• Axe Q&A 5 5
Currently:  

Author Topic: Axe Q&A  (Read 533311 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline parserp

  • Hero Extraordinaire
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1455
  • Rating: +88/-7
  • The King Has Returned
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1110 on: November 29, 2011, 07:34:42 pm »
random question: Is it possible to make shells in axe? how would you see if programs should be put in it, such as MirageOS? (top line of code is :: )
« Last Edit: November 29, 2011, 07:35:10 pm by parser padwan »

Offline parserp

  • Hero Extraordinaire
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1455
  • Rating: +88/-7
  • The King Has Returned
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1111 on: November 29, 2011, 09:07:01 pm »
Sorry for doublepost, but this is urgent.
(yes I know I'm not sposed to be on right now :P)
anyway, an axe math equation is screwing up.
Note: the appvar for all my levels is stored in Y0, and they are all stored in there one after the other. (eg. Lvl1 is bytes 0-768, Lvl2 is bytes 769-1536, and so on)
Code: [Select]
:.M is the level # you are on
:If M
:0->T+768->U
:Else
:(((M-1)768)+1)->T+767->U //<------this is the only part screwing up. U gets stored fine (I think), but T is being weird.
:End
:0->C
:For(r6,T,U
:{Y0+r6}->{L3+C}
:C++
:End
but no matter what I do, It always gets the bytes for level 1, but then it includes enemies for level 2. :(
any ideas?
« Last Edit: November 29, 2011, 09:14:52 pm by parser padwan »

Offline chattahippie

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 358
  • Rating: +27/-0
  • Super Member! :D
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1112 on: November 29, 2011, 09:09:16 pm »
Try putting a * in there
change (M-1)768
to
(M-1)*768
Hope that helps

Offline parserp

  • Hero Extraordinaire
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1455
  • Rating: +88/-7
  • The King Has Returned
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1113 on: November 29, 2011, 09:10:04 pm »
Try putting a * in there
change (M-1)768
to
(M-1)*768
Hope that helps
allready tried that, and then I decided to take it out and see if it worked, but it didn't. :(

Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1114 on: November 29, 2011, 09:18:53 pm »
Things that really should work but don't?  O.O
SITUATION = GRAPPLER :(
According to the result of my gameplay, 3 is apparently not between 2 and 40 D:

The only difference is that I don't have a due date  >:D

But seriously.... Hope it gets fixed  ;D

I can't look at it now since I have homework still left  :banghead: :banghead:
« Last Edit: November 29, 2011, 09:19:05 pm by epic7 »

Offline parserp

  • Hero Extraordinaire
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1455
  • Rating: +88/-7
  • The King Has Returned
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1115 on: November 29, 2011, 09:45:28 pm »
oh wait, problem solved, thanks to runer112 :D
* parser padwan is happy

Offline Stefan Bauwens

  • Creator of Myst 89 - סטיבן
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1799
  • Rating: +162/-24
  • 68k programmer
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1116 on: November 30, 2011, 10:19:49 am »
In stead of writing the following:
Code: [Select]
[0000000000000]->GDB1
[0000000000000]
[0000000000000]
[0000000000000]
[0000000000000]
[0000000000000]
[0000000000000]
[0000000000000]
I tried writing this:
Code: [Select]
[0000000000000]->GDB1
for(A,0,6)
[0000000000000]
end

But that apparently does something weird and freaks my sprites out.  ???
Can I use repeat or something else instead?


Very proud Ticalc.org POTY winner (2011 68k) with Myst 89!
Very proud TI-Planet.org DBZ winner(2013)

Interview with me

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1117 on: November 30, 2011, 10:24:03 am »
No. None would work. You are storing static data. You can't mix code and data storing :)
The first one is the good one.
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline Stefan Bauwens

  • Creator of Myst 89 - סטיבן
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1799
  • Rating: +162/-24
  • 68k programmer
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1118 on: November 30, 2011, 10:27:22 am »
Okay, thanks. :)


Very proud Ticalc.org POTY winner (2011 68k) with Myst 89!
Very proud TI-Planet.org DBZ winner(2013)

Interview with me

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1119 on: November 30, 2011, 11:40:15 am »
You can also do Buff(64)→GDB1 and it'll have the same result as the first one (if you want it to be all zeroes)
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Stefan Bauwens

  • Creator of Myst 89 - סטיבן
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1799
  • Rating: +162/-24
  • 68k programmer
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1120 on: November 30, 2011, 11:42:43 am »
You can also do Buff(64)→GDB1 and it'll have the same result as the first one (if you want it to be all zeroes)

That's awesome. Thanks.


Very proud Ticalc.org POTY winner (2011 68k) with Myst 89!
Very proud TI-Planet.org DBZ winner(2013)

Interview with me

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1121 on: November 30, 2011, 12:11:39 pm »
You can also do Buff(64)→GDB1 and it'll have the same result as the first one (if you want it to be all zeroes)
With this method, will the data be stored in the program or in some free ram ?
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1122 on: November 30, 2011, 02:59:33 pm »
Question: Can I do these?

1: After loading appvar to Y0, can I use them in labels like LABEL(3,5,Y0?
2: If I can't, is there an alternate way to do so?
Sig wipe!

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1123 on: November 30, 2011, 03:17:29 pm »
You can also do Buff(64)→GDB1 and it'll have the same result as the first one (if you want it to be all zeroes)
With this method, will the data be stored in the program or in some free ram ?
It's part of the executable, the same way sprites strings etc are.

As for files, I don't remember much about them but this is in the docs:
Quote from: the docs
PROGRAM:A
:.HISCORE
:"appvMyScore"→Str1
:GetCalc(Str1,Y1)→A
:Return!If A
:Disp {Y1}r
GetCalc does NOT return a
pointer when opening a file.
Its simply non-zero if it
exists in archive and 0
otherwise.
It says beforehand that you can use them as if they were pointers in "the curly brackets and the copy command," so maybe put in the brackets?
LABEL(3,5,{Y0}r)
.file is two bytes, so using the r
« Last Edit: November 30, 2011, 03:19:24 pm by Darl181 »
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1124 on: November 30, 2011, 05:15:14 pm »
Question... What is Y0