Author Topic: Calc + TV remote = ???  (Read 6265 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MGOS

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +95/-0
    • View Profile
Calc + TV remote = ???
« on: December 04, 2013, 09:23:33 am »
I was working an a completely different project, an infrared light barrier for outside and I needed some way to filter out the IR light of the LED from the sunlight. A common way to do this is modulation. Instead of just having a LED constantly on, you flash it really fast, e.g. with 33 kHz. The receiver filters out all other frequencies and gives a steady signal. We had a TSOP31233 (datasheet) lying around. This one connects the output pin over a transistor to ground when a 33 kHz signal is applied. The modulation worked fantastically, but the receiver is that sensitive that you cannot simply block the light with a simply object, you have to completely cover the receiver with a black box. That isn't really surprising, since those receivers where made for IR control systems and have to work under every condition. So I took the TV remote and looked what I can get out of it. Strangely enough it works with the same frequency, and it also uses a really simple protocol.

Schematic:

As you can see, there are no other electronic components needed!

I hooked up the sensor to my trusty 83+ and made a simple program that plots the state of the sensor over time. I figured out that the protocol starts with a rather long HIGH pulse, then a short LOW. The bits are coded in the length of the HIGH pulses (long pulse = 1, short one = 0), the LOW pulses are all the same time; the LSB arrives first, then a sequence of up to 15 bits. On this Sony remote, newer functions have more bits (such as enable surround sound or the Bravia sync system) where as functions that have been there forever (numbers, volume, power) have only 8 bits. I figured I only need the lower 8 bits so the following code ignores the upper bits. The program is written in pure Axe:
Code: [Select]
Lbl READ
While 1
EndIf port    //wait for the start bit to end
For(r1,0,7)
  If EAT()  //return if Stop bit reached or abort
    Goto END
  End
  GET()->{L1+r1}   //buffer the input
End
Lbl END
0->r2     //result
For(r1,0,7)
  r2*2->r2   //shift left
  {7-r1+L1}+r2->r2   //reverse and "or" together
End
r2
Return

Lbl EAT   //"eats" the Low state
For(r3,0,100)
  For(20):End  //some delay
End!If port  //wait until HIGH again
r3>100  // time out exceeded = Stop bit
Return

Lbl GET   //measures the length of a HIGH pulse and returns the result as a bit
For(r3,0,100)
  For(25):End
EndIf port   //wait until LOW again
r3 > 8    //8 seemed to be the threshold that worked best
Return

You can now write programs which use this function. For example move a sprite around the screen:
Code: [Select]
[3C7EFFFFFFFF7E3C]->Pic1
FnOff  //disable the nasty OS interrupts
44->X
28->Y
While 1
  !If port   //check for a keypress
    READ()->K
    K-244??Y--   //up
    K-245??Y++   //down
    K-180??X--   //left
    K-179??X++   //right
    Pt-On(X,Y,Pic1)
    DispGraphClrDraw
  End
EndIf getKey(15)
LnReg   //turn interrupts back on
Return

--- Subroutines from above ---

The video is probably the thing you are interested in the most:



Currently it works at around 10 key presses per second and I haven't got much hope that this will increase, since the speed is defined by the remote control, so I guess real time games are quite hard to accomplish.



Going further

What I have shown you is only a proof of concept. You can include remote control to any Axe or Asm program.

What you then could do is place the routine into a link port hook (IIRC there is one to transmit programs "silently") which enables when a key code is incoming. The code is then translated to "real" TI 83+ keycodes via a LUT and then given to the OS as a regular keypress - making it possible to enter your calculations with a freakin' TV remote....

The question one might ask is "What's the point of this?".
I'll ask instead:
Where will this lead?
« Last Edit: December 04, 2013, 09:40:25 am by MGOS »

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: Calc + TV remote = ???
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2013, 10:32:04 am »
Cool that you were able to interface that IC with the calculator. I have never heard of it before. Maybe you can use this for things like a wireless link to a laptop or phone.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline ClrDraw

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 627
  • Rating: +61/-2
    • View Profile
    • GitHub
Re: Calc + TV remote = ???
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2013, 10:55:45 am »
WOAH DOOD  *.* How do I build this???
Visit my GitHub for all my TI programs as well as other projects.
Also check out my website.

Offline MGOS

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +95/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Calc + TV remote = ???
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2013, 11:22:05 am »
WOAH DOOD  *.* How do I build this???
The receivers cost about a dollar each and a 2.5 mm jack everyone has lying around somewhere - and that's all you need.

I just wanted to show that it can be done, and probably adapted easily to work with any TV remote.

Maybe you can use this for things like a wireless link to a laptop or phone.
Probably not, since those types of communication are two-way. But If you invent your own one-way protocol, it might work.
I might try to add an IR LED to send something, but I think I will have trouble to get a frequency that high. 33 kHz is quite a lot for a 6 MHz *damn inefficient* z80.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2013, 11:22:34 am by MGOS »

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: Calc + TV remote = ???
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2013, 11:24:17 am »
That's cool :D

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3820
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Calc + TV remote = ???
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2013, 11:31:41 am »
The OP explains how to do it. You just need a bit of experience with electronics, but really not much. That said, it quite a nice find here. :D If you add an emitter to it you can make an universal remote control. :D A small circuit can do the modulation for the calc.
Edit : ninja'd
« Last Edit: December 04, 2013, 11:32:51 am by Streetwalker »
send it

Offline MGOS

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +95/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Calc + TV remote = ???
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2013, 11:41:06 am »
If you add an emitter to it you can make an universal remote control. :D A small circuit can do the modulation for the calc.

That's a nice idea - you could then program each key by recording the sequence with the receiver.
I don't really want to use another circuit to do modulation - when you use e.g. an ATtiny (which I love by the way!) everything is possible and often much simpler. But the beauty of this project is, that it doesn't use any other hardware than the receiver, which is only one little IC with three leads.

When you let the micro controller do all the work for you you don't even need to program the calc anymore, since the OS has already a key emulation function built in!

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: Calc + TV remote = ???
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2013, 01:42:12 pm »
That's a good idea, you could effectively create a TI-Keyboard with a TV remote.

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: Calc + TV remote = ???
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2013, 01:51:38 pm »
MGOS, 33 KHz isn't that fast for a 6 MHz processor. You can do port writes at least 1 MHz, assuming you have what you need to transmit.

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: Calc + TV remote = ???
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2013, 02:11:36 pm »
The IC demodulates the data, so it´s not 33kHz anymore. It´s just the carrier that is 33kHz.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline MGOS

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +95/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Calc + TV remote = ???
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2013, 02:15:15 pm »
MGOS, 33 KHz isn't that fast for a 6 MHz processor. You can do port writes at least 1 MHz, assuming you have what you need to transmit.
Yeah, I misestimated... 33 kHz should work, but 1 MHz isn't doable for the z80: OUT(C),r takes 12 T states, meaning at 6 MHz you can achieve at maximum 500 kHz by putting dozens of OUT instructions after each other - and you need to divide that by two to make up a whole period (high -> low -> high). Having a loop and a nice ending condition and a duty cycle of 10% (which is better than 50% for these applications) you probably come close to the limits even in straight asm.

The IC demodulates the data, so it´s not 33kHz anymore. It´s just the carrier that is 33kHz.
For the receiver yes, but were talking about a sending LED here!
« Last Edit: December 04, 2013, 04:43:39 pm by MGOS »

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: Calc + TV remote = ???
« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2013, 03:13:23 pm »
Oh I see. Well there are transceiver modules available.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7917
  • Rating: +373/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Calc + TV remote = ???
« Reply #12 on: December 04, 2013, 04:08:41 pm »
What is this dark magic? O.O

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: Calc + TV remote = ???
« Reply #13 on: December 04, 2013, 05:08:37 pm »
Sorry, assumed for some reason that the z80 in the calcs is modern (silly idea) and had the better cycle rates. Then I remembered I was basing my guess on ez8/ez80 datasheets. :P

Offline Spenceboy98

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 547
  • Rating: +59/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Calc + TV remote = ???
« Reply #14 on: December 04, 2013, 08:52:20 pm »
When I read the title, I expected you to have made a remote out of a calc by creating some sort of plug attachment. But this is cool too. :)
I like milk.