Author Topic: Did any of you know that you can do this?  (Read 11470 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rhombicuboctahedron

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 437
  • Rating: +41/-6
    • View Profile
Did any of you know that you can do this?
« on: November 10, 2012, 09:44:42 am »
Did you know that you can grab and move the dialog boxes on the nspire?
I was randomly found this out today, and it just blew my mind.
Also, are there any other mindblowing simple things i don't know about?

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3915
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: Did any of you know that you can do this?
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2012, 09:45:24 am »
I did not know. I don't really care either since I never see them XD
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline Adriweb

  • Editor
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1708
  • Rating: +229/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet.org
Re: Did any of you know that you can do this?
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2012, 09:47:31 am »
I did know, but it's .... useless :P

Also, yeah, there are a bunch of little things like that (and some are way more "twisted" than that) :P
I'l lsee if I can think of some :D
« Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 09:47:50 am by adriweb »
My calculator programs
TI-Planet.org co-admin.
TI-Nspire Lua programming : Tutorials  |  API Documentation

Offline _Nicco_

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 173
  • Rating: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Did any of you know that you can do this?
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2012, 02:15:29 pm »
I never knew that because I always just press enter.  It takes longer to move the mouse than to just press enter.
They say that your signature is supposed to go here...

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3915
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: Did any of you know that you can do this?
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2012, 03:04:47 pm »
^Eheh. Indeed.
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline Adriweb

  • Editor
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1708
  • Rating: +229/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet.org
Re: Did any of you know that you can do this?
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2012, 03:22:15 pm »
Well on TINCS it's easy. But then, you can use the computer view mode :P

* A hidden(?) shortcut ? Scratchpad is also Ctrl-0

* A Very Quick way to have the nth anti-derivative of an expression ? Enter dn/dx (expr)   with n being a negative number ;)
My calculator programs
TI-Planet.org co-admin.
TI-Nspire Lua programming : Tutorials  |  API Documentation

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Did any of you know that you can do this?
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2012, 03:32:53 pm »
Are there hidden tricks to allow the use of Getkey/Output in BASIC programs or even tricks to increase Lua speed by 1000%?  *runs*
Dream of Omnimaga

Offline annoyingcalc

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1953
  • Rating: +140/-72
  • Found in Eclipse.exe
    • View Profile
Re: Did any of you know that you can do this?
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2012, 03:36:32 pm »
* annoyingcalc smacks DJ
Silly DJ, TI would never be that nice


EDIT WOW I actually found a way, heres the tutorial
 

If that doesnt work try http://goo.gl/QMET
« Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 03:39:17 pm by annoyingcalc »
This used to contain a signature.

Offline Adriweb

  • Editor
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1708
  • Rating: +229/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet.org
Re: Did any of you know that you can do this?
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2012, 03:58:42 pm »
Are there hidden tricks to allow the use of Getkey/Output in BASIC programs or even tricks to increase Lua speed by 1000%?  *runs*
Ahem.

But actually, YES !
(on the lua part)
It's a bit far stretched, but it's about 1144%  on benchmarks :

http://trac.caspring.org/wiki/LuaPerformance#TEST8:functionsasparamforotherfunctions

(so to gain 1000%, do the bad thing first, then optimize :D)
« Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 04:00:07 pm by adriweb »
My calculator programs
TI-Planet.org co-admin.
TI-Nspire Lua programming : Tutorials  |  API Documentation

Offline flyingfisch

  • I'm 1337 now!
  • Members
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1620
  • Rating: +94/-17
  • Testing, testing, 1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8..9
    • View Profile
    • Top Page Website Design
Re: Did any of you know that you can do this?
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2012, 04:02:28 pm »
Are there hidden tricks to allow the use of Getkey/Output in BASIC programs or even tricks to increase Lua speed by 1000%?  *runs*

nspire doesnt allow the use of getkey in BASIC progs? o.o



Quote from: my dad
"welcome to the world of computers, where everything seems to be based on random number generators"



The Game V. 2.0

Offline Adriweb

  • Editor
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1708
  • Rating: +229/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet.org
Re: Did any of you know that you can do this?
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2012, 04:04:22 pm »
Are there hidden tricks to allow the use of Getkey/Output in BASIC programs or even tricks to increase Lua speed by 1000%?  *runs*

nspire doesnt allow the use of getkey in BASIC progs? o.o
Nope as they "restricted" it to Math only.
For example, you neither can't plto a point on the screen directly, for example (you have to use lists and such, which have to be pre-plotted etc.)

That's why Lua's nice:P
My calculator programs
TI-Planet.org co-admin.
TI-Nspire Lua programming : Tutorials  |  API Documentation

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Did any of you know that you can do this?
« Reply #11 on: November 10, 2012, 06:00:07 pm »
The worst part is that the Nspire BASIC language lacks some functions that TI-80 and 81 BASIC has. At least I'm glad TI didn't try to push a paid Lua SDK on us like they did with the 83+ (Flash APP development) in 1999-2003 or so (the reason why almost every ASM game made before 2004 are 8xp files).
« Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 06:01:14 pm by DJ_O »
Dream of Omnimaga

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Did any of you know that you can do this?
« Reply #12 on: November 10, 2012, 06:02:10 pm »
On the Nspire, BASIC is meant for math functions and math functions only. For interactive stuff TI provides (and even recommends) Lua.




Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Did any of you know that you can do this?
« Reply #13 on: November 10, 2012, 06:45:15 pm »
Yeah but it took them 4 years before finally giving us Lua <_<. Beforehand, all we had was TI-BASIC. It sucked even for maths, because there are people who got troubles making BASIC math/science programs that were once easy to create on a TI-89. I wonder why they even removed the functions in the first place when the language is almost the same as on 68K calcs. It really looked like back in 2007-09, they were trying to eliminate calculator gaming entirely.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 06:46:12 pm by DJ_O »
Dream of Omnimaga

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Did any of you know that you can do this?
« Reply #14 on: November 10, 2012, 06:52:32 pm »
That's pretty cool, but yeah not much of a point since they're such a large part of the screen anyways :/
(also I'm guessing it doesn't let focus move away?)

Here's another thing: ctrl+9/3 and ctrl+7/1 are like pgup/pgdn and home/end on a computer. Useful for that long documents list :P
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue