Author Topic: First nLaunch-based tool: "Ndless 3.2 Switching Pack"  (Read 5714 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
First nLaunch-based tool: "Ndless 3.2 Switching Pack"
« on: January 02, 2013, 01:04:19 pm »
Yesterday we got the release of nLaunch, an OS launcher for the TI-Nspire ClickPad/TouchPad.

After nLaunch installation, all what was needed to install and run an OS was to copy or rename the new OS file to '/nlaunch/phoenix'.



And what if we could have some kind of a dual boot between Ndlessed OS 3.1 and OS 3.2 ?
We could then benefit from the best of both worls with Ndless 3.1 programs and Lua 3.2 programs! ;D

But it's not so easy as TI-Nspire ClickPad/TouchPad only have 32MB NAND, and only 27MB are usable for the filesystem.
All 3.x TI-Nspire OSes take something between 7MB (when optimized with TNOC) and 10MB! >:(

One 3.x OS file is ok. Two 3.X OS files are going to fit too.

But in order to always be able to switch between both OSes, you'll have to keep both files and one of them has to be the installed OS... meaning that three 3.X OS files have to exist simultaneously in your TI-Nspire, which is not possible.



That's why we made a small modification to nLaunch, named 'nLaunch Switcher'. When you put a new OS in /nlaunch/phoenix, you get back the previously installed OS in '/nlaunch/phoenix.back' and you'll be able to reinstall it later.

So, no need to keep a copy of the installed OS image in your documents folder anymore! Only two OS images are needed instead of three and they're going to fit! ;D



Here's how you would be able to switch between OS 3.1 + Ndless and OS 3.2:
[ Invalid YouTube link ]


Yes, 1min 20s (two reboots: one for the installation and one for launching the new OS) are needed for the switching.

You might consider this slow, but for the first time in years you've got some kind of a dual boot on your TI-Nspire!
No connection to a computer is needed anymore - just switch between Ndless 3.1 and Lua 3.2 programs using your own handheld and nothing more! ;D


Source with a ready to use "Ndless 3.2 Switching" pack and its how-to:
http://tiplanet.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11021&lang=en
« Last Edit: January 02, 2013, 04:50:16 pm by critor »
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline ElementCoder

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 611
  • Rating: +42/-2
    • View Profile
Re: First nLaunch-based tool: "Ndless 3.2 Switching Pack"
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2013, 01:35:09 pm »
And I thought the tool itself was as awesome as it would get o.o There's a change in the tides of the nspire platform that's for sure now :) As soon as I find some batteries this will happen tonight my trusty clickpad :D

Some people need a high five in the face... with a chair.
~EC

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: First nLaunch-based tool: "Ndless 3.2 Switching Pack"
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2013, 04:49:35 pm »
Here is now the online english formatted howto to get "Ndless 3.2 Switching Pack" on your TI-Nspire ClickPad/TouchPad:
http://tiplanet.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11025&p=134150&lang=en
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: First nLaunch-based tool: "Ndless 3.2 Switching Pack"
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2013, 06:07:47 pm »
I am confused since the last new. Is this literally an Ndless 3.2 copy or is it just Ndless 3.1 on OS 3.1 where you use nLaunch to boot in OS 3.2 mode? ??? (I know Ndless typically uses the same version number as the OS it runs on, but early on Ndless 1.0 ran on OS 1.1, not 1.0.)
« Last Edit: January 02, 2013, 06:08:55 pm by DJ_O »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline excale

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 103
  • Rating: +19/-1
    • View Profile
Re: First nLaunch-based tool: "Ndless 3.2 Switching Pack"
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2013, 06:14:08 pm »
This is a way to get a dual boot. OS 3.1 with ndless on one side, OS 3.2 without ndless on the other.

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: First nLaunch-based tool: "Ndless 3.2 Switching Pack"
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2013, 06:14:48 pm »
Sorry if the news or the video haven't been clear enough.

With the mentionned pack you can switch between your TI-Nspire running an Ndlessed OS 3.1 and your TI-Nspire running OS 3.2.

nLaunch is used to switch the boot mode in both ways:
3.1 -> 3.2
3.2 -> 3.1
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: First nLaunch-based tool: "Ndless 3.2 Switching Pack"
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2013, 06:18:19 pm »
Ok thanks for the clarification. Just wanted to make sure since I saw "Ndless 3.2" above, which might have implied that you guys or ExtendeD managed to update Ndless so that it actually runs on OS 3.2.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Levak

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rating: +208/-39
    • View Profile
    • My website
Re: First nLaunch-based tool: "Ndless 3.2 Switching Pack"
« Reply #7 on: January 02, 2013, 06:21:18 pm »
Ok thanks for the clarification. Just wanted to make sure since I saw "Ndless 3.2" above, which might have implied that you guys or ExtendeD managed to update Ndless so that it actually runs on OS 3.2.
Actually its only "Ndless 3.2 switch"
I do not get mad at people, I just want them to learn the way I learnt.
My website - TI-Planet - iNspired-Lua

Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: First nLaunch-based tool: "Ndless 3.2 Switching Pack"
« Reply #8 on: January 02, 2013, 10:51:10 pm »
Is this only available for non-cx?

Offline TheNlightenedOne

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 427
  • Rating: +16/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Re: First nLaunch-based tool: "Ndless 3.2 Switching Pack"
« Reply #9 on: January 02, 2013, 11:43:46 pm »
It's only for Classics, as it uses nLaunch which uses an exploit in boot2 1.4.
"Eris" (Ndless 3.1)
"Keto" (Ndless 3.1)
"Luna" (AMS 3.10, HW4)
"Aurora" (2.55MP)

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3913
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: First nLaunch-based tool: "Ndless 3.2 Switching Pack"
« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2014, 05:53:57 am »
*holy extreme necropost Batman*
Sorry for bringing this thread back to life. I remember seeing a version of this for CX, but I can't find it D: Can someone link me?

EDIT: I'm blind, found it. Let this thread die in peace now.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2014, 05:55:36 am by aeTIos »
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline nspireguy

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +11/-6
    • View Profile
    • NspireGuy
Re: First nLaunch-based tool: "Ndless 3.2 Switching Pack"
« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2014, 06:29:00 am »
just so u no there is one that lets u switch from 3.1(w/ ndless) to 3.6! (awesome necropost +1)!!