Author Topic: ti connect can't find my ti 83 plus  (Read 1907 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline burro_ciao

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
ti connect can't find my ti 83 plus
« on: March 17, 2023, 11:49:24 am »
i have a ti 83 plus with the graphic link cable and when i connect to my pc it recognize the calculator but ti connect nope i don't know what to do please help

Offline E37

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 357
  • Rating: +22/-0
  • Trial and error is the best teacher
    • View Profile
Re: ti connect can't find my ti 83 plus
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2023, 07:25:57 pm »
@burro_ciao TI Connect is pretty hit or miss for connectivity. (and mostly miss) You should use TI Connect CE which actually works most of the time. If TI Connect CE can't find your calc, archive everything you care about and then reset your ram. That usually fixes connectivity problems.
I'm still around... kind of.

Offline burro_ciao

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ti connect can't find my ti 83 plus
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2023, 05:37:59 am »
i tried everything you said but still doesn't work

Offline E37

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 357
  • Rating: +22/-0
  • Trial and error is the best teacher
    • View Profile
Re: ti connect can't find my ti 83 plus
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2023, 02:36:40 pm »
@burro_ciao
Alright, I double checked TI Connect CE's supported calcs and it doesn't support the TI-83. So that's unfortunate. I guess you are stuck using TI Connect. You will need to reset your calc's ram before and after doing pretty much anything when dealing with TI Connect. I haven't actually dealt with connecting an 83 to a PC as I just work with 84s. Try resetting your ram, plugging it back in and if that doesn't work, try a couple more times. Sometimes it just doesn't feel like working. Restarting TI Connect or even you PC might help too.

There are other linking programs out there. TILP is pretty good. You can download it here. You have to pay attention while installing it because it requires GTK2+. It will run the GTK2+ installer after its installer by default. When going through the GTK2+ installer you MUST enable the 'compatibility dlls' checkbox or TILP won't work. I just installed it on my Windows 10 partition and it works fine for me (at least it launches, I haven't tried sending files with it) so if it doesn't work for you, chances are you missed a step while installing. If that doesn't work even after a couple ram resets, you might try looking around on the internet for other linking software. Its possible that your link cable or other hardware is bad.

If you just want to send things to your calc, resetting all memory might fix things. But that will wipe anything in flash.
I'm still around... kind of.

Offline burro_ciao

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ti connect can't find my ti 83 plus
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2023, 05:28:32 am »
still won't work

Offline E37

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 357
  • Rating: +22/-0
  • Trial and error is the best teacher
    • View Profile
Re: ti connect can't find my ti 83 plus
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2023, 03:17:35 pm »
still won't work
Then you are out of luck. If you write out a detailed list of what you have done, what software and hardware you have, I might be able to find something you have missed. But so far all you have told me is that you have a TI83 and it won't work.
I'm still around... kind of.

Offline burro_ciao

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ti connect can't find my ti 83 plus
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2023, 05:08:18 am »
i cleared the ram, i updated the driver and tried to connect the calculator on every single usb port i have

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6263
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: ti connect can't find my ti 83 plus
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2023, 01:43:19 pm »
What OS version is your calculator?
Maybe try TiLP instead of TI Connect or TI Connect CE?
What OS is your computer?
Are there any error messages from TI Connect or TI Connect CE? If so, what are they?

i have a ti 83 plus with the graphic link cable and when i connect to my pc it recognize the calculator but ti connect nope i don't know what to do please help
Could you clarify what you mean by graphic link cable?

still won't work
Then you are out of luck. If you write out a detailed list of what you have done, what software and hardware you have, I might be able to find something you have missed. But so far all you have told me is that you have a TI83 and it won't work.
@burro_ciao Could you write out the detailed list of what you have done, and what software and hardware you have? Your list so far is not detailed. Detailed means the actual steps, not the high level actions.
/e

Offline burro_ciao

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ti connect can't find my ti 83 plus
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2023, 04:24:19 pm »
the os of my calculator is 1.12.
i already tried tilp but it doesn't work.
my computer is windows 10
the graphic link cable is this:
i plug the calculator in the pc ports, then i open ti connect and he looks for the calculator, but he can’t find it

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6263
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: ti connect can't find my ti 83 plus
« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2023, 04:37:23 pm »
the os of my calculator is 1.12.

Alright, I'm not aware of any issues with this OS version. It is a little behind the latest (1.19), but I don't think that should be an issue.

i already tried tilp but it doesn't work.

What steps did you take with TiLP?

my computer is windows 10
the graphic link cable is this: snip

Okay, so by graphic link you mean the TI-GRAPH Link cable. Check the text on the sticker, it'll say that.

i plug the calculator in the pc ports, then i open ti connect and he looks for the calculator, but he can’t find it

Do you know if this cable works with other calculators?

This isn't really the detailed steps we were hoping for. It's still the high level actions. Screenshots and specific text would be extremely helpful. Without it, you could be plugging it into a tomato and expecting it to work for all we know.
/e