever
You can store to variables of the current problem with var.store(name, value) (note: it seems this only works if the variable already exists) and recall them with var.recall(name) (returns nil if the variable doesn't exist).
Numquam te deseram; numquam te deficiam; numquam circa curram et te desolabo
Numquam te plorare faciam; numquam valedicam; numquam mendacium dicam et te vulnerabo

Offline ruler501

  • Meep
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2475
  • Rating: +66/-9
  • Crazy Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #22 on: April 16, 2011, 10:23:12 pm »
We could possibly save maps as strings...

Does Lua have a good string parser?
I currently don't do much, but I am a developer for a game you should totally try out called AssaultCube Reloaded download here https://assaultcuber.codeplex.com/
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GCM/CS/M/S d- s++: a---- C++ UL++ P+ L++ E---- W++ N o? K- w-- o? !M V?
PS+ PE+ Y+ PGP++ t 5? X R tv-- b+++ DI+ D+ G++ e- h! !r y

Offline Levak

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rating: +208/-39
    • View Profile
    • My website
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #23 on: April 16, 2011, 11:54:40 pm »
Hum... I wonder if its possible to save the level data to like 1.2 - 1.whatever
You can store to variables of the current problem with var.store(name, value) (note: it seems this only works if the variable already exists) and recall them with var.recall(name) (returns nil if the variable doesn't exist).
Well, for me var.store() perfectly works, even if the variable wasn't there before.
I do not get mad at people, I just want them to learn the way I learnt.
My website - TI-Planet - iNspired-Lua

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #24 on: April 17, 2011, 12:16:41 am »
Wow nice! Now we need to get the TI Lua community rolling :)




Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #25 on: April 17, 2011, 05:44:10 am »
@apcalc: Will this be open source? I'd really like it so I can learn how to use LUA in the NSpire.

Offline Lionel Debroux

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2135
  • Rating: +290/-45
    • View Profile
    • TI-Chess Team
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #26 on: April 17, 2011, 05:47:03 am »
Due to the way third-party Lua TNS files are currently generated, they are open source :)
Just decompress the TNS with pretty much any ZIP-capable program or library.
Member of the TI-Chess Team.
Co-maintainer of GCC4TI (GCC4TI online documentation), TILP and TIEmu.
Co-admin of TI-Planet.

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #27 on: April 17, 2011, 05:48:00 am »
Due to the way third-party Lua TNS files are currently generated, they are open source :)
Just decompress the TNS with pretty much any ZIP-capable program or library.

That's not being open source, but nice to know we can have the source.

Offline apcalc

  • The Game
  • Project Author
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1393
  • Rating: +120/-2
  • VGhlIEdhbWUh (Base 64 :))
    • View Profile
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #28 on: April 17, 2011, 09:04:25 am »
Yep, this will be open source! :)


Offline renatose

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 209
  • Rating: +4/-0
  • watch out the power balls
    • View Profile
Re: Block Dude in Lua
« Reply #29 on: April 17, 2011, 09:53:13 am »
that's good to know :)