Author Topic: Getkey Routine  (Read 6573 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GreenFreak

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
  • Rating: +16/-1
    • View Profile
Getkey Routine
« on: July 10, 2011, 07:52:48 am »
Hi!
I often write that, if I want to move a sprite, that can't leave the screen (you know what I mean?):

Code: [Select]
If getKey(1) and ({38+L1}^r≠48)
{38+L1}^r++
ElseIf getKey(4) and ({38+L1}^r≠0)
{38+L1}^r--
End
If getKey(2) and ({36+L1}^r≠0)
{36+L1}^r--
ElseIf getKey(3) and ({36+L1}^r≠63)
{36+L1}^r++
End

(It's for a 16*32 sprite ;D)
x position: {36+L1}^r
y position: {38+L1}^r
But this code looks very unoptimized...

Do you know a more optimzed code to do the same?
Can you explain, how it works, too?


Thanks ;)

BTW: I searched for the "≠" a long time :P
« Last Edit: July 10, 2011, 07:53:49 am by GreenFreak »

Ashbad

  • Guest
Re: Getkey Routine
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2011, 08:44:37 am »
Well, runer is reading this and will have a better solution than me and most likely even ninja me, but I can say that you should put things like X>0 and then later X<63 instead of using inequality signs.

For optimization, I'll let runer do his lingo, Im not in the mood to think about the different opts right now.

Offline GreenFreak

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
  • Rating: +16/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Getkey Routine
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2011, 10:03:47 am »
Ok, thank you Ashbad...
I'll wait for other posts...

Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: Getkey Routine
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2011, 11:50:49 am »
actually, i have a question to ask as well. which is more optimised?

Code: [Select]
if getkey(3)
+x->x
end

or
Code: [Select]
if getkey(3)
x++
end

the ++ and -- commands are a bit new, so i'm not sure how to go about using them yet. is there a difference in Inc vs. add in the way these are compiled?

Offline GreenFreak

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
  • Rating: +16/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Getkey Routine
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2011, 12:00:42 pm »
That's a question for Runer112^^

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Getkey Routine
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2011, 12:57:16 pm »
For 16-bit values, blah++ is the same as blah+1->blah. Incrementing 8-bit pointers are where it actually gets optimized.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Getkey Routine
« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2011, 01:50:22 pm »
actually, i have a question to ask as well. which is more optimised?

Code: [Select]
if getkey(3)
+x->x
end

or
Code: [Select]
if getkey(3)
x++
end

the ++ and -- commands are a bit new, so i'm not sure how to go about using them yet. is there a difference in Inc vs. add in the way these are compiled?

The second one is more optimized, 7 bytes and 38 cycles versus 8 bytes and 47 cycles. And as calc84maniac said, for 16-bit variables V++ is exactly the same as V+1→V.



Back on topic, here's the most optimized code I could produce. It's 90 bytes versus the original code's 142 bytes. It will look a little messy, but that's to be expected of very optimized code. :hyper: Also, when the user presses the left and right keys or up and down keys at the same time, instead of moving in one of the directions, you simply do not move. Hopefully this is an acceptable change. If not, tell me and I'll try to produce some slightly less optimized code that accounts for this. This code also assumes that you haven't reallocated the Axe variables. If you have, change the blank #Realloc() on each of the first two lines to point to that reallocated section.

Code: [Select]
min(getKey(1)#Realloc(38+L₁)+A#Realloc()-getKey(4)sub(CN1)-1,48)→{38+L₁}ʳ
min(getKey(3)#Realloc(36+L₁)+A#Realloc()-getKey(2)sub(CN1)-1,64)→{36+L₁}ʳ

.Correct negative 1
Lbl CN1
ReturnIf +1
+1
Return
« Last Edit: July 11, 2011, 08:19:10 pm by Runer112 »

Offline GreenFreak

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
  • Rating: +16/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Getkey Routine
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2011, 02:27:05 pm »
wow O.o
It's soo optimized that i don't understand it...
And what do you mean with "haven't reallocated the Axe variables"  ???
Thanks  ;)


EDIT: I replaced my code above with your code, but if I run the programm, the up and down key both move the sprite down, and the left and right key both moves the sprite to to right... :-/

EDIT2:
Quote
.Correct negative 1

Is this a task for me or the job of the subroutine?
« Last Edit: July 10, 2011, 03:10:15 pm by GreenFreak »

Offline GreenFreak

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
  • Rating: +16/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Getkey Routine
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2011, 08:48:32 am »
I don't get it work :(
« Last Edit: July 11, 2011, 08:52:36 am by GreenFreak »

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Getkey Routine
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2011, 10:23:27 am »
Wait, so +{const}r isn't optimized automatically? :O
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Getkey Routine
« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2011, 11:22:21 am »
I don't get it work :(

Oh sorry, I typoed when copying that code from my calculator to here. +getKey(4) and +getKey(2) should be -getKey(4) and -getKey(2).


Wait, so +{const}r isn't optimized automatically? :O

Nope. It bugs me a bit that Axe doesn't recognize those and parse them just like variables. I'm guessing Quigibo hasn't included them because he would need some sort of look-ahead parsing for that, which he hasn't implemented.

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Getkey Routine
« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2011, 02:03:17 pm »
I think I can add this since I do have simple look-ahead routines now.  I just forgot about it.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Getkey Routine
« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2011, 02:10:40 pm »
Really!? :w00t:

Offline GreenFreak

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
  • Rating: +16/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Getkey Routine
« Reply #13 on: July 11, 2011, 02:15:36 pm »
Ah! Now it works better!
But there a new problem  :-\
If I go up or left, I'm on the other side...
Do you understand me?  :P


Sorry, but is it a problem, if I don't understand that?
What advantage would this have?
« Last Edit: July 11, 2011, 02:22:15 pm by GreenFreak »

Offline LincolnB

  • Check It Out Now
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1115
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • By Hackers For Hackers
    • View Profile
Re: Getkey Routine
« Reply #14 on: July 11, 2011, 04:44:05 pm »
I'm probably stating the obvious here, but since the getkey(num) routine returns 1 or a 0, you can use it do something like this:


Instead of :

If getkey(1)
Y+1->Y
End

use:

getkey(1)+Y->Y

which could be extended to

getkey(1)(Y<63)+Y->Y

if you didn't want to go off the screen, and

Y+(getkey(1)(Y<63))-(getkey(2)(Y>0))->Y

if you also wanted to go down, and

Y+(2*(getkey(1)(Y<63)))-(2*(getkey(2)(Y>0)))->Y

if you wanted to go faster.

(forgive me if i'm abusing my parentheses rights)

However, I'm sure you can see that this can be continuously extended forever and ever, worlds without end, amen, until it becomes a formless mass with no appearance of readable code whatsoever. So be careful. Use Boolean Logic to your advantage, especially if you're into optimization and you comment your source code well enough that code readability isn't a huge deal.
Completed Projects:
   >> Spacky Emprise   >> Spacky 2 - Beta   >> Fantastic Sam
   >> An Exercise In Futility   >> GeoCore

My Current Projects:

Projects in Development:
In Medias Res - Contest Entry

Talk to me if you need help with Axe coding.


Spoiler For Bragging Rights:
Not much yet, hopefully this section will grow soon with time (and more contests)