Author Topic: Gbc4nspire unique problems  (Read 12558 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline calcuser

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Gbc4nspire unique problems
« on: September 19, 2011, 09:50:10 pm »
I have a ti nspire cas (O.S. 2.1.0.631) that has a clickpad. I wanted to get gbc4nspire on it, so I installed ndless 2.0, using the 2.1.0 installer. When I tried running the gbc4nspire v.0.8, it crashed. When I tried using gbc4nspire_t, the left and right arrows (numbers 4 and 6) worked, but up and down (8 and 5) did not. Please help!!

Offline fb39ca4

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1749
  • Rating: +60/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Gbc4nspire unique problems
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2011, 10:50:17 pm »
calc84 made a version that works with the actual arrow keys on the touchpad, have you tried that?

Offline calcuser

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Gbc4nspire unique problems
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2011, 10:53:18 pm »
I tried gbc4nspire_touchpad and gbc4nspire_touch. Same problem. If you are referring to a different file, could you tell me its name or provide a download link?

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: Gbc4nspire unique problems
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2011, 11:35:06 pm »
you shouldn't be using touch.

You should be using the normal version. You have a clickpad. It's probably crashing while trying to interface with the touchpad.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2011, 11:35:34 pm by willrandship »

Offline fb39ca4

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1749
  • Rating: +60/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Gbc4nspire unique problems
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2011, 11:37:24 pm »
Oh, you have a clickpad? Can you try using the original version right after rebooting, when there are no documents loaded in memory? Also, try downloading from a different location, you might have a corrupted file.

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: Gbc4nspire unique problems
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2011, 11:39:30 pm »
Well, it makes sense to me why it would crash on touchpad access attempts: Those same pins would be set up differently on a clickpad from the OS's init, and trying to write to an input pin is a bad idea, same with reading from output. Not to mention the key layout would differ.

Offline fb39ca4

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1749
  • Rating: +60/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Gbc4nspire unique problems
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2011, 11:45:23 pm »
Well, he said v0.8 (the original crashed), so I think it's something else.

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Gbc4nspire unique problems
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2011, 11:46:14 pm »
What sort of crash did the original have?
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline calcuser

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Gbc4nspire unique problems
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2011, 12:16:45 am »
It rebooted, just like what happens when you try to run ASM programs without ndless

EDIT:
I have tried downloading gbc4nspire from multiple locations, all of them have the same problem
I have tried reinstalling ndless right after the reboot and trying again, it crashed again
Also, I noticed that right before it crashes, the black menu screen comes up
« Last Edit: September 20, 2011, 12:24:37 am by calcuser »

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Gbc4nspire unique problems
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2011, 12:28:14 am »
Are you using gbc4nspire.tns from http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/426/42630.html? The old version for ndless 1.1 definitely wouldn't work (and would probably cause the issue you're describing)
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline calcuser

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Gbc4nspire unique problems
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2011, 12:33:49 am »
Maybe not actually...
« Last Edit: September 20, 2011, 12:37:18 am by calcuser »

Offline calcuser

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Gbc4nspire unique problems
« Reply #11 on: September 20, 2011, 12:41:22 am »
OMFFFFFFG!!!!!!!! THX SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline Awesomeness

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Gbc4nspire unique problems
« Reply #12 on: September 20, 2011, 07:37:08 am »
I got a version specific to touchpads (gbc4touch) which says 0.8 on the inside.  I have two questions.

1:  The direction you move seems to be based upon where your finger is on the touch-sensitive part of the touchpad, not the actual buttons.  Can you fix that?

2:  Is it possible to get my savs or states off onto a computer emulator and exchange them? (Do any other emus support your saving formats?)

Offline runeazn

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
  • Rating: +5/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Gbc4nspire unique problems
« Reply #13 on: September 20, 2011, 08:29:16 am »
I got a version specific to touchpads (gbc4touch) which says 0.8 on the inside.  I have two questions.

1:  The direction you move seems to be based upon where your finger is on the touch-sensitive part of the touchpad, not the actual buttons.  Can you fix that?
.
2:  Is it possible to get my savs or states off onto a computer emulator and exchange them? (Do any other emus support your saving formats?)

I can answer the question.
The touchpad thingy is one button so he could fixity to only up or down or left or right.

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: Gbc4nspire unique problems
« Reply #14 on: September 20, 2011, 09:33:27 am »
it might be possible if you change .state extension to something appropriate for that emulator.
Sig wipe!