Author Topic: Computer loads, then goes black?  (Read 8585 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BlakPilar

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 734
  • Rating: +44/-1
    • View Profile
Computer loads, then goes black?
« on: February 26, 2012, 04:42:26 pm »
My parents' old computer got pretty old, and the power supply went bad so we got them a new computer. It's an HP Pavillion Slimline with Windows 7 64-bit. They were using it with no problems for a while, then one day it wouldn't load correctly. It started up normally and loaded the profile and everything, but right when the desktop was supposed to load the screen went black and nothing happened at all. Ctrl+Alt+Del was also unresponsive. You could, however, still see the mouse and move it around. We took it down to Staples and the people there weren't much help. The only other thing I could think of was to completely reset the computer to factory settings. I did that after I transferred all necessary files to my USB drive in Safe Mode (which oddly enough worked), and the computer worked.

However, this same situation is happening again. This is complete crap. I am not going to reset the computer again because this shouldn't be happening. Can anyone think of what would be happening? If there's no direct reason, I'm just going to have them take the computer back.

P.S. - My mom has a habit of leaving their computer on over-night; could that be it (something to do with the power supply again)?

Offline Jim Bauwens

  • Lua! Nspire! Linux!
  • Editor
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +206/-7
  • Linux!
    • View Profile
    • nothing...
Re: Computer loads, then goes black?
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2012, 04:47:08 pm »
Try to see if you can start in safe mode (press f8 during boot).
If it works, try to remove some standard installed programs that you don't need at all.

Then try to go back in normal mode

Offline BlakPilar

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 734
  • Rating: +44/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer loads, then goes black?
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2012, 04:49:40 pm »
It can load in Safe Mode, but she hasn't installed anything. It ran fine for about a month after I reset it the first time. The only thing my mom has done recently is browse the web and listen to music on Pandora.

EDIT: I removed all of the standard applications after I reset it to factory settings.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2012, 04:50:34 pm by BlakPilar »

Offline Jim Bauwens

  • Lua! Nspire! Linux!
  • Editor
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +206/-7
  • Linux!
    • View Profile
    • nothing...
Re: Computer loads, then goes black?
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2012, 04:50:56 pm »
Well, I made the software that's installed when she bought it. Mostly there is a lot of junk between.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2012, 04:52:31 pm by jimbauwens »

Offline BlakPilar

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 734
  • Rating: +44/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer loads, then goes black?
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2012, 04:57:51 pm »
Yeah, I already uninstalled it all.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6263
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Computer loads, then goes black?
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2012, 05:21:01 pm »
Graphics drivers all up to date?
Have you tried googling the problem along with the model of your laptop to see if anybody else has the same issues and if they have fixes for it?
/e

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Computer loads, then goes black?
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2012, 05:26:01 pm »
Hmm strange. I know Windows has a tendency to do that, although from experience all I had was the desktop background, no taskbar and just the mouse cursor, then it hung there, and this usually happened after installing several stuff, not with a fresh Windows install. I wonder if the install CD they gave you was made correctly? Maybe they did something wrong while making them... else it could be an hardware issue, but then I think the computer would simply not boot at all or at least not make it past the Windows screen.
Dream of Omnimaga

Offline BlakPilar

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 734
  • Rating: +44/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer loads, then goes black?
« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2012, 05:57:41 pm »
Graphics drivers all up to date?
Have you tried googling the problem along with the model of your laptop to see if anybody else has the same issues and if they have fixes for it?

Yeah, their computer is brand new (well, four months old, but still). It was working fine literally two hours ago. I tried googling everything the last time this happened and no one else seemed to have the same problem.

Offline Jonius7

  • python! Lua!
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1918
  • Rating: +82/-18
  • Still bringing new dimensions to the TI-nspire...
    • View Profile
    • TI Stadium
Re: Computer loads, then goes black?
« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2012, 08:03:36 pm »
Wow, it looks like the problem isn't just restricted to Windows, it may be a hardware issue.
Programmed some CASIO Basic in the past
DJ Omnimaga Music Discographist ;)
DJ Omnimaga Discography
My Own Music!
My Released Projects (Updated 2015/05/08)
TI-nspire BASIC
TI-nspire Hold 'em
Health Bar
Scissors Paper Rock
TI-nspire Lua
Numstrat
TI-nspire Hold 'em Lua
Transport Chooser
Secret Project (at v0.08.2 - 2015/05/08)
Spoiler For Extra To-Be-Sorted Clutter:

Spoiler For Relegated Projects:
TI-nspire BASIC
Battle of 16s (stalled) | sTIck RPG (stalled) | Monopoly (stalled) | Cosmic Legions (stalled)
Axe Parser
Doodle God (stalled while I go and learn some Axe)

Offline BlakPilar

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 734
  • Rating: +44/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer loads, then goes black?
« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2012, 08:20:15 pm »
Yeah, that's what I'm thinking it was. I just restored factory settings again and removed all the junk that comes with that. If this happens again, though, I'm definitely taking it back and getting a good one for my parents.

Offline Jonius7

  • python! Lua!
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1918
  • Rating: +82/-18
  • Still bringing new dimensions to the TI-nspire...
    • View Profile
    • TI Stadium
Re: Computer loads, then goes black?
« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2012, 08:20:28 pm »
Will they refund it? How long have you had the computer for?
Programmed some CASIO Basic in the past
DJ Omnimaga Music Discographist ;)
DJ Omnimaga Discography
My Own Music!
My Released Projects (Updated 2015/05/08)
TI-nspire BASIC
TI-nspire Hold 'em
Health Bar
Scissors Paper Rock
TI-nspire Lua
Numstrat
TI-nspire Hold 'em Lua
Transport Chooser
Secret Project (at v0.08.2 - 2015/05/08)
Spoiler For Extra To-Be-Sorted Clutter:

Spoiler For Relegated Projects:
TI-nspire BASIC
Battle of 16s (stalled) | sTIck RPG (stalled) | Monopoly (stalled) | Cosmic Legions (stalled)
Axe Parser
Doodle God (stalled while I go and learn some Axe)

Offline BlakPilar

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 734
  • Rating: +44/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer loads, then goes black?
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2012, 09:33:32 pm »
They better lol. We've only had it six months, but we got the three year warantee.

Offline D4rkr4in

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 56
  • Rating: +0/-0
  • Hola :)
    • View Profile
Re: Computer loads, then goes black?
« Reply #12 on: February 27, 2012, 09:54:45 pm »
Yea, if multiple clean installs doesn't work, it's best to rma it. I wouldn't suggest replacing anything by yourself in a slimline computer because its so slim lol
<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_nt2.php">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/badge/nt2/7805c777aa55a715.png" alt="NerdTests.com says I'm an Uber-Dorky Nerd God.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get nerdy images and jokes, and write on the nerd forum!">
</a>

Offline BlakPilar

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 734
  • Rating: +44/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer loads, then goes black?
« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2012, 07:15:23 am »
Yeah, I don't know a lot about hardware, so there's no way I'm opening up a slimline lol. Especially if it's not my own computer.

Offline Jonius7

  • python! Lua!
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1918
  • Rating: +82/-18
  • Still bringing new dimensions to the TI-nspire...
    • View Profile
    • TI Stadium
Re: Computer loads, then goes black?
« Reply #14 on: February 28, 2012, 08:01:10 am »
Not to mention possibly voiding the warrantee.
I send my condolences to your parents. They must be confused/frustrated right now.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2012, 08:07:12 am by Jonius7 »
Programmed some CASIO Basic in the past
DJ Omnimaga Music Discographist ;)
DJ Omnimaga Discography
My Own Music!
My Released Projects (Updated 2015/05/08)
TI-nspire BASIC
TI-nspire Hold 'em
Health Bar
Scissors Paper Rock
TI-nspire Lua
Numstrat
TI-nspire Hold 'em Lua
Transport Chooser
Secret Project (at v0.08.2 - 2015/05/08)
Spoiler For Extra To-Be-Sorted Clutter:

Spoiler For Relegated Projects:
TI-nspire BASIC
Battle of 16s (stalled) | sTIck RPG (stalled) | Monopoly (stalled) | Cosmic Legions (stalled)
Axe Parser
Doodle God (stalled while I go and learn some Axe)