Author Topic: Unable to send Joltima to my calculator  (Read 9212 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline skuller972

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 335
  • Rating: +11/-4
  • BEAST MODE
    • View Profile
Unable to send Joltima to my calculator
« on: May 17, 2009, 06:27:28 pm »
I have been trying to freakin get jotima on my calculator for OVER 3 MONTHS!!! everytime i try it, either ticonnect says that my calculator doesnt handle this type of file (it IS .8xp for my ti84!!) or it just wont work!! im REALLY pissed right now because im just tired of trying to get it! can ANYBODY help me get it, because I really want to play it because i hear its really good!
« Last Edit: May 17, 2009, 06:44:09 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
Then again, maybe not...
<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_nt2.php">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/badge/nt2/bc7bf8e12353f09e.png" alt="NerdTests.com says I'm a Cool Non-Nerd.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get nerdy images and jokes, and talk to others on the nerd forum!">
</a>

Offline simplethinker

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 695
  • Rating: +16/-5
  • snjwffl
    • View Profile
Re: STUPID JOLTIMA!!
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2009, 06:33:54 pm »
I have been trying to freakin get jotima on my calculator for OVER 3 MONTHS!!! everytime i try it, either ticonnect says that my calculator doesnt handle this type of file (it IS .8xp for my ti84!!) or it just wont work!! im REALLY pissed right now because im just tired of trying to get it! can ANYBODY help me get it, because I really want to play it because i hear its really good!
Could you clarify what you mean by "it just won't work!!"?

If all else fails, you could just use an emulator instead of putting it on your real calculator.
"We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true." -- Professor Robert Silensky



Chip's Challenge: ħ%

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Unable to send Joltima to my calculator
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2009, 06:45:35 pm »
I renamed this topic title, because first it was all caps and secondly Joltima is not stupid nor the author.

If I remember, it had something to do with Joltima having been compiled using something else, causing it to not be sendable with TI-Connect. It can only be sent using TiLP on 84+ or TI-Graph Link on older calcs

Wasn't there a CrunchyOs port of that game that worked fine with TI-Connect, though?
Dream of Omnimaga

Offline skuller972

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 335
  • Rating: +11/-4
  • BEAST MODE
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to send Joltima to my calculator
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2009, 06:51:12 pm »
I renamed this topic title, because first it was all caps and secondly Joltima is not stupid nor the author.

If I remember, it had something to do with Joltima having been compiled using something else, causing it to not be sendable with TI-Connect. It can only be sent using TiLP on 84+ or TI-Graph Link on older calcs

Wasn't there a CrunchyOs port of that game that worked fine with TI-Connect, though?
sorry about the title ("STUPID JOLTIMA" for those who didnt see it before it was changed) i was pretty angry because i had been trying to get it for 3 months
and the crnchyos one, i tried it, but it didnt work either
i'm just gonna give up trying to play it and just move on
also, for verdante forest (my new problem) the maps being open in ram dont leave enoguh memory to run the main program
EDIT: nevermind, i empty half of the games that i probably would never play again, and i ended up with enough RAM
« Last Edit: May 17, 2009, 07:01:17 pm by skuller972 »
Then again, maybe not...
<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_nt2.php">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/badge/nt2/bc7bf8e12353f09e.png" alt="NerdTests.com says I'm a Cool Non-Nerd.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get nerdy images and jokes, and talk to others on the nerd forum!">
</a>

Offline Halifax

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1334
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
    • TI-Freakware
Re: Unable to send Joltima to my calculator
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2009, 07:52:16 pm »
First thing, never trust extensions. I can rename any test.8xp file to test.exe, and then have people wondering why they can't run the executable file on their computer. It's all about what lies under the hood in the binary.

Upload you exact file, that you're trying to send, and I will have a look at it. It's probably just something minor regarding the file header.
There are 10 types of people in this world-- those that can read binary, and those that can't.

Offline skuller972

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 335
  • Rating: +11/-4
  • BEAST MODE
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to send Joltima to my calculator
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2009, 08:20:14 pm »
the crnchyOS file is on ticalc and the not crnchy ones are on this site, and on ticalc also (only the ti83plus/ti84 file)
Then again, maybe not...
<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_nt2.php">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/badge/nt2/bc7bf8e12353f09e.png" alt="NerdTests.com says I'm a Cool Non-Nerd.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get nerdy images and jokes, and talk to others on the nerd forum!">
</a>

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Unable to send Joltima to my calculator
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2009, 08:50:09 pm »
This problem happens with every version of Joltima for the 83+ that didnt got recompiled recently I think. Back in 2002-2003 I read a lot about TI-Connect not sending Joltima, but I forgot what it was. I'll do some research I think

EDIT: Unfortunately I can't find anything anymore. Most websites regarding this probably shutted down. IIRC it was because Joltima was compiled using something different than most ASM games or something like that. Prbly something with the header. Unfortunately I got Joltima from TIcalc.org and all other sites did too, meaning we're stuck with this version unless someone managed to recompile it after disassembling it
« Last Edit: May 17, 2009, 09:00:06 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
Dream of Omnimaga

Offline Iambian

  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 739
  • Rating: +216/-3
  • Cherry Flavoured Nommer of Fishies
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to send Joltima to my calculator
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2009, 10:15:41 pm »
The old version of Joltima required that ZLOAD was present on the calculator. Joltima was designed to be run as a BASIC program but after it called the ASM program, the rest of the game ran as assembly.

The little side-program mitigates the need for a shell. Perhaps this is why it won't work? (That is, if you're getting an ERR:INVALID error)

EDIT: Wait. Was the problem already solved?
A Cherry-Flavored Iambian draws near... what do you do? ...

Offline Halifax

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1334
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
    • TI-Freakware
Re: Unable to send Joltima to my calculator
« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2009, 11:07:17 pm »
Alright, just as I thought. The header was clearly chopped and screwed by some application named Bin2Var, and the fact that anyone even got TiLP to send it to the calculator is amazing. Even more amazing is the fact that anyone even got it to run after being sent to the calculator because the header wasn't just incorrect, but the variable format too.

Also, you were right. TI-Connect reports errors about the version because the file was specifying a value that isn't even in use.

Anyways, here is a patched version of Joltima that works: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?imqr3wtkdm

So now, just send those two files to your calculator with TI-Connect, un-archive JOLTIMA and run it with "Asm(prgmJOLTIMA)", and the game should start up no problem. I have verified this on my end with my TI-84+ BE. (By the way, make a note that you need 22 KB of RAM free to even be able to un-archive Joltima.) So maybe it has something to do with what Iambian said about ZJLOAD? I don't know, I tried using ZJLOAD directly, but it didn't do anything, so I had to un-archive Joltima itself.

Anyways, if you have anymore problems with my patched files, just ask! Otherwise, have fun with the game. (From the little bit I played, it seems pretty fun. :P )
« Last Edit: May 17, 2009, 11:10:48 pm by Halifax »
There are 10 types of people in this world-- those that can read binary, and those that can't.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Unable to send Joltima to my calculator
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2009, 11:08:39 pm »
Oooh yeah Bin2Var, now I remember. This is what caused the transfer problem.

Should I update the RPG archives on Omnimaga with the new version? (when they are finished)
Dream of Omnimaga

Offline Halifax

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1334
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
    • TI-Freakware
Re: Unable to send Joltima to my calculator
« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2009, 11:09:33 pm »
Oooh yeah Bin2Var, now I remember. This is what caused the transfer problem.

Should I update the RPG archives on Omnimaga with the new version? (when they are finished)
Yes you should. And the new versions are finished, I posted the link above: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?imqr3wtkdmj
There are 10 types of people in this world-- those that can read binary, and those that can't.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Unable to send Joltima to my calculator
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2009, 11:12:08 pm »
Aah ok, that's cool then. I saw the link I was just unsure ^^

I don't know what other game used Bin2Var though, because it was so long ago when this problem was being talked about. I think United-TI, Calcgames (site, not forums) and TI-Freakware didn't even existed. Almost all info regarding this was either scattered all around the web on forgotten sites/comment pages or completly lost
Dream of Omnimaga

Offline Halifax

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1334
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
    • TI-Freakware
Re: Unable to send Joltima to my calculator
« Reply #12 on: May 17, 2009, 11:16:07 pm »
Aah ok, that's cool then. I saw the link I was just unsure ^^

I don't know what other game used Bin2Var though, because it was so long ago when this problem was being talked about. I think United-TI, Calcgames (site, not forums) and TI-Freakware didn't even existed. Almost all info regarding this was either scattered all around the web on forgotten sites/comment pages or completly lost
Ah, I see. You know, if I ever have some time one day, I could always go back through the ticalc.org archives and compile a list of what games did use Bin2Var, and patch them if necessary. And yeah, I can tell it must have been a long time ago, because I've never heard or seen Bin2Var. I think I'm going to do a little digging for it though.

EDIT:

Well, I found Bin2Var on ticalc.org: http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/143/14394.html. (By the way, that link is to Bin2Var 1.2) It was released in 2000. The porter of Joltima is also the author of Bin2Var, and he generated the files for Joltima with Bin2Var 1.1. He released the C source code for both Bin2Var 1.1 & 1.2, so I had a look at it. As I read through the source I found where he made his mistakes. He takes a binary dump (the binary representation of assembly code which can be generated by almost all assemblers such as SPASM, TASM, etc.) and he retrieves the size of it. He never adds the necessary 2-byte number of tokens section to the front of the data and also does all size calculations on the raw data. So that's where all the problems stem from.

Well, that should clear everything up.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2009, 11:26:10 pm by Halifax »
There are 10 types of people in this world-- those that can read binary, and those that can't.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Unable to send Joltima to my calculator
« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2009, 11:23:44 pm »
Well, one night, I had some idea in mind: translate most TI-83+ RPGs in french, but then I would need to learn ASM, in case some games requires heavy modification to make the text fit, how to compile them the right way and all that stuff. In case for example a programmer hard coded the text into the game and the convo lenghts are dependent on the source code (some french text is larger and shorter). But that might be way too much work since there are a lot of games and some got lot of text
Dream of Omnimaga

Offline skuller972

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 335
  • Rating: +11/-4
  • BEAST MODE
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to send Joltima to my calculator
« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2009, 07:33:27 am »
thanks everybody (mostly DJ and Halifax) but everyone else too, and now my problem is solved
Then again, maybe not...
<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_nt2.php">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/badge/nt2/bc7bf8e12353f09e.png" alt="NerdTests.com says I'm a Cool Non-Nerd.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get nerdy images and jokes, and talk to others on the nerd forum!">
</a>