Author Topic: Wabbitemu Android Beta  (Read 13762 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BuckeyeDude

  • Project Author
  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 283
  • Rating: +42/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wabbitemu Android Beta
« Reply #45 on: February 12, 2014, 09:19:54 pm »
Seems to work just fine on my real calc with 2.55MP.

Its probably a problem with BootFree. I have a new version that fixes some incompatibilities with the real bootcode that seems to run it just fine.

As for updates on this, I'm busy fixing some race conditions related to OS downloading and searching for files. Also barring any huge issues, the next update will have 84PCSE support, which is requiring a lot of additional testing.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Wabbitemu Android Beta
« Reply #46 on: February 13, 2014, 01:53:09 am »
What are the minimum specs requirements (processor speed, RAM, etc) to run a CSE ROM?
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline BuckeyeDude

  • Project Author
  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 283
  • Rating: +42/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wabbitemu Android Beta
« Reply #47 on: February 14, 2014, 01:26:22 am »
What are the minimum specs requirements (processor speed, RAM, etc) to run a CSE ROM?

Not quite sure, I don't have access to a lot of hardware to really get a good feel for it. Right now the worst phone I have is an Inspire 4g (1 ghz, 768 MB ram), and I've managed to get 84PCSE usable on it. Its definitely got some lag to it, but it never maxes out its frame skips, which means the core is still running in real time, even if the display is dropping frames. On an S3 it runs pretty smoothly, no major frame drops.

I've made some major performance improvements, that have a pretty noticeable impact under normal operation for lower end devices.

If you want to be testing the latest features, I've added a beta build to the app store. You can opt-in by joining the group: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/wabbitemu-beta, and then following this link. Once you select 'Become a tester' you'll then automatically receive beta updates for Wabbit.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Re: Wabbitemu Android Beta
« Reply #48 on: February 14, 2014, 11:59:59 am »
So I assume a 400 Mhz phone with 279 MB of RAM would not be close to enough? :P
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1591
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: Wabbitemu Android Beta
« Reply #49 on: February 14, 2014, 02:38:06 pm »
I had an idea today while using this. Could you make the calculator resizable? I don't know how difficult that would be, but the idea would be to allow you to make the calculator larger so that it just barely fits on the screen.

The main motivation for this would be to make the calculator taller so that the "TI-84+ Silver Edition \n Texas Instruments" part is off screen. I realize you probably shouldn't have it like that by default due to potential copyright issues, but making it taller like that would help the aspect ratio of the calculator LCD.

Or maybe just a way to fix the aspect ratio of the LCD. (It's a little smashed vertically on my HTC one)
« Last Edit: February 14, 2014, 02:38:52 pm by thepenguin77 »
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline BuckeyeDude

  • Project Author
  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 283
  • Rating: +42/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wabbitemu Android Beta
« Reply #50 on: February 15, 2014, 06:05:49 am »
So I assume a 400 Mhz phone with 279 MB of RAM would not be close to enough? :P
I believe that would have trouble running an 83p let alone a CSE. Depends on if you're on an ARMv7 processor.

I had an idea today while using this. Could you make the calculator resizable? I don't know how difficult that would be, but the idea would be to allow you to make the calculator larger so that it just barely fits on the screen.

The main motivation for this would be to make the calculator taller so that the "TI-84+ Silver Edition \n Texas Instruments" part is off screen. I realize you probably shouldn't have it like that by default due to potential copyright issues, but making it taller like that would help the aspect ratio of the calculator LCD.

Or maybe just a way to fix the aspect ratio of the LCD. (It's a little smashed vertically on my HTC one)
Yeah this was always a concern for me, but didn't quite make it into initial release. I had some extra time so I added the following options:
1. Use correct screen aspect ratio
2. Make screen as large as possible

When used together this should solve your issue, although it doesn't look pretty. I've pushed out a new beta with these settings available.