Author Topic: Chip's Challenge screenies  (Read 14677 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #15 on: December 14, 2008, 11:08:49 pm »
ooh ok
Dream of Omnimaga

Offline trevmeister66

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1009
  • Rating: +14/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #16 on: January 25, 2009, 11:13:51 pm »
Nice screenies. I loved Chips Challenge back in the day. I don't remember what the highest level I ever got to, but it was close to the last level. Are you going to add in all the levels? (If this is in the other topic, smack me please).
Projects:    nameless RPG: 1.0%  |  Reverse Snake v1.5: 100%  |  Secret Project: 5%  |  DUNGEON: 70%

My MW2 Blog <-- Please visit :)

Offline simplethinker

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 695
  • Rating: +16/-5
  • snjwffl
    • View Profile
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #17 on: January 25, 2009, 11:21:42 pm »
Nice screenies. I loved Chips Challenge back in the day. I don't remember what the highest level I ever got to, but it was close to the last level. Are you going to add in all the levels? (If this is in the other topic, smack me please).
smack :P

I'll do as many as I can (but enemies will severely limit this).  My estimate is there'll be only around 50 of the original 148 I can add in.
"We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true." -- Professor Robert Silensky



Chip's Challenge: ħ%

Offline Drak

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 118
  • Rating: +2/-16
  • The color of choice for winners.
    • View Profile
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #18 on: February 01, 2009, 01:55:38 am »
I remember chips challenge from when I was younger. that game always frustrated the hell out of me. I wound up coming back and beating it all the way through, but it took a while. I'd like to try it when it's done, for nostalgia and a challenge if there's additional stages.

Offline simplethinker

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 695
  • Rating: +16/-5
  • snjwffl
    • View Profile
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #19 on: February 23, 2009, 06:48:39 pm »
It's been a while, but finally I have an update ;D


I've thrown together a title screen.  The stuff at the bottom (play, quit) will definitely be changed and I'll add a background as well.
Seeing as how I'm horrible with anything graphical, any suggestions/modifications/ridicule is welcome.

[edit]Compliments are welcome too ;)
« Last Edit: February 23, 2009, 07:04:07 pm by simplethinker »
"We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true." -- Professor Robert Silensky



Chip's Challenge: ħ%

Offline trevmeister66

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1009
  • Rating: +14/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #20 on: February 23, 2009, 07:01:26 pm »
Looks pretty good. The only thing I would change is the Play and Quit, which you already said you were going to do.
Projects:    nameless RPG: 1.0%  |  Reverse Snake v1.5: 100%  |  Secret Project: 5%  |  DUNGEON: 70%

My MW2 Blog <-- Please visit :)

Offline kalan_vod

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2715
  • Rating: +10/-0
    • View Profile
    • kalanrock.us
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #21 on: February 24, 2009, 05:06:02 pm »
I really enjoy how you added the help instructions, and how the grayscale effect was.

Offline simplethinker

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 695
  • Rating: +16/-5
  • snjwffl
    • View Profile
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #22 on: February 24, 2009, 05:16:48 pm »
Thanks ;D  Right now the help text is hardcoded, so you'll get the same hint on every level.  I'm still trying to figure out how to store/display the text without adding too much to the size or wasting space on the screen.  (I could use the same size box and use the same number of lines and columns per hints, but that wouldn't look very good, or I could store the size of each box as well as each individual line, but that would add a lot to the size).

The one problem I'm having with the grayscale is that at first it's not very fluid, so suggestions from anyone more familiar with GS are welcome.
"We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true." -- Professor Robert Silensky



Chip's Challenge: ħ%

Offline noahbaby94

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 585
  • Rating: +29/-24
    • View Profile
    • My blog
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #23 on: February 24, 2009, 05:20:14 pm »
You should talk to nitacku he's real good with that grayscale stuff.
That's what she said!!!

Offline kalan_vod

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2715
  • Rating: +10/-0
    • View Profile
    • kalanrock.us
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #24 on: February 24, 2009, 05:22:33 pm »
Make a box and have it scrollable or displayed like Zelda etc..Use Celtic and just have each line be for the level:
Code: [Select]
:This is the text for level one!
:This is the text for level two!
etc..
Then use the readLine command from celtic and read the line corresponding to the level, Bam! Not helping too much from space, but quickness + ease. Now if Iambian would make the readLine command read archived programs then you could keep it all in the archive and would not take too much space.

Offline simplethinker

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 695
  • Rating: +16/-5
  • snjwffl
    • View Profile
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #25 on: February 24, 2009, 05:31:08 pm »
I forgot about the readline command.  Readline in both Celtic2 and Celtic3 can read from archive.

Not all the hints are the same number of lines, but I could probably do something similar to null-terminating the lines (e.g. stop displaying the lines if the next line is "!").  Since the text is on the graphscreen, not all characters are the same width, and also the hint text isn't always the same number of characters wide so I'll need to store the x coordinates of the box, but that wouldn't add too much to the size.
"We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true." -- Professor Robert Silensky



Chip's Challenge: ħ%

Offline kalan_vod

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2715
  • Rating: +10/-0
    • View Profile
    • kalanrock.us
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #26 on: February 25, 2009, 09:33:02 pm »
I did not know it could read from the archive, but you could have a formula if you wanted using a List the the exceptions to the levels..The text you will have to display at letter by letter, or have it use a phraser that will see how many letter to put on each line depending on the text.

Offline simplethinker

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 695
  • Rating: +16/-5
  • snjwffl
    • View Profile
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #27 on: February 26, 2009, 10:42:38 am »
I've been thinking more about this.  There are only two things I'll need to keep track of: the number of lines and the length of the longest line (in pixels).  Each line is 7 pixels tall, so with the number of lines I can determine the distance to put between the two horizontal sides, which can then be used to figure out where it should be placed to center vertically.  Similarly, the maximum number of pixels wide will tell me the distance between the vertical sides and where to center it.

For the format a level's text is saved in:
Code: [Select]
:NM
:Text...
:Text...
etc...
Where N is the number of rows (it will always be one digit) and M is the max length.  If I read that first line, sub(string,1,1) will get the number of rows, and sub(string,2,length(string)-1) will give # of pixels.

[edit]It actually wasn't too hard.  Level 1's hint is stored as
Code: [Select]
:356
:Chips get you past
:sockets. Use keys
:to open doors.
: (2 spaces)
And the extraction/displaying routine (using Celtic2 for now) is:
Code: [Select]
:0→θ
:"A3→Str0    ;text is in prgmA3
:5L-4           ;L=level #
:Asm(prgmCELTIC2
:expr(sub(Str9,1,1→H
:expr(sub(Str9,2,2→W
:44-int(W/2→A
:30-7H/2-fPart(H/2→B
:real(12,3,A,B,50+int(.5W-.5),B+3+7H,1
:For(E,1,4
:E+5L-4
:Asm(prgmCELTIC2
:Text(B-5+7E,A+3,Str9
:End

[another edit]Not hard-coding the hint text has caused slower rendering, but added a lot more flexibility. Eventually I'll be using Celtic III instead of Celtic2 and I'll fix the crappy code.  For now though, I just wanted a working routine.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2009, 05:37:25 pm by simplethinker »
"We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true." -- Professor Robert Silensky



Chip's Challenge: ħ%

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #28 on: March 03, 2009, 01:06:55 pm »
By the way what's with the small horizontal line appearing below the LV number on the title screen? Is it a glitch or something or is it intended to be like that?
Dream of Omnimaga

Offline simplethinker

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 695
  • Rating: +16/-5
  • snjwffl
    • View Profile
Re: Chip's Challenge screenies
« Reply #29 on: March 03, 2009, 01:59:28 pm »
By the way what's with the small horizontal line appearing below the LV number on the title screen? Is it a glitch or something or is it intended to be like that?
It's intended to be like that.  When it's on you can use [Up]/[Down] to select the level, and when it's off that means it's loading.  Everything below that horizontal line will eventually be changed, so for now that little line is sufficient.

I need to release a demo soon...
"We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true." -- Professor Robert Silensky



Chip's Challenge: ħ%