Author Topic: Quick Question  (Read 6637 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Potato

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Quick Question
« on: March 31, 2011, 08:37:20 pm »
[Ugh sorry for new post...This isn't really worth of it but I don't have enough posts for shoutbox yet]

How do you unarchive/archive programs inside of programs, or is it even possible?

I have this little organizer I made for all the programs I have.  The main idea was so that I can keep all my things archived and still be able to access them.  Only problem is that it won't let me unarchive/archive them.

The way I had it set up was

:If z=34
:Then
:unarchive PRGMprogramname
:PRGMprogramname
:archive PRGMprogramname
:end

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Question
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2011, 08:39:00 pm »
Sadly, unless you use an assembly library, it is impossible to archive or unarchive programs inside another one.
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline Potato

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Question
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2011, 08:39:31 pm »
Sadly, unless you use an assembly library, it is impossible to archive or unarchive programs inside another one.

Ugh.  I should move to Assembly soon then -.-

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Quick Question
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2011, 08:40:00 pm »
xLIB and some other libraries for BASIC allow you to do it.




Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Question
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2011, 08:42:55 pm »
Yup.  The only downside is that it's another file that the user has to download if they don't have it already.

Of course, most people who know about the existence of calculator games already have xLIB, Celtic, etc. on their calc already :)

Edit: Also, I moved this thread to the TI-Basic Programming and Support section.  We generally use the 'Other Calc-Related Projects and Ideas' to announce projects and such.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2011, 08:44:55 pm by Michael_Lee »
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline Potato

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Question
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2011, 08:44:24 pm »
Yup.  The only downside is that it's another file that the user has to download if they don't have it already.

Of course, most people who know about the existence of calculator games already have xLIB, Celtic, etc. on their calc already :)

Not me :D

I lost my wire so I can't do it now but I suppose I can steal a wire from my friend.

Now question about Assembly:

How exactly does it work? (Do I code it on the calc or computer, do i have to download anything etc)

Offline turiqwalrus

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 840
  • Rating: +51/-2
  • Wheeeeeee~!
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Question
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2011, 08:46:05 pm »
I'd recommend getting Doors. That way, you can get lots of asm libraries in one package.
the command for CelticIII/Doors to Archive or unarchive is det(0,"PROGNAME",0)

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Question
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2011, 08:46:50 pm »
z80ASM itself is fairly difficult to learn and it requires computer.
Sig wipe!

Offline Potato

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Question
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2011, 08:46:52 pm »
I'd recommend getting Doors. That way, you can get lots of asm libraries in one package.
the command for CelticIII/Doors to Archive or unarchive is det(0,"PROGNAME",0)

Doors I do have.  Thanks :D


« Last Edit: March 31, 2011, 08:53:11 pm by Potato »

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Quick Question
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2011, 08:49:02 pm »
Yep, Doors pretty much replaces xLIB, Omnicalc, and Celtic III.




Ashbad

  • Guest
Re: Quick Question
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2011, 08:49:54 pm »
z80ASM itself is fairly difficult to learn and it requires computer.

not exclusively ;D there is the mimas on-calc converter, but it's too similar to TASM for my tastes (though I use it anyways in contempt for TASM's style (I'm a brass boy ;D))
« Last Edit: March 31, 2011, 08:50:06 pm by Ashbad »

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Question
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2011, 08:50:08 pm »
Most people code then test assembly on their computer (they would test by using a calculator emulator, like Wabbitemu).

You could code it on-calc, either directly in hex (which is really hard - only one or two people on this forum have the fortitude to regularly attempt such a thing) using a program like Mimas (which is a text-editor that converts text to hex).  It's better to program and test on computer.  Assembly code can get really long, and because it's so powerful, it has the potential to seriously screw up your calc (maybe even brick it).

Hot Dog, an admin on this forum, made a really good introduction to assembly, if you wanted to learn.  Here: http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=594
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline Potato

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Question
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2011, 08:53:46 pm »
I'd recommend getting Doors. That way, you can get lots of asm libraries in one package.
the command for CelticIII/Doors to Archive or unarchive is det(0,"PROGNAME",0)



Doors I do have.  Thanks :D



Although Now i am confused.  is it

:det(0,"PROGNAME",0)
:PROGNAME
:det(0,"PROGNAME",0)

to unarchive, run and archive
« Last Edit: March 31, 2011, 08:54:12 pm by Potato »

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: Quick Question
« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2011, 08:55:38 pm »
Xeda also has a hex subroutine in her PDF of hex codes that allows you to do it I believe. (Finale, didn't you use it in Fullmetal?)

Also, I'm going to suggest not do Assembly until you have a good grasp on TI-BASIC, unless you have other programming knowledge (preferably low-level languages since that is what Z80 Assembly is). Its not a requirement by any means but it can just help.
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline turiqwalrus

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 840
  • Rating: +51/-2
  • Wheeeeeee~!
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Question
« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2011, 09:15:39 pm »
I'd recommend getting Doors. That way, you can get lots of asm libraries in one package.
the command for CelticIII/Doors to Archive or unarchive is det(0,"PROGNAME",0)


Doors I do have.  Thanks :D

You mught want to read through the documentation to find the codes 'n' stuff
and yes. that is the format
« Last Edit: March 31, 2011, 09:16:05 pm by turiqwalrus »