Author Topic: Ulimate Axe Shell  (Read 3376 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Turtle

  • Not an admin
  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Ulimate Axe Shell
« on: October 05, 2013, 01:32:03 pm »
I want to make a really cool axe shell with a gui easy to use like doors cs but quicker to lock/unlock/hide/unhide/archive/unarchive programs. I already made the gui with all programs on my calc (except prgm! and prgm#) and can do all of the above. I found out how to run asm and basic.

Does anybody know how to (in axe parser):
1. find free ram?
2. find free rom?
3. run basic programs AND return back to the program when they are finished? Everything I found goes to the homescreen.
4. run apps from the program? I really like how AxeSh (http://ourl.ca/17048) can run AxeParser from the program.
5. Run ion programs? Maybe with an opcode or something?

Thank you so much! :)

Offline chickendude

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +90/-1
  • Pro-Riot Squad
    • View Profile
Re: Ulimate Axe Shell
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2013, 02:58:21 pm »
To run ion programs you'll need to handle all calls to ion routines yourself. The routines jump to cmdShadow. I believe ion tacks the routines to the end of the program and puts the correct jumps in cmdShadow to go to the appropriate routine. Apps generally don't have to do that as they'll still be in ROM so you can load the code from the app. You'll probably need at least a little asm (at the very least the ion code) to add in ion support.

Offline Turtle

  • Not an admin
  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ulimate Axe Shell
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2013, 03:10:03 pm »
Darn, I don't know any ASM... That was the least important though, can you help with anything else?
« Last Edit: October 05, 2013, 07:17:43 pm by admin000 »

Offline chickendude

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +90/-1
  • Pro-Riot Squad
    • View Profile
Re: Ulimate Axe Shell
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2013, 09:23:43 pm »
I know there is a system call (BCALL) to check RAM (_MemChk), but i don't know anything about Axe. I don't know if you have access to them in Axe. I'm not sure how running apps would work, i don't know if you could just load in the first flash page of the app into $4000-$7FFF and jump to $4080? It might be more complicated than that but it seems like that'd work.

Looking here it seems there's also a bcall to get free archive. I'm not sure about BASIC programs, i've never played with them. It's might a bit more complicated since your program will also be running from RAM.

Anyway, looking at AxeSh, it looks like Matrefeytontias used asm to do a few things (like opening up Axe).

Offline Turtle

  • Not an admin
  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ulimate Axe Shell
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2013, 10:47:34 pm »
Thanks Chickendude, Runner's code looks like what I need. But how do I use it in Axe?
« Last Edit: October 06, 2013, 01:11:56 am by admin000 »

Offline chickendude

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +90/-1
  • Pro-Riot Squad
    • View Profile
Re: Ulimate Axe Shell
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2013, 09:14:08 am »
I couldn't say, you'll have to wait for someone else to tell you as i don't use Axe. You might have to compile it into an Axiom, but i don't know how that stuff works. Sorry :/

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Ulimate Axe Shell
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2013, 02:28:11 pm »
Well, if you have the opcode you can use Asm(opcode) to add the asm code to your Axe program. ;)

Offline Turtle

  • Not an admin
  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ulimate Axe Shell
« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2013, 03:32:12 pm »
 :D Oh yeah I didn't think of that, I know how to get the opcode
« Last Edit: October 06, 2013, 03:32:28 pm by admin000 »

Offline ClrDraw

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 627
  • Rating: +61/-2
    • View Profile
    • GitHub
Re: Ulimate Axe Shell
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2013, 12:58:31 pm »
That's similar to what I'm doing.

Quote
3. run basic programs AND return back to the program when they are finished? Everything I found goes to the homescreen.
4. run apps from the program? I really like how AxeSh (http://ourl.ca/17048) can run AxeParser from the program.

Does anyone know these?
Visit my GitHub for all my TI programs as well as other projects.
Also check out my website.