Author Topic: Mirage OS and Default 6Mhz Speed  (Read 4443 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hot_Dog

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3006
  • Rating: +445/-10
    • View Profile
Mirage OS and Default 6Mhz Speed
« on: May 07, 2011, 01:09:05 am »
Normally, on a Ti-83+ SE or Ti-84+, an asm program will run at 6Mhz unless told otherwise.  Does MirageOS set this 6Mhz speed as well, or will a program run at 15Mhz on these calculators?

Offline Silver Shadow

  • Beta Tester
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +27/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Mirage OS and Default 6Mhz Speed
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2011, 01:30:31 pm »
6 MHz. ;)
Former Coder of Tomorrow


Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Mirage OS and Default 6Mhz Speed
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2011, 06:23:27 pm »
Every shell does. I think you need to manually set your program to 15 after launching it.
Dream of Omnimaga

Offline DrDnar

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 546
  • Rating: +97/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Mirage OS and Default 6Mhz Speed
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2011, 07:48:29 pm »
The OS runs applications in 6 MHz mode by default, unless the application specifies to use 15 MHz mode in the header or specifically sets it when launched.
"No tools will make a man a skilled workman, or master of defense, nor be of any use to him who has not learned how to handle them, and has never bestowed any attention upon them. . . . Yes, [] the tools which would teach men their own use would be beyond price."—Plato's The Republic, circa 380 BC

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Mirage OS and Default 6Mhz Speed
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2011, 07:49:30 pm »
Oh ok I thought this was shell thing.
Dream of Omnimaga

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Mirage OS and Default 6Mhz Speed
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2011, 07:50:03 pm »
MirageOS allows you to specify 15 MHz in the header?

EDIT: Oh, applications. Never mind.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2011, 07:50:18 pm by Deep Thought »




Offline DrDnar

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 546
  • Rating: +97/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Mirage OS and Default 6Mhz Speed
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2011, 07:58:34 pm »
You'd have to ask BrandonW about how to specify fast mode in the application header. I think it's an undocumented thing.
"No tools will make a man a skilled workman, or master of defense, nor be of any use to him who has not learned how to handle them, and has never bestowed any attention upon them. . . . Yes, [] the tools which would teach men their own use would be beyond price."—Plato's The Republic, circa 380 BC