Author Topic: TI-Nspire Computer Link issues  (Read 11133 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline smmagic

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
TI-Nspire Computer Link issues
« on: August 29, 2010, 07:29:53 am »
Hey guys, wondering if anyone could give me a bit of help with my Ti-Nspire link program not seeing my handheld?

Ive tried reinstalling the program, plugging my calculator in and out, uninstalling/reinstalling the driver and restarting.

Any ideas to fix this would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Offline qazz42

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1130
  • Rating: +30/-12
  • hiiiiiiiii
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire Computer Link issues
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2010, 07:42:46 am »
any more details? what OS. keypad, etc?

Offline smmagic

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire Computer Link issues
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2010, 07:43:23 am »
Ah sorry, Win 7 Ultimate. Its an Nspire-CAS so it only comes with the clickpad.

Offline apcalc

  • The Game
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1393
  • Rating: +120/-2
  • VGhlIEdhbWUh (Base 64 :))
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire Computer Link issues
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2010, 07:49:20 am »
What version of Nspire Link are you using?


Offline smmagic

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire Computer Link issues
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2010, 07:54:27 am »
Version 1.4 of the nspire link, its worked perfectly up until now >_<

Offline qazz42

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1130
  • Rating: +30/-12
  • hiiiiiiiii
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire Computer Link issues
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2010, 08:10:19 am »
Hmm, perhaps you usb wire is'nt working?

Offline smmagic

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire Computer Link issues
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2010, 08:12:16 am »
Ill test a different cable, but windows recognises the calc. Its just the software.

EDIT: Different cable fail.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2010, 08:15:22 am by smmagic »

Offline qazz42

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1130
  • Rating: +30/-12
  • hiiiiiiiii
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire Computer Link issues
« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2010, 08:16:21 am »
hmmm, good point... I think education.ti can actually give help on error messages like this. (Don't ask TI-CARES though)

Offline apcalc

  • The Game
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1393
  • Rating: +120/-2
  • VGhlIEdhbWUh (Base 64 :))
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire Computer Link issues
« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2010, 08:23:31 am »
If you have time, you might want to try removing link 1.4 from your computer and trying version 1.3.  This version is a little buggy in Windows 7, but it might recognize your calc.


Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-Nspire Computer Link issues
« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2010, 05:41:52 pm »
If you have access to another computer you should probably try on it if you can install stuff. If it still fails, it could be the calc USB port, although I doubt it. I hate linking issues like this. Sometimes it seems like no matter what we try nothing fixes them. Isn't it weird not surprising that linking issues of the sort only happens with TI stuff?
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline smmagic

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire Computer Link issues
« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2010, 03:15:23 am »
Magically the next day, it starts working..
* smmagic sighs and adds Texas Instruments to his kill list :p

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-Nspire Computer Link issues
« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2010, 03:32:48 am »
That happens. x.x

Btw I am serious! It really happens sometimes! I did not have it with my Nspire, though. Just my 83+. One day, TI-Connect stopped detecting my calc except for screen capture, even after 2 reboots, then a week later it magically started working again. It tells a bit about the stability of TI softwares x.x. Even their TI-OSes aren't fully stable.

Anyway, I'm happy it works now and I hope you do not have to witness the same issue again and again.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline qazz42

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1130
  • Rating: +30/-12
  • hiiiiiiiii
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Nspire Computer Link issues
« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2010, 08:56:58 am »
This is the reason I try not to use TI-CONNECT, I use TILP


it took forever to install, but it was god damn worth it...

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-Nspire Computer Link issues
« Reply #13 on: August 30, 2010, 02:07:50 pm »
Yeah the issue tho are people who use a 64 bit OS. It's a major hassle to deal with drivers, and if TiLP happens to not work for you, then you may be permanently screwed if TI-Connect no longer works even if you uninstalled TiLP before re-installing TI-Connect.

However, smmagic was in Nspire mode, so TI-Connect is out of the question anyway.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2010, 02:08:35 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)