Author Topic: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg  (Read 24192 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MPoupe

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • Rating: +30/-1
  • The coder of yesterday
    • View Profile
    • My web site about Casio calculator
FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« on: June 24, 2011, 03:39:22 am »
Hello,
I would like to show you my first program for Casio fx cg. It is VT100-like terminal emulator, it has to be connected to the linux (or unix, bsd,...) machine supporting serial console. It is in very early stage, not all is functioning.

What works (somehow:-) ):
- shell prompt
- Midnight commander (mc -a -c), see image
- special attributes (try man ls), see image

What doesn't work:
- editors (I tried joe and internal editor from mc), there are some escape sequences to be implemented
- many other things, you will find them :-)

After you connect (and login), please tell the server the terminal resolution (terminal is 64x27, default settings (80x24) would wrap lines).
On linux execute :
# stty rows 27 columns 64

Martin
« Last Edit: June 24, 2011, 03:42:28 am by MPoupe »

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2011, 03:47:23 am »
Awesome :D

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2011, 04:00:22 am »
Oh, a shell for the PRIZM, very nice :D

Offline AngelFish

  • Is this my custom title?
  • Administrator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3242
  • Rating: +270/-27
  • I'm a Fishbot
    • View Profile
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2011, 04:05:08 am »
I don't think this is a shell.
∂²Ψ    -(2m(V(x)-E)Ψ
---  = -------------
∂x²        ℏ²Ψ

Offline Jim Bauwens

  • Lua! Nspire! Linux!
  • Editor
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +206/-7
  • Linux!
    • View Profile
    • nothing...
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2011, 04:08:45 am »
Ok, I really want one now! Imagine hooking this up to embedded devices and the like....

Offline SimonLothar

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 129
  • Rating: +35/-1
    • View Profile
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2011, 04:25:47 am »
I would like to show you my first program for Casio fx cg. It is VT100-like terminal emulator...
Very well done. Congrats!
I'll be back.

Offline MPoupe

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • Rating: +30/-1
  • The coder of yesterday
    • View Profile
    • My web site about Casio calculator
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2011, 05:14:00 am »
Very well done. Congrats!
Thank you. Your docs and mini-SDK allows me to do it.

Offline MPoupe

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • Rating: +30/-1
  • The coder of yesterday
    • View Profile
    • My web site about Casio calculator
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2011, 05:21:14 am »
If you try fxterm with Casio serial cable, you may find, that stream PC->fxterm goes OK, but fxterm->PC doesn't. The problem is in DTR signal on COM port, which must be set ON. The cable (probably) uses it to get power.
I used following (and very dirty workaround):
Linux is running in vmware (which run on windows), it has serial port, which is configured as named pipe (\\.\pipe\seriak), vmware end is server,other end is an application.
On windows run proxy - attached application, which forwards data between pipe and real COM1 port. The proxy ensures, that DTR signal is ON, so it works.

This is very dirty solution, proxy is very dirty software, but at least it works for testing:-)
I hope there is a way to configure Linux to set DTR signal ON, I did a very quick research, but found nothing:-(
Martin

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2011, 07:28:12 am »
I don't think this is a shell.

Oh sorry I meant terminal*. Is it a terminal?

Offline Jim Bauwens

  • Lua! Nspire! Linux!
  • Editor
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +206/-7
  • Linux!
    • View Profile
    • nothing...
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2011, 07:31:09 am »
It a console. It connect to a computer through serial.

So its a BIT like a screen connected to your computer.

Offline MPoupe

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • Rating: +30/-1
  • The coder of yesterday
    • View Profile
    • My web site about Casio calculator
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2011, 07:31:25 am »
Oh sorry I meant terminal*. Is it a terminal?
Yes, it is emulator of VT 100 terminal, so it is a terminal.

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #11 on: June 24, 2011, 07:32:43 am »
It a console. It connect to a computer through serial.

So its a BIT like a screen connected to your computer.

Oh sorry I meant terminal*. Is it a terminal?
Yes, it is emulator of VT 100 terminal, so it is a terminal.

Thank you I get it, because I don't really know the VT 100 Terminal.

Offline fxdev

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 177
  • Rating: +34/-6
    • View Profile
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #12 on: June 24, 2011, 08:13:10 am »
Amazing. I wanna see a Linux or BSD system running on the Prizm! :D

Offline Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1430
  • Rating: +130/-10
  • (-_(//));
    • View Profile
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2011, 11:34:58 am »
Maybe on Fx*9860, too, no? PLease
Juste for terminal! :p

Offline MPoupe

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • Rating: +30/-1
  • The coder of yesterday
    • View Profile
    • My web site about Casio calculator
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #14 on: October 07, 2011, 05:32:32 am »
Maybe on Fx*9860, too, no? PLease
Juste for terminal! :p
I was thinking about such program when I bought my fx9860G, but I found a problem with font / screen resolution. Simply the screen is too small to display moderate count of character in a row. Standard font has 5+1 pixel width => 21 characters, which is too few (the +1 is for space between letters).
Smaller font (4+1) would be hard to read and you get 25 characters.
More smaller font (3+1) would get moderate count of characters, but there are hardly distinguishable characters (such like M/N/W/H ).
I want not to use proportional font as it sucks :-)

The FXTerm is not finished (some escape sequences are ignored, so e.g. editors don't work). I can finish this after I find some spare time and then I can port it to fx9860G, but I need to solve somehow the font problem.

Do you have any idea ?