Author Topic: [RFG] Userbar Manager  (Read 7089 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
[RFG] Userbar Manager
« on: January 25, 2011, 08:55:34 pm »

It's finally here! The beta for the userbar manager I have been working on.
The site is amazingly easy to use and more details can be found on the homepage. I've only tested it on Firefox so I'll need you guys to let me know how it works with other browsers.

So, let me know of any bugs that come up and any comments, suggestions, complaints, etc.

(NOTE: This version replaces the old dynamic userbars page. You can still use the script like normal and all old userbars still work, but the generator and instructions on how to use it are gone.)

Features I'm working on adding now:
  • Revamped progress bar.
  • Custom colored text and outline. Any hexadecimal color will work.


Known Bugs:
  • None


Fixed bugs:
  • Couldn't select the URL to copy/paste it before. My bad. Fixed it though.
  • Some browsers save to their cache too well and when editing a userbar, the result may look like it didn't change. Fixed by making your browser not cache the page at all. If you've already created userbars and then edit them, the browser may still have them cached. All that needs to be done is the refresh on the manager page again and it'll never save the userbar again. NOTE: Opera users still have this problem and will still need to refresh the main page everytime they edit a userbar.
  • Opera wouldn't create userbars properly. Fixed by reverting to a simpler form.


Updates:
  • Custom backgrounds now work again but you'll get a black background if the file isn't .JPG, .PNG, or .GIF.
  • Made it to where it automatically selects the URL of a userbar when you click in the textbox it's in.
  • Forced to resort to a simpler form for creation. It now looks exactly like the edit form.
  • Updated the creation and editing form to show a LIVE preview while you're working! All changes made in the form will show you what they look like instantly. (Well, almost instantly. Custom backgrounds take a bit longer to load but otherwise very fast.)
« Last Edit: January 27, 2011, 06:26:23 pm by {AP} »

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: [RFG] Userbar Manager
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2011, 09:24:19 pm »
Very cool!  Trying it now.
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Re: [RFG] Userbar Manager
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2011, 02:20:51 pm »
Alrighty, made some headway. Check out the first post.

I fixed custom backgrounds and expanded on them since the code from Dynamic Userbars. You can now use .JPG, and .GIF images too. Note that the option to put the lines on top is gone though. I'll be experimenting on a new process that should allow you to add more effects than that.

Fixed a bug or two since release. Not all fixes shown because they were more of a syntax issue than anything else.

So yeah. Things are improving. Any feedback would be nice. Especially any problems that are coming up. It's good to get them out of the way before I bulk up the system with fancy stuff. =P

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [RFG] Userbar Manager
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2011, 02:27:30 pm »
Looks nice, although it doesn't seem to work. I tried making a mini userbar (regular) with custom background http://www.omnimaga.org/images/screenshots/omnimaga.bmp and the userbar gives me 404 not found. I use Opera 11 by the way.

You should also change the copyright to 2010-2011 :P
« Last Edit: January 26, 2011, 02:28:32 pm by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Re: [RFG] Userbar Manager
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2011, 02:34:17 pm »
Hm... strange. I did it and didn't get the error but I have to mention that .bmp isn't supported yet so it just gave me a black background.
I'll go ahead and see if I can get Opera and see what the problem is.

Also, my ISP is seriously screwing me. It's knocked out my internet for several hours 2 days in a row now and it's been going REALLY slow since last night so I'm like downloading at 30kb/s and pages take forever to load so this will take much more time than normal.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2011, 02:38:38 pm by {AP} »

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: [RFG] Userbar Manager
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2011, 03:18:46 pm »
Just a suggestion, make it so when you bring the textbox with the url into focus that it automatically selects all the text. Here is a jQuery tutorial which I'm sure you can modify to your needs (without using jQuery etc) http://www.codeunit.co.za/2010/05/10/jquery-javascript-how-to-select-all-text-in-a-textbox/

Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: [RFG] Userbar Manager
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2011, 03:59:45 pm »
looking pretty spiffy there, {AP}!
as you can see, i tested it out...

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: [RFG] Userbar Manager
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2011, 04:05:28 pm »
I tried it out, gotcha an account and I love it.

However, I chose a bar of non-progress type and it stills let me choose percentage, I think.

It's damn good (in the positive way of damn).

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [RFG] Userbar Manager
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2011, 02:47:54 am »
Hm... strange. I did it and didn't get the error but I have to mention that .bmp isn't supported yet so it just gave me a black background.
I'll go ahead and see if I can get Opera and see what the problem is.

Also, my ISP is seriously screwing me. It's knocked out my internet for several hours 2 days in a row now and it's been going REALLY slow since last night so I'm like downloading at 30kb/s and pages take forever to load so this will take much more time than normal.
That sucks, that reminds me mine a few summers ago. X.x Also I tried with gifs and jpgs too.

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Re: [RFG] Userbar Manager
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2011, 06:32:30 pm »
Alright, internet problem is fixed but I haven't figured out the problem with Opera just yet. The weird part is that editing a userbar will create the image just fine but when you try to make a new one, the userbar isn't saved. The part that confuses me about that is that creating and editing userbars is the exact same code so the fix may take awhile to figure out.

For now, when you create one, edit it and it will be made for you like normal. (If using Opera)
I'll keep working on it.

*UPDATE: Fixed. Apparently, Opera has a hard time dealing with the way I set up my form for creation and wouldn't properly post information to the next step in the form so I changed the creation form to one exactly like the edit form. It's less pretty, but it works.

However, I chose a bar of non-progress type and it stills let me choose percentage, I think.

That shouldn't be happening really. Double check that and if it's true then let me know what browser you're using.

Just a suggestion, make it so when you bring the textbox with the url into focus that it automatically selects all the text. Here is a jQuery tutorial which I'm sure you can modify to your needs (without using jQuery etc) http://www.codeunit.co.za/2010/05/10/jquery-javascript-how-to-select-all-text-in-a-textbox/

Nice idea. Just needed to add "onclick="this.select()"" to the textbox. ;P



Well, thanks to Opera being weird about how I coded my form, I managed to make a pretty epic update.

Now the creation and editing form will show a LIVE preview of the userbar while you're working! All changes made in the form will show you what they look like instantly. (Well, almost instantly. Custom backgrounds take a bit longer to load but otherwise very fast.)

Also, managed to fix the caching issue for most browsers. Unfortunately, Opera is having issues accepting the fix so Opera users will still have to refresh the main page after editing their userbar to see the changes.

Let me know if anything else comes up!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [RFG] Userbar Manager
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2011, 03:11:36 am »
Cool I managed to create an userbar successfully in Opera :D

It's basic but I just wanted to test :P


Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: [RFG] Userbar Manager
« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2011, 08:19:19 pm »
How about adding the option on a regular userbar of where to align the text to?
/e

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [RFG] Userbar Manager
« Reply #12 on: February 01, 2011, 02:32:47 pm »
Btw is it normal that when a project is at 0% progress it doesn't show the progress? Some people put 0% when a project is in the planning stages. ???

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [RFG] Userbar Manager
« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2014, 02:38:56 am »
I don't know if you're still lurking from time to time {AP} or if you had notifications on for this topic (assuming they were not desactivated upon the upgrade), but there seems to be a problem with the userbars: Now the text is pretty much pitch black for most people and impossible to read.

It doesn't appear to happen with every single userbar, though. For example, this progress userbar is fine http://userbars.removedfromgame.com/ub/pimathbrainiac712.png but this message one isn't http://userbars.removedfromgame.com/userbars.php?bg=red&msg=DJ%20Omnimaga%20fan%20:%20Never%20Gonna%20Give%20You%20Up
« Last Edit: June 10, 2014, 02:41:12 am by DJ Omnimaga »