Author Topic: how do i use the gdb  (Read 5096 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline keco2002

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 4
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
how do i use the gdb
« on: November 21, 2017, 10:42:21 am »
i am trying to make a top down shooter and i want a map that scrolls along where ever the character moves. so that instead of the character moving the map moves, but there is one big problem i cant figure out how to make a map as large as i want that works, or any map for that matter. also is there a way i can have the program so that it doesn't calculate all of the map at once as i am planning on having some rather big maps. and if anyone has a way for me to rotate sprites that would be great because i have alot of sprites 4 for each character and then there are a lot of others and i want to save as much space as possible.

also if anyone can help me make a menu that would be awesome, i already tried ( https://codewalr.us/index.php?topic=186.0 ) it didnt work

Offline Jonson26

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 118
  • Rating: +1/-0
  • Follow cat! Do what cat! Into tree! Now!
    • View Profile
Re: how do i use the gdb
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2017, 11:47:34 am »
On what calculator are you doing this? If you don't specify, it'll be really hard for someone to help you. Also, considering your idea, if you're doing this in TI-BASIC, then your game is going to be EXTREMLEY slow (or, in case of the ti-nspire impossible). Consider learnikng asm or c.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2017, 11:58:48 am by Jonson26 »

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: how do i use the gdb
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2017, 12:39:49 pm »
@Jonson26 Since this is in the Axe subforum, I think this is meant to be in written in Axe for the 83+/84+/84+SE series and doesn't have to do with TI-Basic or the nsipre.
/e

Offline keco2002

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 4
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how do i use the gdb
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2017, 06:57:44 pm »
it is written in axe parser for the ti 83 plus(non silver edition)

Offline Jonson26

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 118
  • Rating: +1/-0
  • Follow cat! Do what cat! Into tree! Now!
    • View Profile
Re: how do i use the gdb
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2017, 05:48:15 am »
@Jonson26 Since this is in the Axe subforum,
Oh. Sorry,  I might have overlooked it. :P

it is written in axe parser for the ti 83 plus(non silver edition)
Well, in that case I can't really help you much, b7ut it seems to be entirely possible.
You might want to take a lookj at this: https://www.omnimaga.org/ti-z80-calculator-projects/super-mario-bros-2-port-(axe)/.
Since Mario is a sidescroller, you might finde something useful in its code. Also, there seems to be some useful information on that topic.
Good luck!  ;)

Offline keco2002

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 4
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how do i use the gdb
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2017, 01:50:39 pm »
i didn't see any of the code

Offline Jonson26

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 118
  • Rating: +1/-0
  • Follow cat! Do what cat! Into tree! Now!
    • View Profile
Re: how do i use the gdb
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2017, 03:08:50 pm »
Odd... I could have sworn there was a link to a tutorial. :P
Anyway, looking at the source code of a sidescroller seems to be your best bet in finding the information you need.

Offline keco2002

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 4
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how do i use the gdb
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2017, 05:43:51 pm »
one more question is there a certain size limit to gdb's or does it have to be a multiple of two(by that i mean 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128 not 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, etc.)

Offline E37

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 358
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Trial and error is the best teacher
    • View Profile
Re: how do i use the gdb
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2017, 04:05:58 pm »
Wow! Thats a lot of questions. Ill try to answer them all.

1. Making a map that moves with the character and extends beyond the screen:
You dont say how the map is formatted. I assume you mean a tile map. Creating a tilemaping engine is not terribly hard, but creating a good one is. Runer112 has made a really good one called YAAM. There is really no reason not to use it. It is a bit confusing to learn but straightforward enough when you figure it out.

2. Rotate sprites:
Axe has sprite rotation commands built in. I don’t remember what they are exactly but you can find them in the ‘s’ section of the catalog. Remember that they use the same memory so copy or display the sprite before you use another rotation command. They are also sort of slow. Not a big deal if you are rotating one or 2 sprites a tick but can be a big problem if you rotate many each tick.

3.  GDB’s:
I don’t think you understand what a GDB is. Its nothing more than a pointer. All it does is tell the program to look in a specific spot for the data. Since all it does is point to the start of the data, the data can be of any size. If you wrote:
Code: [Select]
:Data(0,0,0,0,0) -> GDB1Then GDB1 would be 5 bytes long.
Code: [Select]
:Buff(NUMBER) -> GDB1Then GDB1 would be NUMBER bytes long. There is no limit to how big NUMBER can be as long as there is space in memory. It can point anywhere. If you did: L1 -> GDB1 then you could use GDB1 instead of L1.

I find that it is very helpful to program with a copy of the Axe Parser command list nearby. You might want to spend more time to become very familiar with pointers before you continue. Much of Axe requires you to have a solid grasp of them. (Plus you can do some really cool things with them when you become a better programmer)
I'm still around... kind of.