Author Topic: Basic in Axe  (Read 7248 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BlackCode

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Basic in Axe
« on: September 22, 2013, 11:57:42 am »
I feel like this should be incredibly easy, but experimentation has not given me any help.  Obviously its easy to execute an Axe program from within Basic, but how can the process be reversed?  Essentially I'd like to use the simpler data handling of basic for a portion of my program.
-I post from my iPod, so please forgive any funky formatting.

Offline nikitouzz

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • Rating: +22/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Basic in Axe
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2013, 12:10:42 pm »
yes you can but it's more complicated...
mes records personels :

2x2x2 : 2.18 secondes / 2x2x2 une main : 21.15 secondes / 2x2x2 yeux bandés : 47.59
3x3x3 : 5.97 secondes / 3x3x3 une main : 49.86 secondes
4x4x4 : 1.49 minutes / 4x4x4 une main : 6.50 minutes
5x5x5 : 4.10 minutes / 5x5x5 une main : 18.02 minutes
6x6x6 : 8.10 minutes
7x7x7 : 16.03 minutes
9x9x9 : 58.26 minutes

megaminx : 5.59 minutes / pyraminx : 7.91 secondes / square-one : 1.07 minutes

Offline BlackCode

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Basic in Axe
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2013, 12:14:19 pm »
Obviously its more complicated if I couldn't figure it out as easily as calling Axe from within Basic.  Would you mind explaining it, or pointing me to a source that does explain it?
-I post from my iPod, so please forgive any funky formatting.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Basic in Axe
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2013, 12:29:34 pm »
I don't know how to do it but I'm sure the awesome asm coders out there do know. ;)

Offline BlackCode

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Basic in Axe
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2013, 01:01:03 pm »
So...should I ask again somewhere else?  Or will somebody see this?
-I post from my iPod, so please forgive any funky formatting.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Basic in Axe
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2013, 01:04:13 pm »
Well, if others are like me, they check the new posts page pretty often so yes.

Offline BlackCode

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Basic in Axe
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2013, 01:09:21 pm »
Alright, I'll wait and hope someone more knowledgeable has a solution...Otherwise program structure will be a pain...
« Last Edit: September 22, 2013, 01:09:53 pm by BlackCode »
-I post from my iPod, so please forgive any funky formatting.

Offline dinosteven

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 194
  • Rating: +10/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Basic in Axe
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2013, 01:53:28 pm »
It's been an hour lol... One of the Axe/ASM gurus (Runner) will likely find this within a day.

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: Basic in Axe
« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2013, 01:55:57 pm »
It will take some Asm( commands, that's for sure. Also, you'll have to make sure you're in the right modes, etc.

An easier solution would be to have the BASIC programs do all the launching. Write a small wrapper around your axe programs, and use GetCalc (see commands.html) to store OS vars in axe you can use for flow control.

Offline Soulthym

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Rating: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Basic in Axe
« Reply #9 on: September 22, 2013, 01:56:58 pm »
I know an asm code that lauch a program with its adress of the name put in hl:
Code: [Select]
"prgmNAME"->Str1
Str1
Asm(E7FDCB08CEEF9B4AFDCB088E)
I'm not sure so try it on an emulator first

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: Basic in Axe
« Reply #10 on: September 22, 2013, 01:59:41 pm »
And there you have it!

My concern would be, does it return to the Axe program correctly or does it just die once it finishes?

Offline Soulthym

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Rating: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Basic in Axe
« Reply #11 on: September 22, 2013, 02:04:16 pm »
If I remember right, ues it does return to the axe program, I used it for an input command ;p

Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: Basic in Axe
« Reply #12 on: September 22, 2013, 02:06:01 pm »
before you start doing something messy like this, what exactly is the problem you're trying to get around that you think will be easier to manage in basic than in axe?

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Basic in Axe
« Reply #13 on: September 22, 2013, 02:08:28 pm »
Oh yeah I tried it and it works well.

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Basic in Axe
« Reply #14 on: September 22, 2013, 02:15:26 pm »
(Also, sometimes it is good to look on the forums before making a new topic, or try Googling a bit (second link when typing "run basic progs in axe"))
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s